Welcome to virtual west bank
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Craig Burley - Sunday Mail

• Please log in to reply
63 replies to this topic

kevo_smfc

kevo_smfc

Im The SpaceCowboy Headlock Specialist

• Special Access
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,798 posts
  • Top Man:David Barron
Apologies if this has been discussed elsewhere, or if it should be merged, though the article I read today from that absolute cretin Craig Burley in todays Sunday Mail absoolutely angered me. He sounds like a deluded selfish Rangers fan.

The fans that called for Rangers to get booted from SPL apparently are knuckledraggers, teams with crowds of 200 are embarassing and shouldnt have the voice to vote and for the good of the game, we should get rid of the deadwood.

I for one will be sending an email of complaint.

http://www.dailyreco...86908-23906004/

Edited by kevo_smfc, 08 July 2012 - 21:42.

• shull and WDR like this

civilsaint

civilsaint

International Captain

• Special Access
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,060 posts
The man is a disgrace to society. I sincerely hope that he has helped swing a few votes in favour of Div.3. His thinking is typical of a huge section of the Sevco support and that story is typical of the Daily Record.

He should not be welcom at any football ground in the country and that article should hopefully end his broadcasting career.
  • Gosport Buddie, insaintee, matts dad and 1 other like this

djchapsticks

SFA Hall of Fame

• Special Access
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,162 posts
  • Top Man:The Thommohawk
I mentioned it in another thread.

An abomination to classify what he wrote as 'journalism'.

He's the ill-informed arsehole who spouts a load of pish in the pub and after you verbally pick his argument apart, replies with the classic phrase of someone who knows he's an idiot and very much in the wrong; 'well that's ma opinion and am entitled tae it'

A waste of skin and bone.

saintnextlifetime

Bored Mod

• Special Access
  • 7,209 posts
He is the nephew of that other fanny from Cumnock. .

Edited by saintnextlifetime, 08 July 2012 - 22:29.

I'm just another Glory Boy

So scared of getting old

Shout hurrah , for us Glory Boys

With eyes of lead and hearts of gold. .

class of 76-77

SFA Hall of Fame

• Special Access
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,201 posts
  • Top Man:Graham Carey
He also accused our fans of subjecting him to some of the worst abuse he's ever had to endure while commentating on a game at GHR. All that I can add to this after reading the Sunday Mail article is well done to the Saints fans who abused this utter cretin, he deserved it.
  • smfc1877 and insaintee like this

gudmunder

gudmunder

International Call Up

• Special Access
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Top Man:Kenny McLean
Well if there were any clubs outwith the SPL who were swithering with their decision on what league to put the Sevco in, I think he's just made up their mind for them.
I don't pay any attention to this guy as his opinion, entitled to it or not, I just cannot take seriously. I think he's trying to go down the same route as Jim Traynor, trying to save his job by making ill informed arguements, but at the same time realising if the Sevco are admitted to division three, he will have less to spout about.
When an idea comes into his head, it usually dies of loneliness. Posted Image

dibs615.jpg

reborn saint

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 4,015 posts
  • Top Man:Paul McGowan

He also accused our fans of subjecting him to some of the worst abuse he's ever had to endure while commentating on a game at GHR. All that I can add to this after reading the Sunday Mail article is well done to the Saints fans who abused this utter cretin, he deserved it.

I'm in before Shull.......Where is GHR?
  • shull likes this

Bud the Baker

Only 92% of my posts are garbage!

• Special Access
  • 5,523 posts
  • Top Man:Hugh Murray
Not surprised by the content of Burley's (or perhaps his ghost's) article - just another OF lickspittle.

Although I suspect the Division 1 compromise will win the day Newco really should be applying for the vacant Division 3 spot. Newco in Division 3 shouldn't prove fatal for Saints, although we'd suffer substantial losses this season, provided there was no relegation from the SPL we could look to break even in 2013/14 in an expanded SPL.
Vendettas are for Life.

Sunny Saint

Sunny Saint

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 2,587 posts
That article is so bad that it's not even worth responding to or getting worked up about TBH.
  • Kemp and ScottSMFC like this

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 29,254 posts
  • Top Man:Danny Lennon

I'm in before Shull.......Where is GHR?

Indeed Posted Image
  • reborn saint likes this
40 Part Time Clubs and

Scottish Football will live happily ever after.

Hollz

Hollz

Budding Journalist

• Special Access
  • 12,547 posts
  • Top Man:Kenny McLean
Just seen this. No words, utterly disrespectful and shame on the paper for printing that :(

Danny Lennon is still the man :)

Follow me on twitter: @Hollz2012

JM1

JM1

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 2,731 posts
Going on how bad that article is, I'm guessing Craig is another Burley family alky.
  • Mr Zo likes this
"Bring on the dancing girls!"

zebrakid

zebrakid

Reserve team sub

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 249 posts
Craig Burley is a cock .......yep think that covers everything I have to say on this
  • thepaisleypanda and Hollz like this

Smtid 1

Smtid 1

Reserve team regular

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 360 posts
One of the most disgraceful articles I have ever read from a "Journalist".

The quote when talking about teams like Cowdenbeath of "Let’s be honest here, if their clubs were to go missing nobody would bat an eyelid" was outrageous.

I know the point of his job is to say controversial things and generate a bit of conversation but saying things like that is absolutely ridiculous. He deserves every abuse he gets. The next time he is in the press gantry in the went bank, I for one will be piling him with the usual abuse!

Edited by Smtid 1, 09 July 2012 - 00:33.

• Mr Zo, Hollz and Sunny Saint like this

saint_dave

saint_dave

Reserve team regular

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 364 posts
His toys out the pram moment against Celtic was one of the funniest things I've seen on tv. His spluttering rage against our support was tremendous to listen to.
  • Smtid 1 likes this

thomsons dropped it

First team captain

• Special Access
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 654 posts
  • Top Man:Marc McAusland
Archie Mc Weetabix Heed said on Sportsound on Saturday that Burley does a good job and "couldn't understand the abuse that he gets"

Both are so out of touch it's frightening.
  • shull, Hollz, class of 76-77 and 1 other like this

2becks

2becks

Waster of lives

• Special Access
  • 3,458 posts
He is just one more reason not to buy the Sunday Mail.
  • Mr Zo and matts dad like this
I've got soul but I'm not a soldier, I've also got toes and am not a toaster.

Some Guy On The Internet Told Me

pozbaird

pozbaird

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 4,330 posts
  • Top Man:Guni Torfason
Look forward to his next appearance on the West Bank gantry at GHR, TBH.

Where is TBH by the way? Posted Image
  • Mr Zo, shull and reborn saint like this
"That's a cracking photo. Just look at our faces. That's just pure joy at scoring the goal. Some folk said I wouldn't celebrate if I scored against r*ngers... Fcuk that, that was magic!"

Steven Thompson. November 2011.

2becks

2becks

Waster of lives

• Special Access
  • 3,458 posts

Look forward to his next appearance on the West Bank gantry at GHR, TBH.

Where is TBH by the way? Posted Image

The Big Hedge? Glebe Park, Brechin I think.
I've got soul but I'm not a soldier, I've also got toes and am not a toaster.

Some Guy On The Internet Told Me

Tennant's Lager

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 13,732 posts
As a wise man pointed out y'day, when answering Burley's question of

"

who are these people and how are they qualified to make a decision that will affect clubs 10 times their size?"

the answer is very simple - they are chairmen of well-run, small football clubs that are still in existence and pay their taxes and as such are perfectly entitled to have their say on where a side re-emerges in the league structure they are part of. All the more so considering the circumstances of the blue bigots' return and what exactly has led them to this point.

With that point made, Burley's 'column' descends into the rant of the worst sort of nothing-else-exists-besides-the-OF angry man. It'd be laughable, if it wasn't indicative of the worst sort of tripe that the 'succulent lamb brigade' routinely serve up.

Looking forward immensely to the idiot's return to St Mirren Park. If he thought the abuse was bad before he's in for a shock.

Posted Image

Edited by Tennant's Lager, 09 July 2012 - 08:26.

• Kombi Buddie, ktf, Gosport Buddie and 1 other like this

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users