• Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Supras Paisley Merged

User is offline   SP07 

• Reserve team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
Many people have commented on this website and elsewhere that a St Mirren ultras group would be good to see at Love Street. We all saw the banners of the Aberdeen Red Ultras who have led the way in Scotland, some will have noticed displays by the Old Firm, and others might have noticed the display at Motherwell on Saturday. People are also becoming more and more aware of the fantastic displays groups on the continent put out every week.

We all know what the St Mirren support is capable of, especially away from home. This season we have had several games which various people have tried to turn into ‘flag days’, but all with very limited success. There was even a small-scale confetti display at Dunfermline. We feel it is time to try to organise that potential and improve the noise and colour of the Saints support, home and away, especially as everyone is on a high after securing SPL status for another year.

Ultra Saints (US07) aim to do this – and most importantly to make following St Mirren more fun. Below is a short presentation on who we are.

• What are ultras?
o There are 3 main aspects to being an ultra:
 Singing for 90 minutes
 Displays in the stands with flags, cards, banners, confetti, etc.
 Going to the games, home and away

• Who are the St Mirren ultras?
o Fans who want to improve the atmosphere at St Mirren games, home and away, and make supporting the Saints fun. We are a strictly non-violent group: we exist solely to get behind SMFC, and to make our already good support for our team even better in whatever way we can.
o The potential is already there: we aim to organise it, to increase the vocal support for the club and to have displays with flags, confetti or other means on a larger scale – there is no point having threads on the forum saying let’s all bring flags unless people do something about it.

• What are our aims?
o To increase the atmosphere at games by singing for 90 minutes
o To increase the atmosphere visually with coordinated displays
o To display the group banner at every game, as well as other flags and create a colourful backing for the team
o To make following St Mirren a noisier, more colourful and, most importantly, more fun activity than it is at the moment.

• What do we want from you?
o We are looking for fans who are interested in improving the atmosphere at Love Street to help us in any way they can: this summer we want to make as many flags as we can that can be waved and displayed at games. This is something that anyone can do cheaply in their spare time.

Please use this thread to express your interest, give your ideas or ask any further questions you might have. If sufficient interest is generated, a presentation evening/flag-making workshop will be held in June.

User is offline   paisleysaint 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Special Access
Good idea and one which should be taken forward IMO

Alot of folk already have st mirren flags or banners at home so it would probably be worthwhile encouraging people to look them out and get involved.

Another suggestion is having the flags tied up at the back of the Northbank there is space and pillars which will allow flags to be put up without blocking anyones view of the game.
One Life / 1 Love \ One Saints

User is offline   Thorizaar 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
If you are a non-violent group it would be best to come up with a name other than "ultras" which is used by violent and nazi groups in other countries. I have to say that when I see Aberdeen fans or whoever with "ultras" banners, I think of them as folk intent on causing trouble, rather than good, positive supporters.
It might be the wrong conclusion, but that's the public image it has.
Also, there hasn't been any problem with the noise at away grounds this season. The away support has been tremendous all season.
INTERNET FORUMS: MILLIONS OF MONKEYS AND MILLIONS OF KEYBOARDS BUT STILL NO SHAKESPEARE.

User is offline   Derby Saint 

• Reserve team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostThorizaar, on May 14 2007, 16:44, said:

If you are a non-violent group it would be best to come up with a name other than "ultras" which is used by violent and nazi groups in other countries. I have to say that when I see Aberdeen fans or whoever with "ultras" banners, I think of them as folk intent on causing trouble, rather than good, positive supporters.
Also, there hasn't been any problem with the noise at away grounds this season. The away support has been tremendous all season.

I have to say this is what springs to mind with the term 'Ultras' also. All for a positive colourful image of the Saints as long as nobody gets the wrong idea.....
...it's the hope that kills us....

User is offline   FS 

• 'The Eejit'
  • Top Man:Hugh Murray

If you are a non-violent group it would be best to come up with a name other than "ultras" which is used by violent and nazi groups in other countries.

We should be called the Saints Supremos if we want to disassociate ourselves from violent and nazi groups. Saints Supremos could of course be abbreviated to "SS" which of course... er... means...I'll get ma jaiket !

User is offline   SP07 

• Reserve team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip

View Postpaisleysaint, on May 14 2007, 16:39, said:

Good idea and one which should be taken forward IMO

Alot of folk already have st mirren flags or banners at home so it would probably be worthwhile encouraging people to look them out and get involved.

Another suggestion is having the flags tied up at the back of the Northbank there is space and pillars which will allow flags to be put up without blocking anyones view of the game.

Cheers for the positive response and suggestions.

There are some excellent banners about and it would be great if people could bring these. As well as the back of the NB, we thought about using the empty section next to the NB which is only ever used when the OF come. It would be ideal for laying out flags and we will be approaching the club about this.

We have a couple of large banners in production at the moment - it takes a lot of time doing them ourselves but is much cheaper - and then want to start making smaller 'two-stick' flags over the summer, which are easy to roll up and take to the games and cheap to make. Shown here on a small scale by Aberdeen and a slightly larger scale by Borussia Dortmund. :wink:

Posted Image

Attached File(s)

User is offline   Miss Saint 

• I'm a loveable fruitcake!!!
  • Top Man:John Potter
as long as you don't stand in front of me!!! f**k that!
He may no longer be a saint but JACK ROSS IS STILL A PHWOAR!!!

Flips flops make me smile and stars are guid!

Chunky Munky Mallow - it's not all good yet but it is going to be!!!

User is offline   leedssaints1 

• Youth team regular
  • PipPipPipPip
:lol: :D

View PostMiss Saint, on May 14 2007, 16:58, said:

FAR FLUNG FUDS - FRONT PAGE RECOGNITION CAMPAIGN

User is offline   SP07 

• Reserve team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostDerby Saint, on May 14 2007, 16:48, said:

I have to say this is what springs to mind with the term 'Ultras' also. All for a positive colourful image of the Saints as long as nobody gets the wrong idea.....

This simply isn't true, it's just what the ill-informed media likes to write. Like the Roma Ultras who were supposedly throwing missiles at Man Utd fans - they were actually at the opposite end of the ground from the United fans!

The Red Ultras had similar problems in the beginning, the police confiscated their banner numerous times thinking they were hooligans until the club chief executive himself intervened on their behalf. With any display we do, we will have to get permission from the club and police. If we were violent hooligans, we would not be long in being found out!

I appreciate that some people might have the wrong idea and we will stress at every possible opportunity what an ultra actually is. As it is, we want to be a group of 'ultras' following the movement started in the 60s in Brazil and now commonplace in every European country except the British isles - that's to say fans who create displays, who get behind their team with as much noise and colour as possible and who are interested in having fun at the football. This is why we have kept the name so far. If sufficient numbers show interest in being part of such a group and the majority want to change the name, we'll do that.

User is offline   SP07 

• Reserve team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostMiss Saint, on May 14 2007, 16:58, said:

Displays like that are made for the players coming out and the few minutes before kickoff. You wouldn't miss anything. :rolleyes:

User is offline   FS 

• 'The Eejit'
  • Top Man:Hugh Murray

View PostUS07, on May 14 2007, 17:07, said:

This simply isn't true, it's just what the ill-informed media likes to write. Like the Roma Ultras who were supposedly throwing missiles at Man Utd fans - they were actually at the opposite end of the ground from the United fans!

The Red Ultras had similar problems in the beginning, the police confiscated their banner numerous times thinking they were hooligans until the club chief executive himself intervened on their behalf. With any display we do, we will have to get permission from the club and police. If we were violent hooligans, we would not be long in being found out!

I appreciate that some people might have the wrong idea and we will stress at every possible opportunity what an ultra actually is. As it is, we want to be a group of 'ultras' following the movement started in the 60s in Brazil and now commonplace in every European country except the British isles - that's to say fans who create displays, who get behind their team with as much noise and colour as possible and who are interested in having fun at the football. This is why we have kept the name so far. If sufficient numbers show interest in being part of such a group and the majority want to change the name, we'll do that.

All well and good, but the trouble isn't the truth here, it's the perception.

User is offline   kevo_smfc 

• Im The SpaceCowboy Headlock Specialist
  • Top Man:Steven Thomson
Glad someone has suggested improving the atmosphere.Its been proven that when our fans are on form,it raises the teams game.We are moving into a new era,and with the new stadium on its way,a noisy colourful fanbase would look great.

I also agree with a few posters here that the name "ultras" does give the impression of hooligans,and at away games,you may be unfairly treated by security and police.

We should move away from that and form a unique name that has no connections with any of the other clubs.

User is offline   saintinek 

• First team sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
grate idea i would join
Posted Image

• Reserve team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostFS, on May 14 2007, 17:09, said:

I think that is the main issue for me. The power of the press is huge here....Michael Ball was labelled a disgrace in The Sun last week for stamping on Ronaldo whereas at the start of the season he'd have been a hero down here after the Rooney incident.

However, some of the displays you see on the continent are awesome, would be great to see something similar at Love Street. If things could be organised without the preception problem of the name then I'm all for it

User is offline   SP07 

• Reserve team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostFS, on May 14 2007, 17:09, said:

Public perception will come from what we do, not what we say. At the end of the day, it is going to be an ultra-style group. If changing the name makes all the difference to people, we'll think about that when the time comes.

I don't doubt that it won't be everyone's cup of tea, putting the effort in to make flags, organise displays and so on. If people are interested in the project but are put off by the name, they're welcome to say so on the thread or by PM. If you're not interested in helping, then thanks for the comments anyway.

User is offline   SP07 

• Reserve team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip

View Postkevo_smfc, on May 14 2007, 17:13, said:

Glad someone has suggested improving the atmosphere.Its been proven that when our fans are on form,it raises the teams game.We are moving into a new era,and with the new stadium on its way,a noisy colourful fanbase would look great.

I also agree with a few posters here that the name "ultras" does give the impression of hooligans,and at away games,you may be unfairly treated by security and police.

We should move away from that and form a unique name that has no connections with any of the other clubs.

Thanks for your constructive post. If you have any suggestions about the name, don't hesitate - nothing is set in stone!

View PostDerby Saint, on May 14 2007, 17:15, said:

I think that is the main issue for me. The power of the press is huge here....Michael Ball was labelled a disgrace in The Sun last week for stamping on Ronaldo whereas at the start of the season he'd have been a hero down here after the Rooney incident.

However, some of the displays you see on the continent are awesome, would be great to see something similar at Love Street. If things could be organised without the preception problem of the name then I'm all for it

If people do have a problem with the name, then we can change it. The aim is to create displays - there is nothing political, violent or whatever else about it! Again, if you have any suggestions, don't hesitate to post.

If enough people are interested in the project as a concept, we will hold a presentation evening in June and things like the name can be decided upon there.

User is offline   saintinek 

• First team sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
us07 if you ask on the red ultras forum they will gladly give you help on what materials to use, wher to get them, how to make them.

if you want some design ideas ask here and im sure somepoople will help you on here.

ebay seems where the red ultras buy most of there stuff
Posted Image

User is offline   Miss Saint 

• I'm a loveable fruitcake!!!
  • Top Man:John Potter

View PostUS07, on May 14 2007, 17:09, said:

Displays like that are made for the players coming out and the few minutes before kickoff. You wouldn't miss anything. :rolleyes:

NAW!!!! I want to see the players coming oot too - away and sit somewhere else! :P
He may no longer be a saint but JACK ROSS IS STILL A PHWOAR!!!

Flips flops make me smile and stars are guid!

Chunky Munky Mallow - it's not all good yet but it is going to be!!!

• Reserve team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostUS07, on May 14 2007, 17:22, said:

Thanks for your constructive post. If you have any suggestions about the name, don't hesitate - nothing is set in stone!
If people do have a problem with the name, then we can change it. The aim is to create displays - there is nothing political, violent or whatever else about it! Again, if you have any suggestions, don't hesitate to post.

If enough people are interested in the project as a concept, we will hold a presentation evening in June and things like the name can be decided upon there.

On a similar but slightly different topic is anything commemorative planned for the new stadium, similar to what Arsenal did at the Emirates or Manchester City have at Eastlands, eg images of great Saints, great teams , trophies won, fans names etc.?? It could all be tied in together with some sort of fans focus group......if this already exists please tell me to shut up!!

User is offline   ped 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
Why not just do what you usually do at the football ? - we dont need to go around forming into groups called the Utras or some other pish ( by the way the red ultras are all fannies).

Are we not Saints fans ? - Is that not enough or are going to have folk stripping off in the middle of winter to show how dedicated they are and other such behaviour?

Saints fans are the best anyway, all you would do in forming a 'hard core' is attracted attention from the polis and from casual elements from other teams.

Is that really what we'd want ? <_<

This post has been edited by ped: 14 May 2007 - 16:56

He was a bold man that first ate an oyster.

Share this topic:

• (79 Pages) +
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users