virtual west bank: Revenge for 81 and 83 - virtual west bank

• (2 Pages) +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Revenge for 81 and 83 League Cup Final is the chance to sweep away the bitterness and anger

User is offline   Gary Blues 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Special Access
  • Top Man:Darren McGregor
For me, the League Cup Final is the ultimate opportunity to gain revenge for the League Cup and Scottish Cup Semi Final defeats against Rangers in 1981 and 1983 respectively.

Those defeats have left me feeling nothing but bitterness and anger towards Rangers and Brian McGinlay ever since. To win the League Cup would sweep away all those years of hurt. :angry:

For the younger ones who won't know, St. Mirren were shafted by a host of refereeing decisions across 4 matches.

The 1981 League Cup Semi Final was a two legged afair. The sequence of events went something like this:

1st Leg at Love Street

1. St. Mirren take a 1-0 lead.
2. St. Mirren have a stonewall penalty claim turned down
3. While the Saints players are chasing the referee (McGinlay), Rangers sweep down the pitch and equalise via a Jack Copland own goal.
4. St. Mirren have a perfectly good goal turned down. Jimmy Bone cut it back to Lex Richardson who scored but was flagged offside - even though you can't be offside from a cut back.
5. St. Mirren take a 2-1 lead.
6. Rangers equalise to leave the final score at 2-2.

2nd Leg at Ibrox

1, St. Mirren take a 1-0 lead.
2. Midway through the second half Lex Richardson is through on goal. He has his legs chopped from behind. The referee (McGinlay again) waves play on.
3. With 5 minutes left, Rangers striker John MacDonald (whose nickname was Polaris) does his trademark dive in the box and Rangers equalise from the penalty.
4. Deflated, St. Mirren collapse and Rangers score the winner in injury time.

The 1983 Scottish Cup Semi Final was at Parkhead. The events go something like this:

1. The afternoon kicks off with fighting between Saints and Rangers fans on the terracing.
2. Linesman in front of the Rangers fan in the "jungle" gives three offsides against Rangers.
3. Linesman gets pelted with missiles from the Rangers support. He gets struck by a coin and is left with a bloody wound in his head. Game is held up while he received treatment.
4. Linesman doesn't put his flag up again. Sandy Clark races through a position which is a mile offside to give Rangers the lead.
5. Late into the second half Craig Paterson puts through his own goal to take the game to a replay.

The events of the replay at Hampden go like:

1. With the game sitting at 0-0 into the second half Lex Richardson again has his legs taken away from him when about to pull the trigger in the box. McGinlay waves play on.
2. The game goes to extra time
3. With 2 minutes left of extra time a Rangers corner is headed towards goal by Sandy Clark. The ball is cleared off the line. Brian McGinlay gives a goal and Rangers win 1-0.

Totally and utterly shafted we were by these dirty cheats and by that dirty cheating scumbag Brian McGinlay. I make no bones about the fact that I totally and utterly hate Rangers and my anger mainly stems from these two cup ties.

A win over these bastards on 21st March would make up for it all - here's hoping!

This post has been edited by Gary Blues: 05 February 2010 - 20:42

User is offline   BIG BEN 

• First team captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostGary Blues, on 05 February 2010 - 20:39, said:

For me, the League Cup Final is the ultimate opportunity to gain revenge for the League Cup and Scottish Cup Semi Final defeats against Rangers in 1981 and 1983 respectively.

Those defeats have left me feeling nothing but bitterness and anger towards Rangers and Brian McGinlay ever since. To win the League Cup would sweep away all those years of hurt. :angry:

For the younger ones who won't know, St. Mirren were shafted by a host of refereeing decisions across 4 matches.

The 1981 League Cup Semi Final was a two legged afair. The sequence of events went something like this:

1st Leg at Love Street

3. While the Saints players are chasing the referee (McGinlay), Rangers sweep down the pitch and equalise via a Jack Copland own goal.
4. St. Mirren have a perfectly good goal turned down. Jimmy Bone cut it back to Lex Richardson who scored but was flagged offside - even though you can't be offside from a cut back.

2nd Leg at Ibrox

2. Midway through the second half Lex Richardson is through on goal. He has his legs chopped from behind. The referee (McGinlay again) waves play on.
3. With 5 minutes left, Rangers striker John MacDonald (whose nickname was Polaris) does his trademark dive in the box and Rangers equalise from the penalty.

The 1983 Scottish Cup Semi Final was at Parkhead. The events go something like this:

1. The afternoon kicks off with fighting between Saints and Rangers fans on the terracing.
2. Linesman in front of the Rangers fan in the "jungle" gives three offsides against Rangers.
3. Linesman gets pelted with missiles from the Rangers support. He gets struck by a coin and is left with a bloody wound in his head. Game is held up while he received treatment.
4. Linesman doesn't put his flag up again. Sandy Clark races through a position which is a mile offside to give Rangers the lead.
5. Late into the second half Craig Paterson puts through his own goal to take the game to a replay.

1. With the game sitting at 0-0 into the second half Lex Richardson again has his legs taken away from him when about to pull the trigger in the box. McGinlay waves play on.
3. With 2 minutes of extra time a Rangers corner is headed towards goal by Sandy Clark. The ball is cleared off the line. Brian McGinlay gives a goal and Rangers win 1-0.

Totally and utterly shafted we were by these dirty cheats and by that dirty cheating scumbag Brian McGinlay. I make no bones about the fact that I totally and utterly hate Rangers and my anger mainly stems from these two cup ties.
A win over these bastards on 21st March would make up for it all - here's hoping!

You hide your feelings well :D

User is offline   Desperately Seeking Susans 

• SFA Hall of Fame
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Top Man:Craig Dargo
I wasn't here at that time but you've put together a great post recounting events which understandably incites a rather dislike of anything R******.
You've re-charged my anti OF batteries. :fire2
Terrorism is a poor man's war.
War is a rich man's terrorism.

User is offline   Hendo 

• Panel Pundit on Radio Clyde
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
For me, the League Cup Semi-final defeat at Ibrox was without a doubt the most one-sided refereeing display I have ever seen. The ref was a guy called George Smith from Edinburgh. While dodgy decisions went against us in the other games, in that one there were so many baffling decisions in favour of Rangers that it was clear the referee cheated to get Rangers through. And if George Smith is reading this, he can sue me if he wants :angry:

User is offline   Perthshire Bud 

• Baby Crew
  • Pip
  • Group: Members

1st Leg at Love Street

2nd Leg at Ibrox

3. With 2 minutes left of extra time a Rangers corner is headed towards goal by Sandy Clark. The ball is cleared off the line. Brian McGinlay gives a goal and Rangers win 1-0.

• Baby Crew
  • Pip
Couldn't agree more. I was at all the games you mention and you've summarised perfectly why I still detest McGinlay, 'Polaris' and everything to do with the scummy Ibrox bigots. Can't add anything to your comments on McGinlay-you've got that spot on but I also remember at that time a particularly odious NF element amongst the Rangers support present at these games. The Hampden debacle with the goal that never was saw them coming over the fence and pelting us with rocks and sundry missiles but I also remember the League Cup game at Ibrox you mention when a small band of us were stood at the foot of the enclosure section (the rest of the Saints support were in the Broomloan)-I distinctly remember us being kicked, jostled and spat on by the knuckledraggers amongst the *** support that night. There was as you rightly say fighting at Parkhead too-one scuffle actually broke out in front of where I was standing.
Anybody who attended these games of a black and white persuasion cannot help but be bitter at how we were shafted at these matches-we can all accept (reluctantly) a fair and square defeat (we've got used to it over the years after all) but we were completely robbed on these occasions and the memory of seeing the Rangers News on a newstand the morning after the Sandy Clark debacle loudly proclaiming "yet another Scottish Cup Final appearance" for the Blue Bigots is still enough to induce high blood pressure.

So yes let's hope that 21st March gives us a chance to avenge these wrongs at the hands of the Devil's Disciples-wiping the smug grins off their ugly twisted faces would certainly make up for some of it at least.

User is offline   Frank O'Miranda 

• First team captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
For the 2nd time in a week I'm in total agreement with Gary Blues !!!!

Those 2 semi final defeats have only been rivalled by the H*mm*rby game for me in terms of how hard they were to take.

But at least H*mm*rby beat us fair and square.

As an aside Gary, did we not have a goal disallowed in the 2nd leg of the 81 semi for offside with a Rangers defender standing on the goalline when we were 1-0 up? I could have sworn we did.

This post has been edited by Frank O'Miranda: 05 February 2010 - 22:33

• Baby Crew
  • Pip

View PostFrank O, on 05 February 2010 - 22:31, said:

For the 2nd time in a week I'm in total agreement with Gary Blues !!!!

Those 2 semi final defeats have only been rivalled by the H*mm*rby game for me in terms of how hard they were to take.

But at least H*mm*rby beat us fair and square.

As an aside Gary, did we not have a goal disallowed in the 2nd leg of the 81 semi for offside with a Rangers defender standing on the goalline when we were 1-0 up? I could have sworn we did.

My memory is that we did and it was Colin Jackson on the line? Could be wrong-maybe somebody out there has a clearer recollection?

User is offline   Mr Zo 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
  • Top Man:Hugh Murray
I was a mere child when these events described were unfolding but it's got my blood boiling alright.

Like Gary Blues I also hate Rangers with a passion and would be over the moon if we could beat them in the upcoming cup ties. :D

User is offline   mcd54 

• Reserve team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip

1st Leg at Love Street

2nd Leg at Ibrox

How the fukk do you remember all that? Do you keep a diary? :o
SMTID

User is offline   V... 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Top Man:Gareth Wardlaw

View Postmcd54, on 05 February 2010 - 22:47, said:

I know, I'd be lucky if I could tell you a half of our results from the start of the season...
The only verdict is vengeance, a vendetta, held as a votive not in vain.

WEST BANK AGGRO
Posted Image

KEEP ON TRUCKIN'

User is online   billyg 

• Eddie Malone Fan Club Secretary

View Postmcd54, on 05 February 2010 - 22:47, said:

He can't remember it all , the Jimmy Bone cut back for Lex was at 0-0 in the 2nd leg at Ibrox ! :)
Walking down to Greenhill Road to watch wee Danny's aces

User is online   billyg 

• Eddie Malone Fan Club Secretary

View PostFrank O, on 05 February 2010 - 22:31, said:

GBs memory is playing tricks , the Jimmy Bone ,Lexy "goal" was the Jackson on the line one in the 2nd leg !
Walking down to Greenhill Road to watch wee Danny's aces

User is offline   Dirty Sanchez 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
The polis weren't any better that night at Hampden.
We witnessed loads of brick throwers coming over the fence unchallenged from Section N,but ordinary H*n fans were getting huckled when they had only jumped the fence to avoid the crushing.

A lot of the cops were wearing motorbike helmets.I've never seen that before or since,but we could have done with some of their helmets in our end,considering the variety of shite that was flying through the air.
Posted Image

User is offline   HSS 

• PAISLEYS No1 SLIPPER WEARER AND TAXI DRIVER
  • Top Man:Danny Lennon
Was there not another semi at I*rox when we were 2-0 up and ended up getting cheated 3-2?
Think the 2nd leg ended 0-0.
I'd rather shag a bucket with a big hole in it,than be a M*rt*n fan for just one minute.

User is online   windae cleaner 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
  • Top Man:John Potter

View Postbillyg, on 06 February 2010 - 00:51, said:

GBs memory is playing tricks , the Jimmy Bone ,Lexy "goal" was the Jackson on the line one in the 2nd leg !

It was, we were leading 1-0 at the time.
The only reason we got the penalty because Jim Stewart performed G.B.H. on MacAvennie.
He booted Macca in the throat standing up.
He should have been sent off and Polis lifting him straight to Govan Police Station
That pishy Rangers side reached 8 Scottish Cup Finals in a row due to cheating.
They even cheated poor wee Forfar in a semi- final that's how bad they were

User is offline   SelkirkSaint 

• Youth team regular
  • PipPipPipPip
The ref in 81 was George Smith. My mammy told me that for the next 3 nights after the Ibrox leg she had to listen to me shouting and swearing in my sleep, calling him every name my subconcious could think of. Worst refereeing display ever.

McGinlay was the ref in 83. We werent good in the first game but could have scored 8/9 goals in the replay.
My only consolation was that in the fighting in the first game I managed to banjo several cavemen.

I've always said these games lost us some of our supporters. We played the DOB's 18 times in 3 seasons. That's half a seasons worth of being robbed and cheated, time and time again. Different offside and penalty rules seemed to apply in most of these games. A lot of folk got so sickened by it that they just stopped coming.

User is offline   farmer john 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
I rember '83 very well. I got battered at Celtic Park...just managed to run back from behind the covered terrace behind the goal to the,relative, safety of our fans....but why were there marauding bands of RAngers fans in there anyway?

I also recall no Rangers fans or players claiming for the goal at the replay...just McGinlay wanted to give it and that was it.....he was near back at the halfway line before anyone figured out what had happened.

BUT, as SelkirkSaint said above, we had LOADS of chances to win that game. Frank McDougall and Alan Logan being the main culprits.

Player wise it was more of an even playing field in these days, we should have won more of these important games but were not allowed to.
Usain says

Click right here

.................... Posted Image Come Rent FJ's Holiday Flat

Posted Image naw laughing noo..Bitey and Cougar ate my Grampa :(

User is offline   Reynard 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
  • Top Man:Mark McLennan

View Postwindae cleaner, on 06 February 2010 - 08:51, said:

It was, we were leading 1-0 at the time.
The only reason we got the penalty because Jim Stewart performed G.B.H. on MacAvennie.
He booted Macca in the throat standing up.
He should have been sent off and Polis lifting him straight to Govan Police Station
That pishy Rangers side reached 8 Scottish Cup Finals in a row due to cheating.
They even cheated poor wee Forfar in a semi- final that's how bad they were

They were f**king shite in the league at that time. But in the cups they really did get a massive helping hand from the officials. My dad stopped going at around that time too actually now I come to think of it. I remember him being uttery scunnered after those games mentioned. It was alsmost like we had to score two goals for every Rangers one just to keep level with them.

I'll never forgive McGinley and co for what they did to us back then.

User is offline   Tom 

• Evangelical Atheist
  • Group: The Gaffers
  • Top Man:Hugh Murray

View PostHSS, on 06 February 2010 - 03:12, said:

Was there not another semi at I*rox when we were 2-0 up and ended up getting cheated 3-2?
Think the 2nd leg ended 0-0.

That was the QF in 78-79. Fitzy scored both goals at ibrox then they scored 3 in the last 20 mins. As you say they played for a 0-0 draw at love st in the 2nd leg.
Existence...well what does it matter? I exist on the best terms I can
The past is now part of my future, the present is well out of hand...the present is well out of hand

Share this topic:

• (2 Pages) +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users