virtual west bank: League Games Before The Split - virtual west bank

• (3 Pages) +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

League Games Before The Split Who will be bottom?

User is offline   davidg 

• Toon Army
  • Group: Board Mod
  • Top Man:David Barron
St Mirren and Hamilton are 3 points ahead of Falkirk who have 20 points at the bottom of the league 6 games before the ridiculous league split and looking at the fixtures I think it will be a 2 horse race for staying up between us and Falkirk. I do think we will extend the gap though by the time the split comes with both teams failing to win any of the next 6 games.

Hope to feck I'm wrong and we start with 3 points on Tuesday but I can't see it happening.

Here's how I see the bottom 3 at the split, feel free to add your predictions.

Hamilton 30 points
St Mirren 27 points
Falkirk 22 points

St Mirren

Motherwell - Home 1 point
Hamilton - Away 1 point
Celtic - Home 0 points
Aberdeen - Away 0 points
Hearts - Home 1 point
Falkirk - Away 1 point

Hamilton

St Mirren - Home 1 point
Falkirk - Home 3 points
Killie - Away 1 point
St Johnstone - Home 1 point
Rangers - Away 0 points
Hibs - Home 1 point

Falkirk

Hamilton - Away 0 points
St Johnstone - Away 0 points
Hibs - Home 0 points
Motherwell - Away 0 points
St Mirren - Home 1 point

Going to be an exciting and nervous end to the season and no doubt another big away day like Motherwell and Falkirk in the mix and if I'm being honest, I can't wait to get the cup final out of the way so we only have league survival to focus on.

This post has been edited by davidg: 07 March 2010 - 19:34

Deutschland, Deutschland über alles
Über alles in der Welt
Wenn es stehte zun Schutz und Trutze
Brüderlich zusammen hält
Von der Maas bis an die Memel
Von der Etsch bis an den Belt
Über alles in der Welt

User is offline   div 

• I'm bald and I know I am
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: The Gaffers
  • Top Man:David Van Zanten
Why would Kilmarnock, who we've taken 7 points from 9 from this season, who are only three points ahead of us having played a game more and who are about to lose their best attacking threat not be in the relegation shake up :blink: ?

Anywat, not too interested in the other teams. Our results to the split;

St Mirren

Motherwell - Home 3 points
Hamilton - Away 1 point
Celtic - Home 1 point
Aberdeen - Away 3 points
Hearts - Home 1 point
Falkirk - Away 1 point

The results might differ, but a ten point haul before the split is not an unreasonable target from those games.

User is offline   davidg 

• Toon Army

View Postdiv, on 07 March 2010 - 19:36, said:

Why would Kilmarnock, who we've taken 7 points from 9 from this season, who are only three points ahead of us having played a game more and who are about to lose their best attacking threat not be in the relegation shake up :blink: ?

Add them to the mix then :P
Über alles in der Welt
Brüderlich zusammen hält
Über alles in der Welt

User is offline   davidg 

• Toon Army

The results might differ, but a ten point haul before the split is not an unreasonable target from those games.

We've gained 23 points from 27 games, went 9 league games without a win and you think we can get 10 points from the next 6 games? :huh:
Über alles in der Welt
Brüderlich zusammen hält
Über alles in der Welt

User is offline   div 

View Postdavidg, on 07 March 2010 - 19:46, said:

We've gained 23 points from 27 games, went 9 league games without a win and you think we can get 10 points from the next 6 games? :huh:

Yes. The cup win will spur us on to an excellent end to the season.

User is offline   billyg 

• Eddie Malone Fan Club Secretary
  • Group: Special Access
  • Top Man:Darren McGregor

View Postdiv, on 07 March 2010 - 19:47, said:

Yes. The cup win will spur us on to an excellent end to the season.

Yeah ! :blink:
Walking down to Greenhill Road to watch wee Danny's aces

User is offline   Moffett smfc 

• Reserve team sub
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Top Man:Craig Dargo

St Mirren

Motherwell - Home 3 points
Hamilton - Away 1 point
Celtic - Home 1 point
Aberdeen - Away 3 points
Hearts - Home 1 point
Falkirk - Away 1 point

Agree with your results a bit more than david g's.
Aberdeen away seems like a game that we could win, especially with their poor form recently.
Celtic at home will be tough with the fact that they now have Keane, but I have a feeling we might take something from that game.

User is offline   faraway saint 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
  • Top Man:Michael Higdon

Why would Kilmarnock, who we've taken 7 points from 9 from this season, who are only three points ahead of us having played a game more and who are about to lose their best attacking threat not be in the relegation shake up Posted Image ?

St Mirren

Motherwell - Home 3 points Posted Image
Hamilton - Away 1 point Posted Image
Celtic - Home 1 point Posted Image
Aberdeen - Away 3 points Posted Image
Hearts - Home 1 point Posted Image
Falkirk - Away 1 point Posted Image

Proof you have totaly lost your marbles. Posted Image

Attached File  Marbles.jpg (3.12K)
Number of downloads: 5
The older I get, the better I was.

User is offline   div 

View Postfaraway saint, on 07 March 2010 - 20:52, said:

Proof you have totaly lost your marbles. Posted Image

Attachment Marbles.jpg

Only time will tell. I'd much rather be optimistic than be a permanent prophet of doom. Life is too short.

User is offline   div 

View Postbillyg, on 07 March 2010 - 19:56, said:

Yeah ! :blink:

Yeah !

Are you joining us at Hampden ?

User is offline   davidg 

• Toon Army

View Postdiv, on 07 March 2010 - 21:23, said:

Only time will tell. I'd much rather be optimistic than be a permanent prophet of doom. Life is too short.

I'd say my predictions for our results are pretty realistic with our recent league form.
Looking at the fixtures I'm sure we will extend the gap but drop to below Hamilton, that's me being optimistic. :P
Über alles in der Welt
Brüderlich zusammen hält
Über alles in der Welt

User is offline   faraway saint 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
  • Top Man:Michael Higdon

Well, that's pish, I am certainly not that, but, unlike you, I am being realistic.

As you say, time will tell, if your right, you should make a fortune from a certain Mr William Hill. Posted Image
The older I get, the better I was.

User is offline   HSS 

• PAISLEYS No1 SLIPPER WEARER AND TAXI DRIVER
  • Top Man:Danny Lennon
St Mirren

Hamilton - Away3 point
Celtic - Home 0 points
Aberdeen - Away 0 points
Hearts - Home 1 point
Falkirk - Away 3 point

Hamilton

St Mirren - Home 0 point
Falkirk - Home 1points
Killie - Away 0 point
Rangers - Away 0 points
Hibs - Home 0 point

Falkirk

St Johnstone - Home 3 point
Hamilton - Away 1 point
St Johnstone - Away 1 point
Hibs - Home 0 points
St Mirren - Home 0 point

St Mirren 31 points
Hamilton 25
F*lki*k 25
I'd rather shag a bucket with a big hole in it,than be a M*rt*n fan for just one minute.

User is offline   billyg 

Yeah !

Are you joining us at Hampden ?

I'll decide after Saturday ! There's certainly nothing happened in recent weeks that would make me want to share a stadium with our scum bethern !

Back in the day div , I was first in the queue for tickets for the buses to Fulham , Bristol , Bolton etc. I would love to have seen your over exhuberant predictions back then on the basis of our abilities ! World Club Champions perhaps? :D

User is offline   billyg 

St Mirren
Motherwell - Home 0 points
Hamilton - Away 0 points
Celtic - Home 0 points
Aberdeen - Away 0 points
Hearts - Home 3 points
Falkirk - Away 1 point

Hamilton

St Mirren - Home 3 points
Falkirk - Home 1 point
Killie - Away 0 point
Rangers - Away 0 points
Hibs - Home 1 point

Falkirk

St Johnstone - Home 3 points
Hamilton - Away 1 point
St Johnstone - Away 0 points
Hibs - Home 1 point
St Mirren - Home 1 point

Accies 29

St Mirren 27

Falkirk 26

User is offline   div 

View Postbillyg, on 07 March 2010 - 22:56, said:

I'll decide after Saturday ! There's certainly nothing happened in recent weeks that would make me want to share a stadium with our scum bethern !

That is one of the saddest things I've read on here in a long time.

User is offline   billyg 

View Postdiv, on 07 March 2010 - 23:08, said:

That is one of the saddest things I've read on here in a long time.

Aye div , if we were playing Stranraer away in two weeks time I would have already made my arrangements for the game. As it is , my brother , my daughter and my two sons , all former ST holders , have yet to decide if they're going !

User is offline   Bobby_F 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
Sadly, I think Div’s predictions are the least likely to be true. Somehow I just cannot see us going six games without defeat.

Especially with Jack Ross and Chris Innes looking likely to be absent for most of that period.

I am an optimist by nature, and still believe that in the end we will stay up relatively comfortably ... at least in comparison to last season :D
Keep the WB B&W

User is offline   Bobby_F 

• Panel Pundit on SKY

View Postbillyg, on 07 March 2010 - 23:20, said:

Aye div , if we were playing Stranraer away in two weeks time I would have already made my arrangements for the game. As it is , my brother , my daughter and my two sons , all former ST holders , have yet to decide if they're going !

Is that because of who the opponents are? Or is it because of their disillusionment with the way things are currently with St Mirren?

Either way, you and they should get their fingers out, get along to the game, and cheer the buds on.

If we want a positive future for our club, we have to be taking a decent support to a national cup final. To do that, given our regular support, we need to be taking every regular attender, every lapsed attender, and any friends and relatives we can press gang into being Saints for the day.

When the players run onto the pitch, I want them to see at least 10,000 to 15,000 people in the Saints area. I don't care that some of them might not have been at a game since 1987, if they swell our support it can only help our chances on the day, and cement our standing as one of the bigger small clubs in Scotland.

I would hate to think that because some fans may be unhappy with certain personnel or happenings at the club at this precise moment, that they would miss out on our first league cup final since 1955.

And for all that some of us try to demean this competition, it's one that we have never won, and have a chance to do so only for the second time in two generations.

Let's try to put all the negativity aside for one day and enjoy something we may not see again for a very long time.
Keep the WB B&W

User is offline   fmckinn 

• Reserve team sub
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Top Man:Paul Gallacher
St Mirren

Hamilton - Away 1 point
Celtic - Home 0 points
Aberdeen - Away 1point
Hearts - Home 1 point