• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

players negativity

User is offline   ronaldo 

• Youth team sub
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Top Man:Hugh Murray
before anyone thinks this is a slagging or personal attack on players mentioned later i want to say i felt the team were brilliant today we just ran out of gas and with other results it would have been a result we would have taken before kick so we need to try be positive about that.

you couldn't fault the work and effort which is a boost after the shite from last week, but watching on BBC Alba tonight just after Dorman scored Steve o'Donnell turned round and said "keep it tight". that goes without saying but he should have turned round and said to keep going and kill the fakes off. thay were against the ropes and our player had the opinion of sitting back and sticking.

We haven't had a clean sheet away for 19 odd games so instead of trying to do something we can't , the players should have been sticking it right up them and going for another goal.

like i said it isn't personal to steve o'Donnell but it showed the fragile mentality of our team.

if we repeat todays performance in the next 4 games we will be fine.

killie are terrible away and will struggle but we need to be more positive when we are infront of teams, especially of it is the same next week

User is offline   whydowebother 

• Youth team regular
  • PipPipPipPip
Maybe our management can read the game as well as the fans & say ,.............. maybe make the odd tactical substitution ??

User is offline   gudmunder 

• First team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Special Access
  • Top Man:Paul Gallacher
O'Donnell was simply following the managers instructions. "Keep it tight" translated means let's play our usual dour, negative defensive system and strangle the entertainment value out of the game......oh aye, and try and nick a point or two along the way :ph34r:

User is offline   bonnyrigg saint 

• Youth team sub
  • PipPipPip

View Postgudmunder, on 18 April 2010 - 11:30, said:

O'Donnell was simply following the managers instructions. "Keep it tight" translated means let's play our usual dour, negative defensive system and strangle the entertainment value out of the game......oh aye, and try and nick a point or two along the way :ph34r:

I didn't see a negative performance from any of the players yesterday. They got forward whenever they could and scored to goals, what's defensive about that??? I think what O'Donnell was aying would be the same for any player in any team, in other words 'keep it tight'. Unless you're suggesting that we don't do that and leave ourselves even more wide open ? Can't see the sense in that myself. We didn't try to 'nick' anything yesterday, we tried to go out, be positive and win the game. If anything, St Johnston 'nicked' a point.

The game wasn't dour, it wasn't defensive and we didn't strangle the entertainment value, quite the opposite I thought. I think the majority of those that were there yesterday would have seen it that way, I might be wrong but it was better than most of the games we've seen this year.

User is offline   toon saint too 

• Ball Boy
  • PipPip
[ I think what O'Donnell was aying would be the same for any player in any team, in other words 'keep it tight'.

`keepieng it tight` didnt stop us losing 2 goals, al beit, 2 cheated goals, but, what i want to know is if it was deliberate hand ball for the penalty, why wasnt the man sent off?

User is offline   lovestreet 

• Panel Pundit on SKY
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View Posttoon saint too, on 18 April 2010 - 13:00, said:

[ I think what O'Donnell was aying would be the same for any player in any team, in other words 'keep it tight'.

`keepieng it tight` didnt stop us losing 2 goals, al beit, 2 cheated goals, but, what i want to know is if it was deliberate hand ball for the penalty, why wasnt the man sent off?

If the ref didn't think it was deliberate then he wouldn't have given a penalty player shouldve then got a red card...that aside to lose two goals in the last ten minutes is shambolic.
MO MO SUPER MO

• Youth team sub
  • PipPipPip

View Postlovestreet, on 18 April 2010 - 13:28, said:

If the ref didn't think it was deliberate then he wouldn't have given a penalty player shouldve then got a red card...that aside to lose two goals in the last ten minutes is shambolic.

I think it was agreed that O'Donnell was booked for dissent. It appears the ref and the linesmen knew it was a handball but couldn't agree who the St Mirren player was that actually handled it. That was the problem. So there was no sending off. But there could be repurcussions for O'Donnell if the SFA review it.

User is offline   ronaldo 

• Youth team sub
  • PipPipPip

View Postbonnyrigg saint, on 18 April 2010 - 11:55, said:

I didn't see a negative performance from any of the players yesterday. They got forward whenever they could and scored to goals, what's defensive about that??? I think what O'Donnell was aying would be the same for any player in any team, in other words 'keep it tight'. Unless you're suggesting that we don't do that and leave ourselves even more wide open ? Can't see the sense in that myself. We didn't try to 'nick' anything yesterday, we tried to go out, be positive and win the game. If anything, St Johnston 'nicked' a point.

The game wasn't dour, it wasn't defensive and we didn't strangle the entertainment value, quite the opposite I thought. I think the majority of those that were there yesterday would have seen it that way, I might be wrong but it was better than most of the games we've seen this year.

i agree that the performance was good but the original point i made was the negative mindset that O'Donnell showed. the main reason for the post was basically saying that straight after the 2nd goal went in the first thought was to change how we were playing which in the end cost us 2 points. we done very little going forward after the 2nd goal purely because they wanted to defend it out when everyone knows we aren't strong enough to see games out when on the back foot.

but staying positive, good perormance for majority of the gae and in the end a decent point at what will probably have been the hardest game in the split on paper

User is offline   saltcoatsbuddie 

• Panel Pundit on Radio Clyde
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Top Man:Steven Thomson

View Postbonnyrigg saint, on 18 April 2010 - 13:48, said:

I think it was agreed that O'Donnell was booked for dissent. It appears the ref and the linesmen knew it was a handball but couldn't agree who the St Mirren player was that actually handled it. That was the problem. So there was no sending off. But there could be repurcussions for O'Donnell if the SFA review it.

hope the sfa do review it and ban odonnel for the rest of the season ,shouldnt be anywhere near the spl ,never mind in our 1st team ,total waste of wages

User is offline   northendsaint 

• Panel Pundit on SKY

View Postsaltcoatsbuddie, on 18 April 2010 - 21:01, said:

hope the sfa do review it and ban odonnel for the rest of the season ,shouldnt be anywhere near the spl ,never mind in our 1st team ,total waste of wages

Im assuming you were not at the game as in my opinion O,Donnell played well.Considering it was his first start in yonks and creating the first goal i think he aquitted himself very well indeed.

User is offline   bluto 

• Panel Pundit on Radio 4

View Postronaldo, on 18 April 2010 - 18:38, said:

i agree that the performance was good but the original point i made was the negative mindset that O'Donnell showed. the main reason for the post was basically saying that straight after the 2nd goal went in the first thought was to change how we were playing which in the end cost us 2 points. we done very little going forward after the 2nd goal purely because they wanted to defend it out when everyone knows we aren't strong enough to see games out when on the back foot.

but staying positive, good perormance for majority of the gae and in the end a decent point at what will probably have been the hardest game in the split on paper

It wasn't showing a negative mindset.
It was a POSITIVE demonstration of a professional mindest - one that knickerwetters on here whinge about constantly...

... or hadn't you noticed that StMirren's players have been culpable in the "relaxing after scoring and then leaking of stupid goals" scenario?

O'D was stating the bleeding obvious, exhorting his team-mates to maintain their concentration... and yet, as ever, so called 'fans', with their in-depth knowledge of the game, find excuse to slag and heckle. :angry:
'As intelligence goes up, happiness often goes down.
Look, I made a graph. I make a lot of graphs'

User is offline   mustangpeksmfc 

• Reserve team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Top Man:David Barron

View Postbluto, on 19 April 2010 - 06:03, said:

It wasn't showing a negative mindset.
It was a POSITIVE demonstration of a professional mindest - one that knickerwetters on here whinge about constantly...

... or hadn't you noticed that StMirren's players have been culpable in the "relaxing after scoring and then leaking of stupid goals" scenario?

O'D was stating the bleeding obvious, exhorting his team-mates to maintain their concentration... and yet, as ever, so called 'fans', with their in-depth knowledge of the game, find excuse to slag and heckle. :angry:

Seems you also have problems like v when it comes to English and spelling!

Whats mindest then? lol

Does other fans who want Gus sacked or are unhappy justify your torrent of trash?

NO!

Seriously you sound like a Gus butt kisser to me, open your eyes and realise that wee baldy is a poor manager who should have been sacked by now!

You like that word knickerwetter dont you? Do you wear nappies with your current 'problem' lol

User is offline   bluto 

• Panel Pundit on Radio 4

View Postmustangpeksmfc, on 19 April 2010 - 06:45, said:

Seems you also have problems like v when it comes to English and spelling!

Pot, kettle, arse.
'As intelligence goes up, happiness often goes down.
Look, I made a graph. I make a lot of graphs'

User is offline   mustangpeksmfc 

• Reserve team regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Top Man:David Barron

View Postbluto, on 19 April 2010 - 07:02, said:

Pot, kettle, arse.

Truth hurts lol

User is offline   St. Sid 

• Anne Diamonds Virtual Chiropodist
Seeing as Mustangsally's negativity is much greater than that of the players does that make him a diddy division supporter. :P
Never Mind the f**kshitcuntybollox!

User is offline   Scabby Dug 

• First team sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View Postbonnyrigg saint, on 18 April 2010 - 13:48, said:

They don't usually review a yellow card. Indeed they only review a red card if if the club appeals, or there is violent conduct missed by the ref. O'Donnell played very well on Saturday until he tired slightly near the end of the game. I was surprised when I saw he was starting, but, overall, I was happy with the display.

This post has been edited by Scabby Dug: 19 April 2010 - 11:53

User is offline   spirit of 77 

• Panel Pundit on Radio Clyde
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View Postronaldo, on 18 April 2010 - 18:38, said:

That's right, keep talking it up. Soon everyone will believe that Saturday was a milestone acheivement.
Gus must stay gone.

User is offline   spankin_panda 

• Panel Pundit on SKY

View Postnorthendsaint, on 19 April 2010 - 05:26, said:

Im assuming you were not at the game as in my opinion O,Donnell played well.Considering it was his first start in yonks and creating the first goal i think he aquitted himself very well indeed.

Yea, agree, he played well an d did do well to creaete the goal.
Saint Mirren Till I Die!!!!

User is offline   Bud the Baker 

• Only 92% of my posts are garbage!
Down at Blackpool for the weekend so initially I was delighted at gaining a point over Falkirk & Killie altho' I was a bit miffed when I found out we gave away a two goal lead. After watching the match on Alba I see it as two points thrown away by the management.

Don't necessarily see O'Donnell saying "keep it tight" as being negative - many teams concede just after scoring. As I see it the players did their jobs for about 80 minutes. As other posters have said elsewhere the management should have brought on Higdon on (to waste time) and especially for defensive set pieces as this looked like the only way they were going to score.

Still we're better of than we were before the game and (marginally) the best placed of the three relegation candidates. Like I said elsewhere it's a different ball game (sic) post-split.

Time to look out the incontinence pants for the Killie game!

Come on you Saints!

Vendettas are for Life.

• Youth team sub
  • PipPipPip

View Postsaltcoatsbuddie, on 18 April 2010 - 21:01, said:

I have to say I thought O'Donnell played well. He was the driving force for the first goal and set it up for Carey, so he made a contribution. I think he deserves a bit of credit for that. He was keen to get forward and try to go past defenders and he managed it a few times especially in the first half. That's just my opinion, maybe you saw it another way, but for his part in the goal I think he gets pass marks.

Share this topic:

• (2 Pages) +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users