• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Have we lost the stripes?

User is offline   Mainstand Sweary Mob 

• Youth team sub
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Top Man:David Barron
Sorry if this has been raised somewhere else!

I was just wondering if anyone knows why at the Accies game (where they were wearing bright orange) and the Motherwell game last night (they were wearing their home yellow/gold top) that we were wearing our away black top?!

You can't say they are too similar to Accies away top or 'well home or away top.
You can't say its too similar to the ref's kit as surely if the ref was in black then our away top would be too similar (but they have that bright yellow option too).

Have the home kits been
half inched?
shrunk in the wash so would only fit Dargo?
Fallen apart?

Or is this them thinking as we have such a rubbish home record and the away one is slightly better that we will wear the away top at home games?!

Answers on a postcard please.
"F*%kin' FFFFORWARRDDD! F*%kin' get the F*%kin' ball F*%kin' forward for F*%k sake"
If you hear this from the mainstand......that's me! Pitty the people sitting round me and feel my pain.

Football Tourette's. It's a F*%kin' curse!

User is offline   paulsmfc 

• First team sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostMainstand Sweary Mob, on 10 March 2010 - 11:38, said:

Sorry if this has been raised somewhere else!

I was just wondering if anyone knows why at the Accies game (where they were wearing bright orange) and the Motherwell game last night (they were wearing their home yellow/gold top) that we were wearing our away black top?!

You can't say they are too similar to Accies away top or 'well home or away top.
You can't say its too similar to the ref's kit as surely if the ref was in black then our away top would be too similar (but they have that bright yellow option too).

Have the home kits been
half inched?
shrunk in the wash so would only fit Dargo?
Fallen apart?

Or is this them thinking as we have such a rubbish home record and the away one is slightly better that we will wear the away top at home games?!

Answers on a postcard please.

I wondered the same thing against accies .... then i assumed it was because their kit had white shorts and socks so we wore our black to avoid any problems.

against motherwell tho?? i have no idea.

User is offline   RussellV1 

• Reserve team sub
  • PipPipPipPipPip
We wore the home kit at Ibrox, so it's not been nicked or anything like that

• Youth team sub
  • PipPipPip

View PostRussellV1, on 10 March 2010 - 12:05, said:

Okay so we have eliminated it being stolen, but we are now wearing the home kit away to rangers and the away kit at home when there is no chance it could of clashed with Motherwell's home or away top.

Just seems odd to me that's all.
"F*%kin' FFFFORWARRDDD! F*%kin' get the F*%kin' ball F*%kin' forward for F*%k sake"
If you hear this from the mainstand......that's me! Pitty the people sitting round me and feel my pain.

User is offline   windae cleaner 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Special Access
  • Top Man:John Potter

View PostRussellV1, on 10 March 2010 - 12:05, said:

Hasn't been washed from Saturday?

User is offline   billyg 

• Eddie Malone Fan Club Secretary
  • Top Man:Darren McGregor
Getting "Scottish League Cup Final 2009/10" stitched onto the badge cos the miserable BOD won't purchase a new set of jerseys !
Walking down to Greenhill Road to watch wee Danny's aces

User is offline   bluto 

• Panel Pundit on Radio 4
Apart from it being a money-grabbing from sartorially-challenged fans exercise, since when did it... er... change from being the team kit with a simple change kit, if needed...
...to a straight home and away kit? :unsure:

And why? (apart from ripping off the fans....)
Is there another reason?
'As intelligence goes up, happiness often goes down.
Look, I made a graph. I make a lot of graphs'

User is offline   div 

• I'm bald and I know I am
  • Group: The Gaffers
  • Top Man:David Van Zanten

View PostMainstand Sweary Mob, on 10 March 2010 - 11:38, said:

Our home record this season is much better than our away record. Of the 24 points we've won to date, 17 have been at St.Mirren Park with just 7 points on the road.

We've lost fewer games at home than anyone else in the bottom six :o

Another odd slant on those stats is that we have drawn the most number of games (8) at home in the entire SPL, and we have also drawn the fewest number of games away from home (1) in the entire division.

So there you go.

User is offline   The Sandman 

Who cares, both strips are rancid..................

It's the inclusion of the rather camp gold that's to blame for everthing (well that and little useless).................

Get the 3rd colour back to red or bin it altogether..................................

Man City, Engerland and many Greaseball clubs are moving back to old school kit styling, let's hope we do soon............

Get stripes on the back of the shirt and

BRING BACK RED NUMBERS.............
Posted Imagedaft deep ants.......................

User is offline   Gareth_Glasgow 

• First team captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Top Man:Ally Love

View PostThe Sandman, on 10 March 2010 - 14:22, said:

Get stripes on the back of the shirt and

BRING BACK RED NUMBERS.............

Well said Sandman. You can't complain about red numbers on a striped shirt compared to the Green Bigot bumblebee shite strip.

User is offline   scottd 

• Stop..............Hammertime!
  • Top Man:Gareth Wardlaw

View Postdiv, on 10 March 2010 - 14:16, said:

Our home record this season is much better than our away record. Of the 24 points we've won to date, 17 have been at St.Mirren Park with just 7 points on the road.

Another odd slant on those stats is that we have drawn the most number of games (8) at home in the entire SPL, and we have also drawn the fewest number of games away from home (1) in the entire division.

So there you go.

And have also picked up the least points away from home of any team in the SPL.
Stewart Gilmour - Legend.

User is offline   St. Sid 

• Anne Diamonds Virtual Chiropodist
  • Top Man:Hugh Murray
It is actually a wee bit of humour from the club as the players reckon the support of the crowd at home is so shite it feels like an away game. :P
Never Mind the f**kshitcuntybollox!

• Youth team sub
  • PipPipPip

So there you go.

I wasn't trying to say it was a fact that we were rubbish at home and better away. I was just putting out there what the reason might be.

As why not wear the home top in our HOME games?

User is offline   Sunny Saint 

• First team captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

So there you go.

And there's exactly our problem. Not one mention of a game we've won anywhere. Do you give the team talks on a Saturday? <_<

Funnily enough, most supporters want to go and watch football and cheer their team on to 'win' games. Not to draw, or get beat. At the very least, can we not expect an attempt from both our players and manager to win a game? Because we don't get that at the moment.

• Youth team sub
  • PipPipPip

View PostSunny Saint, on 10 March 2010 - 16:44, said:

And there's exactly our problem. Not one mention of a game we've won anywhere. Do you give the team talks on a Saturday? <_<

Funnily enough, most supporters want to go and watch football and cheer their team on to 'win' games. Not to draw, or get beat. At the very least, can we not expect an attempt from both our players and manager to win a game? Because we don't get that at the moment.

Div you and your fracking stats! :rolleyes:

I started this topic as I am clueless to the fact why, when our home top would clearly not clash with Accies away and any of Motherwell's kits, that we have been wearing the away kit at home games. I then added in what could have been real reasons as to why the stripes have gone, to then be advised that they had not been stolen as they were wearing the home kit against rangers.

I thought as so many people on here claim to have insider information, that someone might clear this up for us all as it does seem confusing.

NOW WITH YOU BLOOMING ADDING IN YOUR STATS (to prove something I wrote wrong and using actual facts to do so) YOU HAVE MADE THIS IN TO ANOTHER TOPIC WHERE PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT OTHER STUFF AND GOING OFF TOPIC AND NOT ANSWERING MY QUESTION!!!! :wink:

Shame on you Div! I hope you learn your lesson!

This post has been edited by Mainstand Sweary Mob: 10 March 2010 - 17:10

User is offline   ktf 

• Reserve team sub
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Top Man:Danny Lennon
i wondered the same last night too - however, i think we are missing the point a bit in that, although they are named 'home' and 'away' strips, the purpose of them isn't to play in the 'home' kit at home and the 'away' kit away, but to give an alternative strip to wear when there could be a clash of both teams' strips.

The ref was a total diddy last night and so might have insisted that one of the teams wear a different strip because he felt the two light colours (white and amber) were a clash under the floodlights, and maybe M'well only brought their 'home' strip, not anticipating that to be a problem. And so wee put our away one on. Or another derivation of a similar story - who knows what the reason was.

If you watch any football on the TV, you'll see loads of teams wearing their 'away' strip at home matches and vice versa. t'is just the way of the world...

I like the black one better anyway!
Keep the doctor away...!

User is offline   pozbaird 

• First team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
Could be that the club are contractually obligated in the Hummel deal to wear the away kit a specified number of times. I've certainly seen Hibs wearing their all-white kit in plenty of games where their home kit wouldn't clash with the opposition.

Black & white stripes, all-black, all-red...couldn't give a monkey's what we wear. It's of no real concern when no matter what outfit we wear, we cannae' score, cannae' win.... I'd bring back the bib strip if it came with a 3 point guarantee at least some of the time.

User is offline   davidg 

• Toon Army
  • Group: Board Mod

View Postpozbaird, on 10 March 2010 - 17:42, said:

Could be that the club are contractually obligated in the Hummel deal to wear the away kit a specified number of times. I've certainly seen Hibs wearing their all-white kit in plenty of games where their home kit wouldn't clash with the opposition.

Nothing to do with this.

Gus is very superstitious and wanted to try something different, something that may bring them a bit of good luck.

They had planned to wear the home kit at the Hamilton game the other week and changed their mind.
Only trouble is they can only request to use the away kit 4 times at home in the season.
Deutschland, Deutschland über alles
Über alles in der Welt
Wenn es stehte zun Schutz und Trutze
Brüderlich zusammen hält
Von der Maas bis an die Memel
Von der Etsch bis an den Belt
Deutschland, Deutschland über alles
Über alles in der Welt

User is online   farmer john 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
I think Sandman is absolutely right about the strips.

Our strips should be predominately black with whit stripes, black shorts and socks too. I feel so much white makes us look wishy washy and weak.

Get back to stripes all over and down the back and big bold RED numbers. Then we will start scoring and winning games...oh aye.

And I mean that, I'm no just saying that :wink: :P
Usain says

Click right here

.................... Posted Image Come Rent FJ's Holiday Flat

Posted Image naw laughing noo..Bitey and Cougar ate my Grampa :(

User is offline   St. Sid 

• Anne Diamonds Virtual Chiropodist
  • Top Man:Hugh Murray

View Postdavidg, on 10 March 2010 - 19:11, said:

Gus is very superstitious and wanted to try something different, something that may bring them a bit of good luck.

No harm in that, perhaps we could get campbell dressed up in an orange robe, squatting at the tunnel at Hampden. Gus and the team can all rub his belly on the way onto the pitch. :P
Never Mind the f**kshitcuntybollox!

Share this topic:

• (2 Pages) +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users