• (3 Pages) +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

home support Absent friends

User is offline   tiree saint 

• Reserve team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
This is a call to all buddies who didn't attend yesterdays match, hang your heads in shame your club needs you.
something like 2600 home fans turned up after the players delivered a cup final place a mere 5 days ago and
this is the thanks they get, absolutely disgraceful ,please ffs get your arse down to GHR and support the team.

User is offline   E=Mc2 

• SFA Hall of Fame
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Special Access

View Posttiree saint, on 07 February 2010 - 17:43, said:

This is a call to all buddies who didn't attend yesterdays match, hang your heads in shame your club needs you.
something like 2600 home fans turned up after the players delivered a cup final place a mere 5 days ago and
this is the thanks they get, absolutely disgraceful ,please ffs get your arse down to GHR and support the team.

I can only agree.

The small home support could be because so many made the trip to Motherwell and didn't want to put out financially for a game that was on the BBC.

But surely we should be able to raise 5000 souls for a Scottish Cup game.

I believe, if we had, we would have spurred the team to a victory similar to that over Celtic last year.

User is offline   Drew 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostE=Mc2, on 07 February 2010 - 18:04, said:

I can only agree.

The small home support could be because so many made the trip to Motherwell and didn't want to put out financially for a game that was on the BBC.

But surely we should be able to raise 5000 souls for a Scottish Cup game.

I believe, if we had, we would have spurred the team to a victory similar to that over Celtic last year.

I'd agree. As I've just posted onthe match thread, I reckon if the clubs had agreed to drop the price to £15 (the fiver loss would probably be offset by the TV money), there could potentially have been another 2,000 punters there on the day.

It was a depressingly low turn-out, but there are just too many games at £20 a pop for most people to attend regularly nowadays. If we had a BoD with a bit of imagination, we'd drop our prices to £15 a match as Hearts did a few years back. I reckon it would make a significant difference even on a symbolic level. As it is, more and more ordinary working class football supporters (the life blood of the game) simply feel the pish is being ripped out of them.
DID I JUMP...OR WAS I PISHED???

User is offline   saint in exile 

• First team captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Top Man:Hugh Murray
I also think that more people should have been at the game, but I'm being a hypocrite cos I wasn't there. But I'm not going to 'hang my head in shame', cos it cost me the guts of 200 quid to come over for the Motherwell game and frankly I can't afford to do that as often as I'd like.

Also, I can see why fans don't want to share space with the knuckle draggers.

So, what can the club do? Cheaper prices? Some kind of incentive? I don't have the answer - I hopeTHEY do.
The future's NOT orange - it's BLACK AND WHITE!

User is offline   Kendo 

• First team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Top Man:Paul Gallacher
I was there and I agree that the turn out was poor. However there are good reasons for the poor support.

1. Live on the TV
2. 12.30 kick off.
3. £20 a ticket.
4. Lots of games and lots of money for fans to find.

Put all of this together and hence the poor support.

What has Gus ever done for us???
Promotion, Challange Cup, SPL Status, all with no money.
Lets hope Dan is the man to find good young talent.

User is offline   Watsorb1877 

• Reserve team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
well, i'm so f*cking sorry.

I would love to be at EVERY game, certainly to have a season ticket so I can at least go to every home game. But alas, I don't earn too much & have a family. So, this season I have had to make do with tickets I've managed to get through the clydesdale bank (who I work for) and I think have only managed to pay into the Dundee Utd game this season.

I will NOT hang my head in shame for not being there on Saturday, as if I had any way of funding it, I would have been there. Same goes for Wednesday night when I even struggled to get a hold of it on the radio, online eventually.

Basically, if I had the money to be at a game, i would be there. I don't know wwhen the cup final tickets are out, but if it is not near the 20th of the month, I may struggle for that also, which would seriously hurt me.

So, please don't assume that everyone who did not go was due to apathy.

Thanks

User is offline   lovestreet 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
whats the fuss? our home support is 2500 to 3000 and has been that for many many years :blink:
MO MO SUPER MO

User is offline   Reynard 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
  • Top Man:Mark McLennan
I didn't go because it was on the tv. I travel from Ayr to traipse around the country following St.Mirren and refuse to be lectured to by anyone about attending matches.

With the game on at lunchtime it meant I could do a bit of work in the morning and then see my kids when the game was finished. I also avoided having to share oxygen with the hunnery.

I have no regrets about missing that game yesterday and I will do it again if games are televised. It saves me at least two hours travelling for home games and sometimes quite a lot for away games.

I'm past the stage of giving a shit anyway. Its only football. I'm not an 18 year old with no responsibilities. Some of us have to work for a living or look after families.

User is offline   Miss Saint 

• I'm a loveable fruitcake!!!

View PostWatsorb1877, on 07 February 2010 - 18:34, said:

I would love to be at EVERY game, certainly to have a season ticket so I can at least go to every home game. But alas, I don't earn too much & have a family. So, this season I have had to make do with tickets I've managed to get through the clydesdale bank (who I work for) and I think have only managed to pay into the Dundee Utd game this season.

I will NOT hang my head in shame for not being there on Saturday, as if I had any way of funding it, I would have been there. Same goes for Wednesday night when I even struggled to get a hold of it on the radio, online eventually.

Basically, if I had the money to be at a game, i would be there. I don't know wwhen the cup final tickets are out, but if it is not near the 20th of the month, I may struggle for that also, which would seriously hurt me.

Thanks

EXACTLY!!!

I was there yesterday but my other half wasnt as he was offered overtime at work and HAD to take. the replay he can go and I wont - finances are hard for a lot of people just now - so you hang yer heid tiree saint and realise some people just cant afford to go to fitba all the time now!
He may no longer be a saint but JACK ROSS IS STILL A PHWOAR!!!

Flips flops make me smile and stars are guid!

Chunky Munky Mallow - it's not all good yet but it is going to be!!!

User is offline   colshy 

• Youth team regular
  • PipPipPipPip

Thanks

spot on m8
oh to be a

User is offline   boneshaker 

• Youth team regular
  • PipPipPipPip

View Posttiree saint, on 07 February 2010 - 17:43, said:

Why don't you go and take a flying F*ck to yourself?

My number one priority is my family and their security - nice safe area to live and food on the table.

Second priority is to work hard and keep my job.

Third priority is to buy the odd extra toy for my daughter.

My last priority is spending money on my own happiness = a home game at GHR.

Why don't you go and hang your head in shame,

EDIT BY DAVID G - LESS OF THE ABUSE PLEASE.

This post has been edited by davidg: 07 February 2010 - 21:04

User is offline   cambo1877 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Location:If seedless grapes are actually seedless then how can you grow them????
  • Top Man:Craig Dargo

Thanks

Was it a delyad transmission from tuesday night????

User is offline   HSS 

• PAISLEYS No1 SLIPPER WEARER AND TAXI DRIVER
  • Top Man:Danny Lennon

View Postcambo1877, on 07 February 2010 - 19:52, said:

Was it a delyad transmission from tuesday night????

Aye....on BBC Wales. :huh:
I'd rather shag a bucket with a big hole in it,than be a M*rt*n fan for just one minute.

User is offline   TeddyKGB 

• International Captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Top Man:Gareth Wardlaw
Ouch !

This thread is getting sore.

I think Hendo summed it up perfectly. There were many reasons for the low turn out yesterday.

Always sad to see it descending into personal abuse whether right or wrong though.

User is offline   Hendo 

• Panel Pundit on Radio Clyde
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostTeddyKGB, on 07 February 2010 - 20:19, said:

Ouch !

This thread is getting sore.

I think Hendo summed it up perfectly. There were many reasons for the low turn out yesterday.

Always sad to see it descending into personal abuse whether right or wrong though.

I think you meant Kendo, you could be a journalist with misquotations like that :P

User is offline   Tam1066 

• Reserve team sub
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostKendo, on 07 February 2010 - 18:24, said:

I was there and I agree that the turn out was poor. However there are good reasons for the poor support.

1. Live on the TV
2. 12.30 kick off.
3. £20 a ticket.
4. Lots of games and lots of money for fans to find.

Put all of this together and hence the poor support.

The various reasons given would have an affect on the crowd, but surely it's games like these you want to go and see? This was one time we could have been confident about playing one of the old firm.

We've seen in recent seasons (away to Motherwell, Falkirk and Hearts) what a good backing from the fans does for the team, but the turnout yesterday verged on embarassing.

When we get offered 10,000 tickets for the cup final, yesterday's turnout will help justify it.

In saying that I thought the crowd who were their made a lot more noise than usual.

User is offline   Griff 

Football is killing itself with its pricining, Robbie Keame 65k a week, St Mirren with 3,oo fans expected to pay win bonuses of over a thousand pounds.

Football is an industry that is dying a death, and all those involved in the industry want to to do is squeeze more money out of the fans

User is offline   TeddyKGB 

• International Captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Top Man:Gareth Wardlaw
Hendo, Kendo, my apologies.

Griff you are spot on. Players wages, particularly in Engerland are way out of control. I was in Hull recently and the cheapest adult ticket was £32 ffs.

User is offline   Griff 

Just read my post, should say 3,000 fans. just back from Edinburgh, had too much drink

User is offline   Griff 

Saints fans have had to splash out at least £50 this week, for those with kids a lot more, football is no longer the working mans game, and its an industry thats dying a death,a working group needs to get together and plan a future for Scottish football, and it shouldn,t be more than £15 a game.
, and clubs shouldn,t be spending more than %60 of their turnover on wages.

Share this topic:

• (3 Pages) +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users