• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

aldo_j

aldo_j

Reserve team regular

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts
Perhaps I'm thinking of someone else but....when Carey was with us first time around has he not pretty handy at long throws?

A few times when he was on today we had throws ins where a long throw in to the box would have presented danger, but Carey gave it up to Tess to take a short throw.

Paisley_Saint1995

Youth team regular

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Top Man:Aaron Mooy

View Postaldo_j, on 04 February 2012 - 22:40, said:

Perhaps I'm thinking of someone else but....when Carey was with us first time around has he not pretty handy at long throws?

A few times when he was on today we had throws ins where a long throw in to the box would have presented danger, but Carey gave it up to Tess to take a short throw.
youre right he was pretty good at long throws when he was with us first time, thats why i always wonder why he isnt taking a couple just to get them into the box

smtidcz

smtidcz

Youth team regular

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Top Man:Tommy Craig
To be fair to Carey, we played a lot better after he came on. Him and Thompson for man of the match surely. On the long throw ins subject - I thought Tess could throw them long too?

RickMcD

RickMcD

International Captain

• Special Access
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 910 posts
  • Top Man:Jim Goodwin

View Postaldo_j, on 04 February 2012 - 22:40, said:

I've always thought someone with a long throw is a great addition to any team's armoury. The problem is in a team that seems to be almost forbidden to play a long ball, a long throw is regarded as much the same. It's 50/50 whether you retain possession wheres the short throw or five yard pass usually finds your teammate. St. Mirren's predictability is a weakness this season.

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,457 posts
  • Top Man:Danny Lennon

View Postsmtidcz, on 05 February 2012 - 01:08, said:

To be fair to Carey, we played a lot better after he came on. Him and Thompson for man of the match surely. On the long throw ins subject - I thought Tess could throw them long too?

A " man of the match " in red and black.

Posted Image Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Carey cannae get the ball behind his big head to take a throw in.
40 Part Time Clubs and

Scottish Football will live happily ever after.

The Silent Majority

SFA Hall of Fame

• Special Access
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,117 posts
  • Top Man:Paul McGowan

View PostRickMcD, on 05 February 2012 - 07:09, said:

I've always thought someone with a long throw is a great addition to any team's armoury. The problem is in a team that seems to be almost forbidden to play a long ball, a long throw is regarded as much the same. It's 50/50 whether you retain possession wheres the short throw or five yard pass usually finds your teammate. St. Mirren's predictability is a weakness this season.

You've hit the nail on the head.

Lennon & Craig's priority is "playing the game the right way" when the priority should be winning games.

Its not only long throws, we regularly take short free kicks when the opportunity is there to get the big men in the box and get the free kick into the box. But oh no, god forbid.... that wouldn't be "playing the game the right way".

Things won't improve until we get shot of this pair of clowns.

View Postim_your_gran, on 26 March 2012 - 20:33, said:

if a team finishes 3rd with 80 points , then the next season win the league with 75 points the first season is more succesful

windae cleaner

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 5,450 posts

View PostThe Silent Majority, on 05 February 2012 - 14:49, said:

You've hit the nail on the head.

Lennon & Craig's priority is "playing the game the right way" when the priority should be winning games.

Its not only long throws, we regularly take short free kicks when the opportunity is there to get the big men in the box and get the free kick into the box. But oh no, god forbid.... that wouldn't be "playing the game the right way".

Things won't improve until we get shot of this pair of clowns.
What big men, still have the smallest team in the league

BoWSaint

BoWSaint

Digger of holes

• Special Access
  • 2,300 posts
  • Top Man:The Thommohawk
Jeroen had a couple of pretty long throws on Saturday in the first half that I noticed and I was wondering why we don't get some of these put straight into the box.
--- 668 The Neighbour of the Beast ---

Lex

Lex

First team captain

• Special Access
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 634 posts
Yep, Careys long throw is a fantastic asset, especially when you have a target man of the calibre of Steven Thompson to aim at.

Amazingly, the club management have decided we shouldn't utilise it.

Instead Tess or Vanzy take a short throw and we pass pass pass pass...Then we wonder why we don't score enough goals?  Posted Image
Now I Know Why You Wanna Hate Me

View Postshull, on 16 January 2012 - 15:51, said:

We, being supporters of the famous St Mirren, will accept defeat with our usual dignity.

smfc1877

smfc1877

International Captain

• Special Access
  • 910 posts

View PostRickMcD, on 05 February 2012 - 07:09, said:

St. Mirren's predictability is a weakness this season.

That is probably the reason we had a strong start and are now in a bit of a slump. After the first 5/6 games teams had sussed us out as we don't really have a Plan B.

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 22,457 posts
  • Top Man:Danny Lennon
Don't tell Carey he's got a fantastic throw forfuxsake.

He'll be wearing yellow gloves next week tae match his Jessie Boots.
40 Part Time Clubs and

Scottish Football will live happily ever after.

Eddy

Eddy

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 1,972 posts
  • Top Man:Hugh Murray
Carey picked up a back injury during the draw with United earlier in the season so it's possible this is why he's not taking the long throws.

spirit of 77

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 1,892 posts

View PostLex, on 05 February 2012 - 22:21, said:

Yep, Careys long throw is a fantastic asset, especially when you have a target man of the calibre of Steven Thompson to aim at.

Amazingly, the club management have decided we shouldn't utilise it.

You know this for sure?  i doubt it

Instead Tess or Vanzy take a short throw and we pass pass pass pass...Then we wonder why we don't score enough goals?  Posted Image

yes, it is quite clearly the lack of long throws that has been our undoing this year, almost every goal ever scored has been the direct result of a long throw-in.  That is the way to win leagues and cups.
Gus must stay gone.

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 16,509 posts
  • Top Man:Gary Teale

View Postspirit of 77, on 06 February 2012 - 12:38, said:

yes, it is quite clearly the lack of long throws that has been our undoing this year, almost every goal ever scored has been the direct result of a long throw-in.  That is the way to win leagues and cups.

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

It's all the rage, well, in Stoke.
The older I get, the better I was.

RickMcD

RickMcD

International Captain

• Special Access
  • 910 posts
  • Top Man:Jim Goodwin

View Postspirit of 77, on 06 February 2012 - 12:38, said:

Nobody suggested long throws are the be-all and end-all in football. It's a useful way of causing panic in some defences and maybe we could pick out Thompson now and again. We're not all that good at it with our feet, Saturday excepted.

Unter Den Linden

Baby Crew

• Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
A long throw high up the pitch is an opportunity to put the ball into the penalty area that can cause the other team problems. By taking a short throw high up the pitch you are then trying to pass the ball around to try to work an opening to do much the same thing. It is daft not to use Carey's long throw at least some of the time.

spirit of 77

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 1,892 posts
It seems that the long throw in's greatest value is as a club for dummies to try and beat the manager and coaches with
Gus must stay gone.

St. Sid

St. Sid

YOUR FUTURE PRESIDENT!!!!!!!

• Special Access
  • 15,939 posts
  • Top Man:Hugh Murray

View Postfaraway saint, on 06 February 2012 - 12:41, said:

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

It's all the rage, well, in Stoke.
Stoke have made their pitch smaller to deploy that tactic....bit of a reddy for them when they played in Europe though, when you could see the two lines when they had to comply with UEFA pitch size limits.
Never Mind the f**kshitcuntybollox!

The Silent Majority

SFA Hall of Fame

• Special Access
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,117 posts
  • Top Man:Paul McGowan
When you have a player who can deliver genuine long throws into the box - something of a rarity - and you fail to utilise it because it goes against the priority of "playing the game the right way" then the fans have every right to use it as a club to beat the manager with.

Its not just the long throws, its set plays in general where Lennon prefers a short set play to just getting the ball in the box.

Its time Lennon & Craig for to go. Neither of them know what they are doing.

View Postim_your_gran, on 26 March 2012 - 20:33, said:

if a team finishes 3rd with 80 points , then the next season win the league with 75 points the first season is more succesful

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 16,509 posts
  • Top Man:Gary Teale

View PostThe Silent Majority, on 06 February 2012 - 20:48, said:

When you have a player who can deliver genuine long throws into the box - something of a rarity - and you fail to utilise it because it goes against the priority of "playing the game the right way" then the fans have every right to use it as a club to beat the manager with.

Its not just the long throws, its set plays in general where Lennon prefers a short set play to just getting the ball in the box.

Its time Lennon & Craig for to go. Neither of them know what they are doing.

Yes I do copy and paste all my posts, it saves time. Posted Image

Aye, keep it up, your no boring at all................................Posted Image Posted ImagePosted Image

Edited by faraway saint, 06 February 2012 - 20:58.

The older I get, the better I was.

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users