Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Lets All Get Real
- Please log in to reply
golfbuddie
Posted 01 July 2012 - 17:41
golfbuddie
-
- Members
-

- 344 posts
Reserve team regular
lets get real St Mirren will struggle over next few months till everyone knows where Newco will play and what will happen to tv deal etc
St Mirren may want and need to see punishment done to newco but we also need Sky to come out and say we still support spl and wont change at least for another season, which would then give all teams chance to balance books and downsize if required
St Mirren are by no way team going to be worst hit, but TV deal and sponsorship which is linked to TV makes up large part of our projected income, I am lead to believe 50-66%
We need to get vote done quickly for SPL and SFL and then Sky to commit, if this can be done all scare mongering may be over but be warned meetings next week at club will say we are in big trouble and need major help to get through season unless players sold or rip up contract otherwise we and many over clubs will also be in administration this season, some before seasons even starts
Hate being profit of doom but also hope as long as SKY ESPN do right thing we should be ok
davidg
Posted 01 July 2012 - 17:48
davidg
-
- Board Mod
-
- 13,173 posts
Panel Pundit on SKY
- Top Man:Paul McGowan
Punishment?St Mirren may want and need to see punishment done to newco
Up the SPL we go
When we get to Europe
This is what we'll sing
We are St Miiren, super St Mirren
Lennon is our King
whydowebother
Posted 01 July 2012 - 17:51
whydowebother
-
- Special Access
-

- 991 posts
International Captain
- Top Man:Darren McGregor
We as fans have a responsibilty though to do our part , make up for any shortfall by attending games - that way the impact will be minimised.
Fans fight back , Fans come back !
This is still a great time to be a buddie
- Dibbles old paperboy likes this
scottd
Posted 01 July 2012 - 18:03
scottd
-
- Special Access
-

- 11,388 posts
Panel Pundit on Radio Free Scotland
- Top Man:Ismael Goncalves

POPULAR
- Stuart Dickson, shull, davidg and 8 others like this
Stuart Dickson
Posted 01 July 2012 - 18:27
Stuart Dickson
-
- Special Access
-

- 5,262 posts
SUPPORT GRASSROOTS FOOTBALL - NOT HOT AIR FILLED VANITY BALLOONS
- Top Man:Guni Torfason
If 'getting real' means allowing Sevco to start anywhere other than division 3 then I won't bother. If Sky pull out then so be it, year zero is approaching and I can't wait.
Yeah - this is my view too although I guess it's easy for me. I certainly won't be going to any SPL matches if the newco are admitted in anything other than 42nd place.
I have to say I have been amazed at the number of posters with an incredibly small number of posts on this website have been coming out over Friday, Saturday and Sunday to tell users that they should pull their cheeks apart and bite down on the pillow. It does make me wonder if what we are seeing is an attempt by a number of club directors to turn opinion what still appears to be consistent with the 10000hours poll results in terms of opinion.
I'm under no illusions at all that tomorrow and Tuesday there is going to be presentations by the Chairman telling shareholders and fans just how f**ked St Mirren will be if Sky do walk away and he'll be telling fans that if they want to see St Mirren in the future they need to back the SPL Chairmans bullying strategy against SFL clubs to ensure Newco make as quick a recovery as possible. I'm not invited. I'm neither a shareholder, a St Mirren supporter, or a season ticket holder but if I was attending those meetings my question to Gilmour would be
- that if the club is so close to administration why the f**k does he think that his shareholding, and that of the consortium, is still worth £2m?
- Why should the members of 10000hours pay the consortium money for a worthless product they could buy at lower cost in a few months from the administrators?
- And why if the consortium members are really keen to protect St Mirren FC why they won't simply hand over the shares for free to 10000hours to allow the CIC to use the £11,000 per month in member subs and the lump sum gathered from whatever sale there was of 77 and 87 memberships as fall back money to help the club through a year without Sky TV.
The good thing is that it appears that there is no desire amongst SFL clubs there appears to be very few Chairmen willing to accept the SPL's bully boy tactics. If that is the case and the SPL do push on with the threat to breakaway I hope the fans, and the governing bodies leave those breakaway clubs out in the cold.
- shull, scottd, Vambo57 and 1 other like this
lovestreet
Posted 01 July 2012 - 19:02
lovestreet
-
- Special Access
-

- 3,953 posts
Panel Pundit on SKY
I know I will contradict myself, there are far to many post about newco spl sfl sky
lets get real St Mirren will struggle over next few months till everyone knows where Newco will play and what will happen to tv deal etc
St Mirren may want and need to see punishment done to newco but we also need Sky to come out and say we still support spl and wont change at least for another season, which would then give all teams chance to balance books and downsize if required
St Mirren are by no way team going to be worst hit, but TV deal and sponsorship which is linked to TV makes up large part of our projected income, I am lead to believe 50-66%
We need to get vote done quickly for SPL and SFL and then Sky to commit, if this can be done all scare mongering may be over but be warned meetings next week at club will say we are in big trouble and need major help to get through season unless players sold or rip up contract otherwise we and many over clubs will also be in administration this season, some before seasons even starts
Hate being profit of doom but also hope as long as SKY ESPN do right thing we should be ok
That hurt.
scottd
Posted 01 July 2012 - 19:43
scottd
-
- Special Access
-

- 11,388 posts

POPULAR
- Griff, bingboy, Mr Zo and 9 others like this
Posted 01 July 2012 - 20:57
-
- Special Access
-

- 29,244 posts
Panel Pundit on SKY
- Top Man:Danny Lennon
This thinly disguised attempt to bully the SFL into accepting Sevco in SFL1 is the long awaited death rattle of those who have destroyed the game in this country. The SPL and its obsession with broadcast revenue was the single worst thing to happen to Scottish football. Those clubs that are now being leant on are mostly the same clubs whom the SPL has shut out of the TV bonanza. If the TV companies pull out the world will continue to turn and football will continue to be played, tragically it may mean the end for mediocre players getting daft salaries.
Scottish Football will live happily ever after.
E=Mc2
Posted 01 July 2012 - 21:55
E=Mc2
-
- Special Access
-

- 2,895 posts
Panel Pundit on SKY
I know I will contradict myself, there are far to many post about newco spl sfl sky
And I think they will.
They have lots of money and would not want to be tarred with bringing down our football.
They will want to look as the saviours of Scottish football.
- Desperately Seeking Susans and Vambo57 like this
ktf
Posted 01 July 2012 - 22:05
ktf
-
- Validating
-

- 2,384 posts
"He was very, very hungry!"
- Top Man:Craig Samson
And I think they will.
They have lots of money and would not want to be tarred with bringing down our football.
They will want to look as the saviours of Scottish football.
Yip Sky/ESPN pulling out would see a massive hit on their subscriptions. They would also forever be known as the companies who brought down Scottish football.
However the legacy they will make for themselves if they stay in will be considerable. I can't see them going, unless the are mental!
All of that is just as well, cos I'm certain the SFL clubs will tell the newco to get tae and require admission to Div 3. But they won't manage it all in time and R*ngers/SevCo/newco misc will not being playing in any any senior league next season.
Edited by ktf, 01 July 2012 - 22:06.
- gazmc83 likes this
Don't use words too big for the subject. Don't say "infinitely" when you mean "very"; otherwise you'll have no word left when you want to talk about something really infinite.
This oor style, this is oor identity, this is oor blueprint - and we'll no change!
Jeremiah Cole
Posted 02 July 2012 - 09:30
Jeremiah Cole
-
- Special Access
-

- 598 posts
First team regular
If 'getting real' means allowing Sevco to start anywhere other than division 3 then I won't bother. If Sky pull out then so be it, year zero is approaching and I can't wait.
^^^^^^^^ this
Completely agree.
The way forward is no Rangers, no Celtic and no Sky TV.
- Reynard likes this
Jeremiah Cole
Posted 02 July 2012 - 09:31
Jeremiah Cole
-
- Special Access
-

- 598 posts
First team regular
If the TV companies pull out the world will continue to turn and football will continue to be played, tragically it may mean the end for mediocre players getting daft salaries.
Again.
On a roll today Scott. A man of wisdom.
Posted 02 July 2012 - 11:42
-
- Special Access
-

- 29,244 posts
Panel Pundit on SKY
Scottish Football will live happily ever after.
somner9
Posted 02 July 2012 - 11:56
somner9
-
- Special Access
-

- 3,476 posts
The Fox In The Box
- Top Man:Jim Goodwin
There will be a deal, some of it will likely's make your stomach turn when you get a waft of it, but for the greater good (teams other than sevco 5088) noses need to be pinched, high horses dis-mounted from, and in the main just feckin getting on with it!
yeah life's hard, then you die! deal with it and let's 'Play Ball'!
(whilst taking every opportunity in letting sevco 5088 and their fans know their only still around because we dragged their sorry asses out of the depths of oblivion)
bluto
Posted 02 July 2012 - 12:06
bluto
-
- Special Access
-

- 9,456 posts
Panel Pundit on Radio 4
- Top Man:Jon McGinn
All that is needed is that the rules be followed. The rules require an applicant that wishes to join Scottish football to submit a business plan, show three years of audited accounts, have sufficient proven funds and players in place and be registered in Scotland. And be selected as best applicant among those put forward. Something that wee diddy clubs such as ICT, Ross County and Annan managed to do - so no great onerous obstacles to be overcome.
Talk of punishment is just mainstream media apologists muddying the waters. The club under discussion and currently in liquidation may well be facing criminal and football charges and thus at some time be facing punishment. The newco is certainly facing no such penalties. A newco need only play by the rules.
And if it's now far too late for such an application to be cobbled together, then tough-tittie.
- davidg, Desperately Seeking Susans, Drew and 6 others like this
Look, I made a graph. I make a lot of graphs'
TsuMirren
Posted 02 July 2012 - 12:07
TsuMirren
-
- Special Access
-

- 1,858 posts
Panel Pundit on SKY
- Top Man:Guni Torfason
For the future of scottish professional football, and a significant number of clubs we are all going to have to pinch our nose as we deal with a re-organisation where sevco 5088 don't get the level of punishment most see as appropriate!
There will be a deal, some of it will likely's make your stomach turn when you get a waft of it, but for the greater good (teams other than sevco 5088) noses need to be pinched, high horses dis-mounted from, and in the main just feckin getting on with it!
yeah life's hard, then you die! deal with it and let's 'Play Ball'!
(whilst taking every opportunity in letting sevco 5088 and their fans know their only still around because we dragged their sorry asses out of the depths of oblivion)
Whatever the deal ends up as, they shouldn't attach poorly researched restructuring on to it. It's not rocket science to go in to a meeting with SKY saying "give us the same money, but we'll share it amongst 18 teams and that'll promote your products to more people who will look to take out subscriptions" and see where that takes you. Do it with a bit more confidence than the boy who goes in to the shop saying "what you got for 10p".
"Not a crisp poke then?"
"No Richard, they couldn't get out their own box!"
Desperately Seeking Susans
Posted 02 July 2012 - 12:20
Desperately Seeking Susans
-
- Special Access
-

- 1,920 posts
Memory Almost Fool
- Top Man:Tommy Craig
I hope you've written to the SFA and reminded them!No one so far has suggested that a newco be punished.
All that is needed is that the rules be followed. The rules require an applicant that wishes to join Scottish football to submit a business plan, show three years of audited accounts, have sufficient proven funds and players in place and be registered in Scotland. And be selected as best applicant among those put forward. Something that wee diddy clubs such as ICT, Ross County and Annan managed to do - so no great onerous obstacles to be overcome.
Talk of punishment is just mainstream media apologists muddying the waters. The club under discussion and currently in liquidation may well be facing criminal and football charges and thus at some time be facing punishment. The newco is certainly facing no such penalties. A newco need only play by the rules.
And if it's now far too late for such an application to be cobbled together, then tough-tittie.
War is a rich man's terrorism.
scottd
Posted 02 July 2012 - 13:36
scottd
-
- Special Access
-

- 11,388 posts
The SPL has been a disaster for the game and should be disbanded.
- Stuart Dickson, Gordon, davidg and 5 others like this
Gordon
Posted 02 July 2012 - 14:10
Gordon
-
- Special Access
-

- 632 posts
First team captain
- Top Man:The Thommohawk
Bluto is spot on. Rules are there and they should be observed. Talk of future financial meltdowns is there to scare people, but it is worth remembering that it was senseless pursuit of money that caused this crisis.
The SPL has been a disaster for the game and should be disbanded.
We are all SFL.
Get SPL to feck. One organisation - SFL.
Edited by Gordon, 02 July 2012 - 14:12.
- scottd and matts dad like this
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users
Community Forum Software by IP.Board
Licensed to: P&B Sports Ltd

Sign In
Create Account