Edited by norrie82, 15 July 2012 - 23:29.
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Are We Realising What's Happening Here
- Please log in to reply
norrie82
Posted 15 July 2012 - 23:28
norrie82
-
- Special Access
-

- 770 posts
International Call Up
Jeremiah Cole
Posted 15 July 2012 - 23:35
Jeremiah Cole
-
- Special Access
-

- 602 posts
First team captain

POPULAR
This is too great an opportunity to let go by for the sake of Gary Teale's excessive contract.
Administration would be a price well worth paying to get rid of Rangers.
The deed is now done. There is no middle way, no going back. Rangers are finished. They won't be playing in any league next season.
All clubs now need to cut their cloth and get on with it.
- Stuart Dickson, Rothesay Saint, shull and 9 others like this
norrie82
Posted 15 July 2012 - 23:36
norrie82
-
- Special Access
-

- 770 posts
International Call Up
lmmdi
Posted 15 July 2012 - 23:57
lmmdi
-
- Members
-
- 4 posts
Baby Crew
Posted 15 July 2012 - 23:59
-
- Special Access
-

- 29,361 posts
Panel Pundit on SKY
- Top Man:Danny Lennon
Getting rid of Rangers is the best thing that could ever happen to St. Mirren and every other diddy club in Scotland. Not only will it be great for Scottish football, it will also rid the country of sectarianism.
This is too great an opportunity to let go by for the sake of Gary Teale's excessive contract.
The deed is now done. There is no middle way, no going back. Rangers are finished. They won't be playing in any league next season.
Scottish Football will live happily ever after.
Posted 16 July 2012 - 00:00
-
- Special Access
-

- 29,361 posts
Panel Pundit on SKY
- Top Man:Danny Lennon
Hello strangerAre we in danger?
Are we in danger ?
NAW !
- insaintee likes this
Scottish Football will live happily ever after.
scottd
Posted 16 July 2012 - 00:30
scottd
-
- Special Access
-

- 11,401 posts
Panel Pundit on Radio Free Scotland
- Top Man:Ismael Goncalves
scottd
Posted 16 July 2012 - 00:34
scottd
-
- Special Access
-

- 11,401 posts
Panel Pundit on Radio Free Scotland
- Top Man:Ismael Goncalves
Damn right, the ludicrous amount of money being paid to the likes of Teale will cripple a club like ours in the end regardless of extraneous factors.
Even better for you Captain is that Danny Lennon will probably be bagged if we go into admin and Thommo would take over as player/manager. Happy days.
- shull likes this
Smtid 1
Posted 16 July 2012 - 00:51
Smtid 1
-
- Members
-

- 360 posts
Reserve team regular
We just need to get through this season then we can downsize and dramatically cut the wage bill. Cutting the wage bill will have absolutely no effect on our competitiveness within the league because every other club will be in the same position. In the long term this will be great for Scottish football and St Mirren. There will be a few hard years in the immediate future but I firmly believe that in the long term ie. 5-10 years, Scottish football and St Mirren will be in a much better and more exciting position.
- shull and scottd like this
Crispian Crunchie
Posted 16 July 2012 - 00:54
Crispian Crunchie
-
- Special Access
-

- 4,091 posts
Whining Lefty
The thing is, that doesn't really matter in this particular context.
If Rangers 2.0 have to play outwith the SPL for the next 3 or 4 seasons (I'm not certain that automatic promotion year on year is the stick-on that is assumed) then that's the way it is. If the funding basis of the rest of the SPL then changes as a direct consequence of the outright criminality of Rangers 1.0, then that's just the weather, and we all know you can't change the weather - you just put on the gore-tex and get on with it.
And there's the rub. It seems to me that instead of getting the gore-tex waterproofs ready, SPL chairmen including Stewart Gilmour are instead wasting an inordinate amount of time performing anti-rain dances in the forlorn hope of appeasing the great funding gods of Sky Sports. And all without really knowing whether the great god of Sky Sports might actually think it worthwhile sticking with Scottish football, even until Rangers 2.0 make it back to the SPL actively to resume their century-long hate-fest against the green facet of sectarian sports bigotry. Destiny, and the struggles theretoward. There's a classic soap opera story arc there - surely some perky Sky staffer must have spotted it?
But meanwhile, back in the real world, clubs like St Mirren need to acknowledge that it's f**king pissing down out there and get the gore-tex on pronto. In other words, that we need to adjust to the new economic realities of the SPL - precipitated unfortunately by the club that has historically damaged Scottish football most of all down the years - and just get on with it. As my dear brother is fond of saying, you can only pish with the cock you've got. The cock we've got has been truncated slightly by Blue Bigot criminality and corruption - but let's just get on with the pishing.
- shull, scottd and adi like this
steve_the_saint
Posted 16 July 2012 - 06:24
steve_the_saint
-
- Members
-

- 334 posts
Reserve team regular
Do you really think the BOD haven't "had a look at the weather" before now? At the fans meeting on July 3rd they said they could shave 200 odd grand off the annual budget. This would include ordinary staff at the club losing their jobs as the players are on contracts. If it transpires that we are going to be 600k worse off for the season, as many are predicting, then where is that additional 400k goretex coming from?Yes, we could be "in danger" of entering administration as a result of a possible (but somehow widely anticipated) reduction in sponsor income to SPL clubs from a satellite broadcaster that is not really interested in Scottish football, but only in the "Old Firm" duopoly, one of which has, entirely due to its own actions, become somewhat divorced from the SPL and considerably diminished in resources.
The thing is, that doesn't really matter in this particular context.
If Rangers 2.0 have to play outwith the SPL for the next 3 or 4 seasons (I'm not certain that automatic promotion year on year is the stick-on that is assumed) then that's the way it is. If the funding basis of the rest of the SPL then changes as a direct consequence of the outright criminality of Rangers 1.0, then that's just the weather, and we all know you can't change the weather - you just put on the gore-tex and get on with it.
And there's the rub. It seems to me that instead of getting the gore-tex waterproofs ready, SPL chairmen including Stewart Gilmour are instead wasting an inordinate amount of time performing anti-rain dances in the forlorn hope of appeasing the great funding gods of Sky Sports. And all without really knowing whether the great god of Sky Sports might actually think it worthwhile sticking with Scottish football, even until Rangers 2.0 make it back to the SPL actively to resume their century-long hate-fest against the green facet of sectarian sports bigotry. Destiny, and the struggles theretoward. There's a classic soap opera story arc there - surely some perky Sky staffer must have spotted it?
But meanwhile, back in the real world, clubs like St Mirren need to acknowledge that it's f**king pissing down out there and get the gore-tex on pronto. In other words, that we need to adjust to the new economic realities of the SPL - precipitated unfortunately by the club that has historically damaged Scottish football most of all down the years - and just get on with it. As my dear brother is fond of saying, you can only pish with the cock you've got. The cock we've got has been truncated slightly by Blue Bigot criminality and corruption - but let's just get on with the pishing.
There are no lending facilities available for football clubs any more, not even overdrafts.
Even if the fans chipped in with as much as 20k a month and SMISA chucked in their much lauded 50k, that only equates to about 200k.
This will leave us with having to try and sell our best players, try being the operative word. We'll be lucky if we even get 200k for Mclean and mcgowan and that's if we even get a buyer on time.
Either way you look at it, the best St. Mirren team in over 20 years will be broken up.
And at what cost? Just to laugh at RFC for a few years as they pump part time teams 5, 6, 7-0 every week, setting new records as they go? They will be back just as strong as ever and normal service will resume whilst the rest of Scottish football is still recovering 5 years down the line.
Edited by steve_the_saint, 16 July 2012 - 06:30.
- smfc1877, r333cef and Gosport Buddie like this
Lochwinnoch Saint
Posted 16 July 2012 - 06:45
Lochwinnoch Saint
-
- Special Access
-

- 7,577 posts
Panel Pundit on SKY
- Top Man:Kenny McLean
My reply has nothing to do with Rangers being demoted as I fully support that.Getting rid of Rangers is the best thing that could ever happen to St. Mirren and every other diddy club in Scotland. Not only will it be great for Scottish football, it will also rid the country of sectarianism.
Sectarianism has gone along with old Rangers ? We know it’s not it’s only been passed on to small communities throughout Scotland who will look on in bewilderment. It will return in buoyant mood from three years of barley losing any games.
Norrie is 100% right it will return so is it acceptable some clubs would fold and maybe disappear ? Certainly none of us want to see St Mirren disappear.
FS has wrote ESPIN ‘will’ pull out due to their own cash flow problems. We need a united front to raise cash. 10,000 hours has the most direct debit waiting to be activated. My own preferred option is SMISA simply because it is independent of any board members.
- Gosport Buddie likes this
Same,same,but better.
pozbaird
Posted 16 July 2012 - 07:54
pozbaird
-
- Special Access
-

- 4,368 posts
Panel Pundit on SKY
- Top Man:Guni Torfason
What did they expect? Aside from suffering Rangers fans and their sectarian bile for donkeys years, we discovered massive tax evasion, cheating, the likelihood of illegal payments, wilfully witholding PAYE, attempting to sign Daniel Cousin!, making NO cost-cutting redundancies, having criminal investigations start into their owners, their manager with his 'who ARE these people' speech, Sandy Jardine's utter bawbaggery... and, and.... Christ, we haven't forgotten them rioting in Manchester, stoning the Villarreal team bus, the sectarian shame in Barcelona and other European cities...
In the name of Christ - if any club chairman thinks that not only should supporters quieten down on the calls to see them punished, but we should support the attempts to actually see them receive SPECIAL TREATMENT, then you need to wonder what is going on.
Club chairmen have a bloody hard job. They are right to be deeply concerned about the financial fall-out about to hit us. However - IF they were in on a plan to see newco Rangers be parachuted into Div 1, or by Christ, the SPL itself... Then their plan has gone tits up. It has gone tits up because of the sheer incompetence of everyone who may have been involved in cooking it up. If SPL club chairmen feel like booting someone in the stones - don't boot your own fans. We are here, and we want to support our club - aim your anger at Rangers, Doncaster, Regan, and we will buy STs, tickets, merchandise, car park passes... We will also back the fund raising initiatives and we will come up with ideas to help too.
Time to stop making a bad situation even worse and to blame the wrong target. Fans are not to blame here.
- Yflab, shull, Kendo and 4 others like this
Steven Thompson. November 2011.
Lochwinnoch Saint
Posted 16 July 2012 - 07:59
Lochwinnoch Saint
-
- Special Access
-

- 7,577 posts
Panel Pundit on SKY
- Top Man:Kenny McLean
Sky Sports has maintained its silence while ESPN has said they “want to have a continued relationship with Scottish football”.From todays Scotsman
Same,same,but better.
David Mc
Posted 16 July 2012 - 08:09
David Mc
-
- Special Access
-

- 1,829 posts
Panel Pundit on SKY
I can't agree. Fans are complicit here too. It's as if we never had the power or opportunity to change how Scottish football was run. It has always been there with a will. Everyone has a share of responsibility some larger than others admittedly.Supporters overwhelmingly told their club chairmen that all they wanted was newco Rangers to be treated the same as newco Killie, Hearts, or indeed had it been newco St Mirren. This was to be expected, it should have come as no surprise to clubs, and if clubs intend to lash out and blame fans if cuts are made - I suggest they are lashing out in the wrong direction.
What did they expect? Aside from suffering Rangers fans and their sectarian bile for donkeys years, we discovered massive tax evasion, cheating, the likelihood of illegal payments, wilfully witholding PAYE, attempting to sign Daniel Cousin!, making NO cost-cutting redundancies, having criminal investigations start into their owners, their manager with his 'who ARE these people' speech, Sandy Jardine's utter bawbaggery... and, and.... Christ, we haven't forgotten them rioting in Manchester, stoning the Villarreal team bus, the sectarian shame in Barcelona and other European cities...
In the name of Christ - if any club chairman thinks that not only should supporters quieten down on the calls to see them punished, but we should support the attempts to actually see them receive SPECIAL TREATMENT, then you need to wonder what is going on.
Club chairmen have a bloody hard job. They are right to be deeply concerned about the financial fall-out about to hit us. However - IF they were in on a plan to see newco Rangers be parachuted into Div 1, or by Christ, the SPL itself... Then their plan has gone tits up. It has gone tits up because of the sheer incompetence of everyone who may have been involved in cooking it up. If SPL club chairmen feel like booting someone in the stones - don't boot your own fans. We are here, and we want to support our club - aim your anger at Rangers, Doncaster, Regan, and we will buy STs, tickets, merchandise, car park passes... We will also back the fund raising initiatives and we will come up with ideas to help too.
Time to stop making a bad situation even worse and to blame the wrong target. Fans are not to blame here.
Kendo
Posted 16 July 2012 - 08:10
Kendo
-
- Special Access
-

- 5,299 posts
Panel Pundit on SKY
Supporters overwhelmingly told their club chairmen that all they wanted was newco Rangers to be treated the same as newco Killie, Hearts, or indeed had it been newco St Mirren. This was to be expected, it should have come as no surprise to clubs, and if clubs intend to lash out and blame fans if cuts are made - I suggest they are lashing out in the wrong direction.
I completely agree ............ However I wish we could now move on and start sorting out the situation that we find ourselves in.
I am bored to tears with looking back and apportioning blame. Its time we moved on and backed the club to get through this season.
I don't want to hear the words sevco or newco or Rangers. Let's concentrate our efforts on Saint Mirren.
David Mc
Posted 16 July 2012 - 08:32
David Mc
-
- Special Access
-

- 1,829 posts
Panel Pundit on SKY
pozbaird
Posted 16 July 2012 - 12:36
pozbaird
-
- Special Access
-

- 4,368 posts
Panel Pundit on SKY
- Top Man:Guni Torfason
I can't agree. Fans are complicit here too. It's as if we never had the power or opportunity to change how Scottish football was run. It has always been there with a will. Everyone has a share of responsibility some larger than others admittedly.
Fans are complicit? For what, for asking that newco Rangers be treated the same as any other newco club? In fact, they haven't been - in reality they should have been asked to apply alongside a club like Spartans, who have applied before, have accounts and a solid business plan, a neat stadium and genuine supporter/local community involvement in their club.
What should supporters have done? Campaigned to have newco Rangers afforded special treatment? Just shut our gobs? Every single St Mirren supporter on this planet could have either kept quiet, or campaigned for Rangers to be a special case - then what? We would be completely fcuked... we'd be boycotted beyond belief. We would have been swamped by the overwhelming views that we saw from the entire country.
I said to SGs face - we are at the mercy of events. It doesn't matter what the board of St Mirren actually want personally... it was a domino effect, and we are simply going to have to deal with it.
Edited by pozbaird, 16 July 2012 - 12:40.
Steven Thompson. November 2011.
nedflanders123
Posted 16 July 2012 - 12:54
nedflanders123
-
- Special Access
-

- 1,886 posts
Panel Pundit on SKY
Coming out with the rant before any decision has been taken by the TV and other sponsors just alienates many as has them thinking there is no football without the scum in our league.
- SelkirkSaint, northendsaint and St. Sid like this
David Mc
Posted 16 July 2012 - 13:32
David Mc
-
- Special Access
-

- 1,829 posts
Panel Pundit on SKY
What I meant was that the fans are complicit because we've had the power do something about worsening state of Scottish football for many years. Instead we just turned up, watched and lapped it up. It's only now supporters have used that power.Fans are complicit? For what, for asking that newco Rangers be treated the same as any other newco club? In fact, they haven't been - in reality they should have been asked to apply alongside a club like Spartans, who have applied before, have accounts and a solid business plan, a neat stadium and genuine supporter/local community involvement in their club.
What should supporters have done? Campaigned to have newco Rangers afforded special treatment? Just shut our gobs? Every single St Mirren supporter on this planet could have either kept quiet, or campaigned for Rangers to be a special case - then what? We would be completely fcuked... we'd be boycotted beyond belief. We would have been swamped by the overwhelming views that we saw from the entire country.
I said to SGs face - we are at the mercy of events. It doesn't matter what the board of St Mirren actually want personally... it was a domino effect, and we are simply going to have to deal with it.
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users
Community Forum Software by IP.Board
Licensed to: P&B Sports Ltd

Sign In
Create Account