• (2 Pages) +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Craig Thomson Cup final ref

User is offline   Stu 

• Fully supports the "cavalier use of herbicide"
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Special Access
I see from today's papers that Craig Thomson will be the ref for the Cup Final. I seem to remember suggestions on here in the past that he's a Saints fan - or at least from a Saints supporting family?
Visit Mirren Mad the St. Mirren site on the FootyMAD network

User is offline   billyg 

• Eddie Malone Fan Club Secretary
  • Top Man:Darren McGregor

View PostStu, on 09 March 2010 - 09:29, said:

I see from today's papers that Craig Thomson will be the ref for the Cup Final. I seem to remember suggestions on here in the past that he's a Saints fan - or at least from a Saints supporting family?

Yes , and any slim chance we might have had has gone with this appointment ! :angry:
Walking down to Greenhill Road to watch wee Danny's aces

User is offline   faraway saint 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
  • Top Man:Michael Higdon

View Postbillyg, on 09 March 2010 - 09:42, said:

Yes , and any slim chance we might have had has gone with this appointment ! Posted Image

You thought we had a slim chance? Posted Image Get a grip, you'll ruin your reputation. Posted Image
The older I get, the better I was.

User is offline   archie gemmo 

• Youth team regular
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Top Man:Steven Thomson

View PostStu, on 09 March 2010 - 09:29, said:

Yes he is remember seeing him a few years ago at a st johnstone game.

Has never shown bias towards us if anything its a disadvanage as he is trying to hide his roots.

Descent ref could be worse.
St.Mirren 4-0 Celtic

Mowbray your boys have took a hell of a beating!!

User is offline   Bobby_F 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
Was he not recently quoted as saying that he hated refereeing St Mirren?

He's taken charge of 10 St Mirren games, one of which we have won (1-0 against Motherwell in the cup replay last year).

Interestingly in his first seven years as a referee he wasn't given a single St Mirren game. I wonder if the family connection was part of that?

In the season he did first get a Saints game, he refereed us twice - both were 5-1 defeats.

Since then he's had us about as often as any other ref.

He certainly wouldn't have been my first choice of ref for this game.
Keep the WB B&W

User is online   Singapore Saint 

• Baby Crew
  • Pip
Huge Saints fan and to be honest it does go against us.

User is offline   div 

• I'm bald and I know I am
  • Group: The Gaffers
  • Top Man:David Van Zanten

View Postarchie gemmo, on 09 March 2010 - 10:05, said:

Yes he is remember seeing him a few years ago at a st johnstone game.

He has a twin brother who follows Saints, more likely him you saw as I don't think Craig has watched Saints in ages.

User is offline   Toon Saint 

• Bozzer ;>)

View Postdiv, on 09 March 2010 - 11:04, said:

He has a twin brother who follows Saints, more likely him you saw as I don't think Craig has watched Saints in ages.

Get the twin to ref the game & we will win. :clapping :clapping
Saints Are For Life
F*ck The Old Firm Scum

• Panel Pundit on SKY

View PostSingapore Saint, on 09 March 2010 - 10:43, said:

Huge Saints fan and to be honest it does go against us.

If that really is the case, and as a fan he was at some of the Rangers cup games in the early 80s where the bias in the refereeing towards the blue bigots was shocking, then I hope for one game in his career he decides AT LAST to do the much lauded levelling out.

10-0 St Mirren.
Keep the WB B&W

User is offline   archie gemmo 

• Youth team regular
  • PipPipPipPip

View Postdiv, on 09 March 2010 - 11:04, said:

Well you cant blame me for getting that one wrong :P

Dosen't matter who refs the game all Scottish refs are shit.
St.Mirren 4-0 Celtic

Mowbray your boys have took a hell of a beating!!

User is offline   Barry Proudfoot 

• I'm Rick James BITCH
fuck it
Posted Image

By Popular Demand !

User is offline   Stu 

View PostBobby_F, on 09 March 2010 - 10:08, said:

Was he not recently quoted as saying that he hated refereeing St Mirren?

He's taken charge of 10 St Mirren games, one of which we have won (1-0 against Motherwell in the cup replay last year).

Interestingly in his first seven years as a referee he wasn't given a single St Mirren game. I wonder if the family connection was part of that?

In the season he did first get a Saints game, he refereed us twice - both were 5-1 defeats.

Since then he's had us about as often as any other ref.

He certainly wouldn't have been my first choice of ref for this game.

Did he not do the diddy cup semi where we beat Morton and they had a couple of decent penalty shouts turned down?

User is offline   Gary Blues 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
  • Top Man:Gareth Wardlaw
Craig Thomson may see this as his great opportunity to help his team win a major trophy!

Why risk his career for run of the mill league games? He's been saving himself for this opportunity to become a Saints legen forever more and avenge the horrors of the early 80s.

If we win, we could maybe invite Craig along to be included in the team photo with the trophy?
"to be the best without the ball"

• Panel Pundit on SKY

View PostStu, on 09 March 2010 - 13:43, said:

Did he not do the diddy cup semi where we beat Morton and they had a couple of decent penalty shouts turned down?

Not sure. I used soccerbase and it doesn't do really diddy cups :D.
Keep the WB B&W

User is offline   Miss Saint 

• I'm a loveable fruitcake!!!
  • Top Man:Hugh Murray
saints fan who gives us feck all so no different from any other bloody ref - we were never going to get one we were happy with were we?

bring the blue scum on - the cup is ours!!! :D
He may no longer be a saint but JACK ROSS IS STILL A PHWOAR!!!

Flips flops make me smile and stars are guid!

Chunky Munky Mallow - it's not all good yet but it is going to be!!!

User is offline   div 

• I'm bald and I know I am
  • Group: The Gaffers
  • Top Man:David Van Zanten
Hang on a minute.

He has an IDENTICAL TWIN brother, who is a Saints die-hard.

I can feel a cunning plan coming on........................

User is offline   gemmmo 

• Youth team regular
  • PipPipPipPip
his brother is identical they are the exact same

theres no point turning upo for the final he never gives us a thing total joke of an appointment giving a paisley ref the game shoking.

ONLY ONE CANDIDATE FOR ME SHOULD HAVE BEEN IAN BRINES

by far the most improved ref over past year and i love the fact he never bottles giving things against the old firm unlike fud richmond

User is offline   St.Mehmet 

• First team captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
Would have picked Brines, could be worse Eddie Smith
Mon Eh Mirren

• Panel Pundit on SKY

View Postdiv, on 09 March 2010 - 15:36, said:

Hang on a minute.

He has an IDENTICAL TWIN brother, who is a Saints die-hard.

I can feel a cunning plan coming on........................

If only we can find a way of stopping these pesky kids from getting involved...

Attached File  mystery.jpg (42.66K)
Number of downloads: 2

... it might just work!
Keep the WB B&W

User is offline   Stu 

View PostSt.Mehmet, on 09 March 2010 - 16:14, said:

Would have picked Brines, could be worse Eddie Smith

I noticed we haven't had him at all this season and thought this was due to his previous decision making. Then I discovered he's been injured :rolleyes:

Share this topic:

• (2 Pages) +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users