• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Plastic Footballs

User is offline   Desperately Seeking Susans 

• SFA Hall of Fame
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Special Access
  • Top Man:Craig Dargo
Take yourself back to when kids used to play football in the streets, despite harassment from the police. I'm trying to remember the name of the red plastic ball with the dimples on it. Can anyone remember the name?
'Wembly', the white ball with the black markings was probably the best.
Terrorism is a poor man's war.
War is a rich man's terrorism.

User is offline   Reidy1987 

• Reidy - the next generation
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Top Man:Hugh Murray

View PostDesperately Seeking Susans, on Mar 5 2006, 18:09, said:

Take yourself back to when kids used to play football in the streets, despite harassment from the police. I'm trying to remember the name of the red plastic ball with the dimples on it. Can anyone remember the name?

Was it a Frido or something like that? :unsure:

User is offline   cockles1987 

• Sports Journalist
Was mouldmaster the ball your talking about. I hope it was withdrawn because it brings back memories of so much pain. :(

This post has been edited by cockles1987: 05 March 2006 - 19:17

THE FUTURE'S BRIGHT,

THE FUTURE'S BLACK AND WHITE©

User is offline   Herbie 

• Semi-mental
  • Top Man:Gareth Wardlaw
Yup, I think you're talking about the instrument of torture that was the Mitre Mouldmaster. There was nothing like the pain of a Mouldmaster scudding aff your ear on a freezing February morning, leaving bits of red blaize embedded in yer heid. :angry:
Stevie Aitken Is Unacceptable

The Future Is Fuzzy

• SFA Hall of Fame

View Postcockles1987, on Mar 5 2006, 18:32, said:

Was moldmaster the ball your talking about. I hope it was withdrawn because it brings back memories of so much pain. :(

Oh! I remember that one! Yes, pain! That ball was the favourite for school football. It was more brown in colour. If you weren't being smacked on the thigh with Mouldmaster then you'd getting scraped to death by th red ash pitch! :angry:

User is offline   brierie bud 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Top Man:David Barron
Getting hit in the balls with a Mouldmaster when I was about 11 was one of the most painfull things I have ever experienced. :o
R'n'F'n'R! - The way of Velvet Revolver

12th May 2007, Fir Park, Motherwell 2 -3 St.Mirren. I was there!!!!!

User is offline   FTOF 

• Panel Pundit on SKY

View Postbrierie bud, on Mar 5 2006, 19:08, said:

Getting hit in the balls with a Mouldmaster when I was about 11 was one of the most painfull things I have ever experienced. :o

I too experienced that misfortune with a Mitre mouldmaster.However, on impact , as the ball rebounded off my bollocks, the surge of pain allowed me to unleash a 20 yard screamer into the top corner, before I collapsed in agony onto the red blaise. Think I was in 3rd year at the time.

f**king hated those footballs. <_<
"Everybody's got to believe in something.
I believe I''ll have another beer."
- W. C. Fields

Yeh, the mitre mouldmaster was the most evil instrument of torture known to man. I'm sure I still have ETRIM tatood on my thigh. :(

View PostReidy1987, on Mar 5 2006, 20:16, said:

Yeh, the mitre mouldmaster was the most evil instrument of torture known to man. I'm sure I still have ETRIM tatood on my thigh. :(

Or even ERTIM :D

User is offline   whosyirdaddy 

• Resident Plane Spotter
I remember the Mitre, and yes it was painful memories.... :angry:

In primary 4, the big yins (primary 7s) allowed me to play football wtih them and I jumped up off the ground as the guy I was trying to get the ball off of hit a shot but rather than it being a low shot it was a mid air one, the ball fecked me in the face and I got knocked out :lol:

User is offline   southside saint 

• Reserve team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
I remember playing for the BB u-17s at Netherlee when I was 12. A white mitre slammed into my bollocks from a free kick. Just remember my dad shouting "Don't you F***ing cry! Don't you F***ing cry!" as I slumped to the ground. Auld baistirt :huh:
We're terminal cases that keep taking medicine...

No, I am NOT Gareth Glasgow.

User is offline   Killie Saint 

• First team sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members

View PostDesperately Seeking Susans, on Mar 5 2006, 18:09, said:

I'm sure the red/orange ball you mean was called "Captains Ball".
I remember when I was about six it was my ambition to play with one of these as "bigger boys" used them. I got one and couldn't kick the bloody thing against the garage door because it was too heavy compared to the fly-away's (with all the football team names on) I had been playing with. :D

User is online   North Sea Saint 

• OFFSHORE DIVISION
  • Group: Board Mod

View Postwhosyirdaddy, on Mar 5 2006, 20:22, said:

I remember the Mitre, and yes it was painful memories.... :angry:

In primary 4, the big yins (primary 7s) allowed me to play football wtih them and I jumped up off the ground as the guy I was trying to get the ball off of hit a shot but rather than it being a low shot it was a mid air one, the ball fecked me in the face and I got knocked out :lol:

Is that how you're lugs are so big :P
Posted Image

User is offline   spirit of 77 

• Panel Pundit on Radio Clyde
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
Ah, the wonderful "mouldie".

You get to high school (in my case St Aelred's) and for the last few weeks of the summer you are sent running round the grounds during your double PE. October comes and out you go to the basketball court, then it is gymnastics till christmas.

Then the fun starts, January arrives ( a real january, not the sub-tropical nonsense we get today) and we at last get to play footie. the temperature is a baw-hair above freezing and the psychopath appointed as the PE teacher announces that we are to brave the 60 mph breeze and horizontal hail stones and play "bibs v skins". You turn blue, then purple, and then a previously undiscovered shade of grey as you trot out on the field of dreams. Then someone rolls the ball in front of the freak that looks as though someone has made a mistake on his birth certificate. A 12 year old with a moustache and a serious height and weight advantage over every teacher in school. He cant tie his laces or stop the drool from soaking his semmit, but my he can hit a mouldie. From five yards away he cannons a shot into the inside of you thigh, you tried to evade it but the cold stops your legs from responding properly. Oh the pain. Women who complain about the pain of childbirth should be taken outside, hosed down with icy water for ten minutes then hit with a mouldie. Then they will truly know pain.

My eyes are still watering and somehow writing it all down doesnt seem to help. Mines is a scarred generation.

This post has been edited by spirit of 77: 05 March 2006 - 22:11

Gus must stay gone.

User is online   North Sea Saint 

• OFFSHORE DIVISION
  • Group: Board Mod

View Postspirit of 77, on Mar 5 2006, 22:09, said:

Ah, the wonderful "mouldie".

You get to high school (in my case St Aelred's) and for the last few weeks of the summer you are sent running round the grounds during your double PE. October comes and out you go to the basketball court, then it is gymnastics till christmas.

Then the fun starts, January arrives ( a real january, not the sub-tropical nonsense we get today) and we at last get to play footie. the temperature is a baw-hair above freezing and the psychopath appointed as the PE teacher announces that we are to brave the 60 mph breeze and horizontal hail stones and play "bibs v skins". You turn blue, then purple, and then a previously undiscovered shade of grey as you trot out on the field of dreams. Then someone rolls the ball in front of the freak that looks as though someone has made a mistake on his birth certificate. A 12 year old with a moustache and a serious height and weight advantage over every teacher in school. He cant tie his laces or stop the drool from soaking his semmit, but my he can hit a mouldie. From five yards away he cannons a shot into the inside of you thigh, you tried to evade it but the cold stops your legs from responding properly. Oh the pain. Women who complain about the pain of childbirth should be taken outside, hosed down with icy water for ten minutes then hit with a mouldie. Then they will truly know pain.

My eyes are still watering and somehow writing it all down doesnt seem to help. Mines is a scarred generation.

Who was you're PE Teachers, I had Peter Reid and Ron Wylie, when I was there
Posted Image

User is offline   Toon Saint 

• Bozzer ;>)

View PostNorth Sea Saint, on Mar 5 2006, 22:17, said:

I had Peter Reid and Ron Wylie, when I was there

These all boys schools have a lot to answer for. :rolleyes:
Saints Are For Life
F*ck The Old Firm Scum

User is offline   Herbie 

• Semi-mental
  • Top Man:Gareth Wardlaw

View Postspirit of 77, on Mar 5 2006, 22:09, said:

. Women who complain about the pain of childbirth should be taken outside, hosed down with icy water for ten minutes then hit with a mouldie. Then they will truly know pain.

:lol: :lol: :lol:

(Note to self..... NEVER say that to the missus......NEVER say that t.......)
Stevie Aitken Is Unacceptable

The Future Is Fuzzy

• SFA Hall of Fame

View PostReidy1987, on Mar 5 2006, 18:10, said:

Was it a Frido or something like that? :unsure:

Reidy,

'Frido' does ring a bell. You've provided the best reply so far.

View PostDesperately Seeking Susans, on Mar 6 2006, 18:36, said:

You've provided the best reply so far.

Jings, it's not often someone says something like that to me :blink:

User is offline   farmer john 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
How about Wembley Club Trainer DSS, came in a box, it was orange and kind of dimpled but different from the school footballs.

I used to love the black and white hexagonal patern balls.......whenever I got a new one I would take it to bed with me......I loved a new ball...the smell, the feel.

But did not need to buy balls very often, I just had to go a walk to the shore and most times there would be a perfectly good ball waiting for me........it was always me that took the balls to school......

Still find balls down there but not nearly as many now, or maybe I am not looking.
Usain says

Click right here

.................... Posted Image Come Rent FJ's Holiday Flat

Posted Image naw laughing noo..Bitey and Cougar ate my Grampa :(

Share this topic:

• (2 Pages) +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users