• You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

home support Absent friends

User is offline   shull 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Special Access

View PostKendo, on 07 February 2010 - 18:24, said:

I was there and I agree that the turn out was poor. However there are good reasons for the poor support.

1. Live on the TV
2. 12.30 kick off.
3. £20 a ticket.
4. Lots of games and lots of money for fans to find.

Put all of this together and hence the poor support.

Kendo is correct.
Walking along the Greenhill Road to see Wee Lenny's aces.

User is offline   Frank O'Miranda 

• First team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostGriff, on 07 February 2010 - 23:03, said:

Saints fans have had to splash out at least £50 this week, for those with kids a lot more, football is no longer the working mans game, and its an industry thats dying a death,a working group needs to get together and plan a future for Scottish football, and it shouldn,t be more than £15 a game.
, and clubs shouldn,t be spending more than %60 of their turnover on wages.

Whilst I agree in principle that the cost of football is too high in this country, there is a real problem for clubs like us in terms of reducing admission prices.

We have been told we are over budget this season already and it is highly unlikely that a reduction in prices is going to lead to anything other than a reduction in income.

Taking yesterday as an example, we had roughly 5,000 paying fans at an average price of say £16 for arguments sake. That's gate receipts of £80,000.

If we reduced the priced from £20 and £10 to £15 and £7.50 respectively then the average price using the same ratio as above would be £12 so in order to get the same gate receipts we'd have to get a crowd of 6,667 (a 33% increase).

Does anyone really believe that by reducing the prices yesterday with the game live on TV we'd have got those extra fans? I really don't see that many people who weren't prepared/able to pay £20 yesterday being swayed by it only being £15.

I recognise it's not just as simple as that, there is the issue of encouraging fans to become more regular attenders etc etc but there isn't an awful lot to be gained in the short term by St Mirren by cutting prices for any match.

We all want cheaper football but we also want Saints to be competitive in the SPL. So there's not a lot Saints can do on their own unless they are prepared to gamble on a short term hit for longer term gain.

I think the SPL chairman would be very hard to convince that reducing admission charges would be financially beneficial for the clubs and the game as a whole in the long run so I'm not holding my breath for a price reduction in the foreseeable future.

User is offline   shull 

• Panel Pundit on SKY

View Postboneshaker, on 07 February 2010 - 19:46, said:

Why don't you go and take a flying F*ck to yourself?

My number one priority is to buy Shull a Cup Final ticket and a bevvy before and after the Match.

Second priority is to work hard and keep my job.

Third priority is to buy the odd extra toy for my daughter.

My last priority is spending money on my own happiness = a home game at GHR.

Why don't you go and hang your head in shame,

EDIT BY DAVID G - LESS OF THE ABUSE PLEASE.

Yir a guid Buddie :rolleyes:

This post has been edited by shull: 08 February 2010 - 00:07

User is offline   Griff 

• Panel Pundit on Radio Clyde
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
Franco my comments are more about football in general, and not St Mirren in particular.

But isn,t it a shame the way footballs going.

When I first went to the footie, it made sense to drag your pals out the pub and take them down Love Street, as it was cheaper to watch the footy than stay in the pub.

Now for half the price of squeezing into a seat at a freezing cold Love Street, yo can have a meal three pints of lager and watch the game on the box.

How did we let it come to this

User is offline   Frank McGarvey' wonky legs 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
We managed to take over 3000 to Perth for a cup game 2 years ago on a Saturday afternoon.

If the game was not on telly we would have got another 1000-1500.

Can we really be up in arms if we receive a "derisory" allocation for the CIS cup final.

User is offline   Frank O'Miranda 

• First team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostGriff, on 08 February 2010 - 00:09, said:

Franco my comments are more about football in general, and not St Mirren in particular.

But isn,t it a shame the way footballs going.

When I first went to the footie, it made sense to drag your pals out the pub and take them down Love Street, as it was cheaper to watch the footy than stay in the pub.

Now for half the price of squeezing into a seat at a freezing cold Love Street, yo can have a meal three pints of lager and watch the game on the box.

How did we let it come to this

I know Griff and I agree with you.

The game in this country has been on a slippery slope for a long time now, firstly when we started the practice of the home club keeping all the gate receipts in league matches followed by the skewed distribution of TV money and the effect of the Bosman ruling.

Meanwhile admission prices have crept up and up whilst the standard of football and the size of the attendances has gone down and down. No other business could have justified or even attempted such price increases, but football has just relied on the blind loyalty of the fans. Eventually there will not be enough diehards left to sustain this.

The ball is well and truly burst.

User is offline   RossTheBoss 

• Panel Pundit when Jack Ross can't make it
  • Top Man:Marc McAusland

View Posttiree saint, on 07 February 2010 - 17:43, said:

This is a call to all buddies who didn't attend yesterdays match, hang your heads in shame your club needs you.
something like 2600 home fans turned up after the players delivered a cup final place a mere 5 days ago and
this is the thanks they get, absolutely disgraceful ,please ffs get your arse down to GHR and support the team.

Nothing I can say that hasn't been said before. I would have loved to have been there but have my reasons for not going yesterday and refuse to be lectured by anybody on going to games, especially via a sweeping statement on an internet forum with absolutely no knowlege of individual circumstances. There are more important things than football.
"I just want to tell you both: Good luck. We're all counting on you."

User is offline   delpierro 

• Reserve team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members

View PostFrank O, on 08 February 2010 - 00:18, said:

The game in this country has been on a slippery slope for a long time now, firstly when we started the practice of the home club keeping all the gate receipts in league matches followed by the skewed distribution of TV money and the effect of the Bosman ruling.

Meanwhile admission prices have crept up and up whilst the standard of football and the size of the attendances has gone down and down. No other business could have justified or even attempted such price increases, but football has just relied on the blind loyalty of the fans. Eventually there will not be enough diehards left to sustain this.

well said, sir. a voice of reason and understanding.

now, where's me cinema listings...............................

User is offline   shull 

• Panel Pundit on SKY

View PostFrank O, on 08 February 2010 - 00:18, said:

I've said the same for years and huv been lambasted oan here. :lol:

User is offline   Reynard 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
  • Top Man:Mark McLennan

View PostFrank McGarvey, on 08 February 2010 - 00:14, said:

We managed to take over 3000 to Perth for a cup game 2 years ago on a Saturday afternoon.

If the game was not on telly we would have got another 1000-1500.

Can we really be up in arms if we receive a "derisory" allocation for the CIS cup final.

Yes we can.

User is offline   john 

• Reserve team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
I personally think this is a ridiculous thread. On so many levels. Firstly. The vast majority who come on this forum are "true fans" therefore it preaches to the converted. Secondly. How judgemental. To assume that the folk who didn't turn up simply couldn't be a**ed because it was on free to air TV is astounding. I feel very lucky to be in a situation which allows me the luxury of being able to afford all the games but even that isn't always possible for me due to work commitments.
As far as I'm concerned it should be you, tiree saint, that should "hang your head in shame" for your unfounded and outrageous assumptions!

This post has been edited by john: 08 February 2010 - 11:03

User is offline   Sonny 

• First team sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
We are on a run of two games per week which equates to an absolute minimum of £50 a week (two entrances and a bus fare to the away game). With a few 'luxuries' added on like pie & bovril, pint, program, chips etc then you could be talking more like £75 a week. This is unsustainable for most supporters and out the question for folk taking children.

I was at the Cup game but several ST holders normally around me didnt turn up and I dont blame them one bit. Football is a luxury these days and to be honest there are many better ways of spending hard earned cash. Buddies wont stop supporting but cannot always attend. I know someone who cannot work due to poor health and has two kids. He loves the Saints but simply cannot attend regularly as feeding his kids is more important.

User is offline   lovestreet 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
All this feeding families nonsense!

You should start going to Lidl and Farmfoods then you'll be loaded and you can go to every game.

Shame on you!!!

This post has been edited by lovestreet: 08 February 2010 - 08:53

MO MO SUPER MO

User is offline   spirit of 77 

• Panel Pundit on Radio Clyde
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View Posttiree saint, on 07 February 2010 - 17:43, said:

This is a call to all buddies who didn't attend yesterdays match, hang your heads in shame your club needs you.
something like 2600 home fans turned up after the players delivered a cup final place a mere 5 days ago and
this is the thanks they get, absolutely disgraceful ,please ffs get your arse down to GHR and support the team.

Who are you to tell me to hang my head, with roadworks I have a 2 hour drive to Paisley and drive around 1000 miles per week anyway. In the last couple of weeks I have spent well over £200 in entrance fees and travel costs to watch St Mirren.

There are reasons why some people dont get to every game, the early kick off and price tag put off the very many fans who stay outwith paisley.

I'll go when it please me, not when you tell me.
Gus must stay gone.

User is offline   Crispian Crunchie 

• Whining Lefty
As a "Southern Saint" who for practical and logistical reasons therefore can't attend as many games as I would like to, and who regularly finds himself being subjected to Taliban-like injunctions on expressing a view about the the team I've supported life-long solely on that basis, I find the hostile reaction on this thread to the thread-starter's mild scolding very interesting. Must remember to quote it to Billy Gloom next time he has a pop at me (not that it'll do any good).
Posted Image

User is offline   john 

• Reserve team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostCrispian Crunchie, on 08 February 2010 - 11:33, said:

As a "Southern Saint" who for practical and logistical reasons therefore can't attend as many games as I would like to, and who regularly finds himself being subjected to Taliban-like injunctions on expressing a view about the the team I've supported life-long solely on that basis, I find the hostile reaction on this thread to the thread-starter's mild scolding very interesting. Must remember to quote it to Billy Gloom next time he has a pop at me (not that it'll do any good).

Yes Crispy crunch. But you should hang your head in shame for your constant nitpicking of forumsters spelling and general baiting. Nothing to do with whether you go to games or not! :rolleyes:

User is offline   billyg 

• Eddie Malone Fan Club Secretary
  • Top Man:Darren McGregor

View PostCrispian Crunchie, on 08 February 2010 - 11:33, said:

Should be another English pound coin in the coffers thanks to more namedropping from one of the Southern based obsession brothers? FFS , I'm now being stalked in threads that up until now , I huvnae even posted in ! :blink:
Walking down to Greenhill Road to watch wee Danny's aces

User is offline   Lochwinnoch Saint 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
I would never point the finger at anyone who did not attend the game on Saturday. We all have different circumstances added to the fact our supporters have been asked to attend two games a week lately is too much to ask.
You only have to look recently at old firm home games to see it’s a problem across the board. One in ten is unemployed in Scotland so gates are going to be affected.

Im just back home from my stint away at work and have attended the last two cup games and its been absolutely fantastic seeing two great games. Credit where due must go to Gus Andy and our squad. Roll on the next three games which I am looking forward too. Just hope we can take a large support to Ibrox.
Show Racism The Red Card

User is offline   Seaside Nipper 

• Panel Pundit on SKY

View Postlovestreet, on 07 February 2010 - 18:43, said:

whats the fuss? our home support is 2500 to 3000 and has been that for many many years :blink:

Exactly Posted Image

Then add to the mix economic costs, the travel, the option of free tv, the apathy, the prospect of saving for a Cup Final, , the Bigot opposition, the low expectation level = a sparse crowd. I went, I had some bevvies before and after, frankly having witnessed what I did , I can fully understand people's reluctance to commit to attending. There was an overwhelming sense of being underwhelmed tbh Posted Image Higdon and Dargo chances apart, I sat on my arse, freezing and fairly bored

How anyone can slate people for exercising their right to attend this game or not, well it is rather off.

I'll be at the Fakes game, to me this has more significance than the weekend fixture just past , however , I'd not expect much in the way of a home support this week, although 'strangely' there may be more Buddies this Wednesday than on Saturday, sad , but true
Danny Lennon , you're priority has to be pace and width in the new St Mirren team

User is offline   Crispian Crunchie 

• Whining Lefty

View Postbillyg, on 08 February 2010 - 11:45, said:

I'm now being stalked in threads

You flatter yourself, Billy. I'd no more stalk you than I would Phylis Diller.
Posted Image

Share this topic:

• (3 Pages) +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users