Welcome to virtual west bank
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Britain From Above Archive - Love Street Stadium 1927

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

weejobby

weejobby

Youth team sub

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts
Saw a link to this archive on the BBC website - amazing!

http://www.britainfr...image/spw019488

Edited by weejobby, 25 June 2012 - 22:39.

• shull, Drew, Vambo57 and 2 others like this
Some people call me thingmy...

Drew

Drew

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,596 posts
  • Top Man:The Thommohawk
Superb - I think I can see Pozbaird leaving the Cosmo Chippy.

Edited by Drew, 25 June 2012 - 22:43.

• class of 76-77 likes this
DID I JUMP...OR WAS I PISHED???

Sunny Saint

Sunny Saint

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 2,587 posts
Great photo - what a fantastic place that would have been to watch football. Remarkable that that wee stand stood the tests of time right till the end. Still makes me sad to see it but thanks for posting.

Dirty Sanchez

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 4,356 posts
To the south of the stand almost every building is still there. To the north, almost nothing is still standing.

Posted Image

Julian Banjos

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 3,148 posts
  • Top Man:Paul McGowan
It is incredible to think about people watching games there. It just looks like a football pitch has been put down in the middle of a crater.

Vambo57

Vambo57

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 2,018 posts
  • Top Man:Darren McGregor
Nice wan John!
Cheers Fur Noo!
To the tune of Anarchy in the UK:
I am a Paisley Man, I am a St.Mirren Fan
I know what I am and I'll never forget it
Cos I'LL ALWAYS BE, A PAISLEY BUDDIE, and I'll always be SMFC

weejobby

weejobby

Youth team sub

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts
A few other footy images:

Hampden - http://www.britainfr...image/spw019491

Ibrox - http://www.britainfr...image/spw019494 - although the way things are going doon the road it'll end up looking like that again before too long... Posted Image

weejobby

weejobby

Youth team sub

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts

It is incredible to think about people watching games there. It just looks like a football pitch has been put down in the middle of a crater.

I know, and where's the, erm, toilet? Posted Image

bluto

bluto

Panel Pundit on Radio 4

• Special Access
  • 9,460 posts
  • Top Man:Jon McGinn
Archive? Archive?
That's still how I have these venues stored in my mental repository!

There were a few irrelevant accretions (such as lavvies) down the years, but fundamentally...
'As intelligence goes up, happiness often goes down.
Look, I made a graph. I make a lot of graphs'

www.londonsaints.org.uk

RickMcD

RickMcD

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 2,297 posts
  • Top Man:Kenny McLean
Great photo of Love Street. Amazingly clear photo bearing in mind how old it is and the fact it was aerial. The one of Ibrox isn't bad either for it gives me a better idea of how many apartment blocks can be built there now.
  • Eddy, Gordon, bluto and 2 others like this

beyond our ken

First team sub

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
if you look closely at the photo of Princes St in 1947, you make out the erection of the first barriers for the trams project
  • bluto, weejobby and insaintee like this

thepaisleypanda

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 1,900 posts
Interesting to see the turnstyles at Love Street were still the ones we were using till a couple of years ago.

reminded me of the 70s/ 80s - if you wanted to go to the stand / enclosure, you had to enter the "GROUND" as normal, then pay a couple of bob extra to "TRANSFER" to the stand / enclosure. - I had forgotten about that!
Political correctness is....politically incorrect!!

RickMcD

RickMcD

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 2,297 posts
  • Top Man:Kenny McLean

I know, and where's the, erm, toilet? Posted Image

Toilets were for pansies back then. Even until well into the sixties a lot of guys let flow where they stood. If like me you were a North Banker, you pee'd on the slope at the back facing the tenements on Springbank Road. The good ladies of said thoroughfare had a great time trying to spot the biguns.

Had to look up Bluto's word 'accretion'. i must have been asleep when the teacher explained that one. I thought he had got mixed up with 'excretion'. That would have fitted better.

Julian Banjos

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 3,148 posts
  • Top Man:Paul McGowan
Another old one in Ayr (Beresford Park): http://www.britainfr...arch=ayr&ref=10

It's right beside the main train station and is now a cinema. Belonged to one of the defunct Ayr clubs who later amalgamated to become Ayr United.
  • weejobby likes this

Gordon

Gordon

First team captain

• Special Access
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 634 posts

Wasn't the capacity around 50,000 then?!

insaintee

insaintee

Stuart Gilmour's Legal advisor

• Special Access
  • 5,236 posts
  • Top Man:David Van Zanten
Just for info. Highburgh was converted into about 800 flats. Ibrox is a bit bigger and has the carparking round it.

slapamythighs

Reserve team regular

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 299 posts
  • Top Man:Guni Torfason

Saw a link to this archive on the BBC website - amazing!

http://www.britainfr...image/spw019488

thats ma auld hoose,next to the ropeworks at the caladonia end
my brain hurts,,

weejobby

weejobby

Youth team sub

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts

Nice wan John!

Thought you would like it Col as it must bring back memories, cause is that no you cycling doon Albion St on yer way to school?

...meeehhh! Posted Image

Vambo57

Vambo57

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 2,018 posts
  • Top Man:Darren McGregor

Thought you would like it Col as it must bring back memories, cause is that no you cycling doon Albion St on yer way to school?

...meeehhh! Posted Image

Mibbes mah Grandfaither John!

Widnae be me anyway as I was a serial dogger. Mair likely be up the braes wey Davie McSkimming ridin bareback. Ooooerrr missus!
Cheers Fur Noo!
To the tune of Anarchy in the UK:
I am a Paisley Man, I am a St.Mirren Fan
I know what I am and I'll never forget it
Cos I'LL ALWAYS BE, A PAISLEY BUDDIE, and I'll always be SMFC

weejobby

weejobby

Youth team sub

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts

Widnae be me anyway as I was a serial dogger. Mair likely be up the braes wey Davie McSkimming ridin bareback. Ooooerrr missus!

Ahh! So that's what was meant by "doggin' it aff school" ! You see I was a good boy, I never dogged it, what a sheltered life .... if only I'd known! Posted Image

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users