Welcome to virtual west bank
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Name The Teams

• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

BoWSaint

BoWSaint

Digger of holes

• Special Access
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,530 posts
  • Top Man:The Thommohawk
I was recently given a couple of old original photos as a gift from a neighbour who used to be the team photographer. One from the mid 80's and one from the mid 90s. Wondering if someone can help me pinpoint the exact years and put names to the faces? Thanks in advance.

Attached File  Saints 80s.JPG   189.81K   415 downloads

Attached File  Saints 90s.JPG   197.03K   413 downloads
  • belfast billy likes this
--- 668 The Neighbour of the Beast ---

HSS

HSS

PAISLEYS No1 SLIPPER WEARER AND TAXI DRIVER

• Special Access
  • 21,632 posts
I'd guess 86 and 94.
It's bedtime so the players will need to wait until later.
I'd rather shag a bucket with a big hole in it,than be a M*rt*n fan for just one minute.

Frank McGarvey' wonky legs

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 2,400 posts
  • Top Man:Paul McGowan
First one is 1984-5 season as Macca is still there.

Army Of Ewen

Ball Boy

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • Top Man:Darren McGregor
http://www.stmirren.info/id44.html

Second one is 1994

stormtrooper

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 1,514 posts
  • Top Man:Kenny McLean
From the sublime to the ridiculous in the 94/95 photo......Bubbles and Alec Bone in the same team!!!
Greenhill Road aka The Boulevard of Broken Dreams...

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 29,358 posts
  • Top Man:Danny Lennon

From the sublime to the ridiculous in the 94/95 photo......Bubbles and Alec Bone in the same team!!!

Couldnae fault wee Alex's effort. Was just unlucky with us and the fact his uncle was Manager didnae help.

Scored plenty goals at nearly every other Club he was at.

Didnae worry about hairstyle or jessieboots.
40 Part Time Clubs and

Scottish Football will live happily ever after.

farmer john

farmer john

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 3,505 posts
with a bit of thought I could name nearly all of the first one (Franks Wonky Legs says 84/85 but was Jarvie still playing then?)
But I would only get a few in the 94/95 picture

spankin_panda

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 2,982 posts
  • Top Man:Hugh Murray
The '95 pic rings a few bells. I was only 7 though. Faces I recognise (not in order) are: Bubles, Bone, Heatherston(?) Baker, McLaughlin, McWhirter, Scrimi, Money, Combe, Gilles, Lavety and Dick(?).

I think that's who they are.

Just to add: You'd think they would have found a strip to fit the wee lad at the bottom left.
Saint Mirren Till I Die!!!!

Maboza

Maboza

First team captain

• Special Access
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 615 posts
’94 -'95 Pic .... a few to get started....

Top Row (left to right):
Fullarton, ?, Dick, ? Lavety, Combe, Taylor, Baker, MacIntyre, Dawson, ?

Middle Row:
Elliott, Heatherston, Prentice, ? Scrimgour, McLaughlin, ? Money, ?, ?, Archdeacon, Hewitt

Bottom Row:
McGrotty, McDowall, Bone, McWhirter, Bone, ? Gillies, Binning (Physio), ?

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 29,358 posts
The 95 pic, first cnut in the middle row.

That's how clean his strip was after 90 minutes.
40 Part Time Clubs and

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 29,358 posts

Top Row (left to right):

Middle Row:
Elliott, Heatherston, Prentice, ? Scrimgour, McLaughlin, ? Money, ?, ?, Archdeacon, Hewitt

Bottom Row:

Is that Gardner between Fullarton and Dick ?
40 Part Time Clubs and

spankin_panda

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 2,982 posts
  • Top Man:Hugh Murray

I could be wrong but was heatherston no a bit mental? I remember going to watch Saints away to Hamilton and Hamilton were up 1-0 and some wee jessie from them dropped to the ground claiming cramp to waste time and Hatherston walked over like he was gona help and rther than stretch the guys leg, he pulled him aff the pitch. My memory may have made more of this but was genuinley funny....

Saint Mirren Till I Die!!!!

Maboza

Maboza

First team captain

• Special Access
  • 615 posts

I could be wrong but was heatherston no a bit mental? I remember going to watch Saints away to Hamilton and Hamilton were up 1-0 and some wee jessie from them dropped to the ground claiming cramp to waste time and Hatherston walked over like he was gona help and rther than stretch the guys leg, he pulled him aff the pitch. My memory may have made more of this but was genuinley funny....

I remember something like that but think it might have been Stuart Taylor - away to Hamilton at Cliftonhill.

Gordon

Gordon

First team captain

• Special Access
  • 634 posts
I think the first picture is from around 1984

Edited by Gordon, 24 August 2012 - 10:01.

Gosport Buddie

Youth team regular

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 137 posts
  • Top Man:Paul McGowan

Top Row (left to right):

Middle Row:

Bottom Row:

I think it's Kenny Gillies back right

Stuart Dickson

SUPPORT GRASSROOTS FOOTBALL - NOT HOT AIR FILLED VANITY BALLOONS

• Special Access
  • 5,263 posts
  • Top Man:Guni Torfason
For the top photo I’ve got
Back Row – Neil Cooper, ?, Mark Fulton, ? , Jim Stewart, Campbell Money, David Winnie, ? , Jim Rooney, Stevie Clarke
Middle Row – Martin Ferguson, ? , Iain Scanlon, Gary Peebles, Derek Hamilton, Fraser Campbell, Rowan Alexander, Brian Gallagher, Drew Jarvie, ? , Bobby Holmes
Front Row - ?, ? , Billy Abercrombie, Gardner Spiers, Tony Fitzpatrick, Peter Mackie, Ian Cameron, Tommy Wilson, Frank McAvennie and Alex Miller.

I’m tempted to say that the guy between Fulton and Stewart looks very much like Barry McLaughlin but surely that would have been before his time and that the player to the left of Billy Abercrombie may be Alan Logan but I’m not sure.

My best guess at a date would be 84. Miller would have just punted Billy Thomson and was probably just about to push Mark Fulton out of the door too.

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 29,358 posts

I think it's Kenny Gillies back right

Oh f**k, there's 2 of them.
40 Part Time Clubs and

Panel Pundit on SKY

• Special Access
  • 29,358 posts
To be fair, at that time Ricky Gillies was a fantastic player with superb potential.
Shame he played in a team with a lot of shite players like Dawson, McIntyre, Elliot, Fullarton, Combe and a few more.
40 Part Time Clubs and

somner9

somner9

The Fox In The Box

• Special Access
  • 3,476 posts
  • Top Man:Jim Goodwin

I was recently given a couple of old original photos as a gift from a neighbour who used to be the team photographer. One from the mid 80's and one from the mid 90s. Wondering if someone can help me pinpoint the exact years and put names to the faces? Thanks in advance.

Attached File  Saints 80s.JPG   189.81K   415 downloads

This is definetly St Mirren FC!

Attached File  Saints 90s.JPG   197.03K   413 downloads

Hmmm let me think???? I'll go with St Mirren FC for this one.

• HSS and shull like this

scottd

scottd

Panel Pundit on Radio Free Scotland

• Special Access
  • 11,401 posts
  • Top Man:Ismael Goncalves

For the top photo I’ve got
Back Row – Neil Cooper, ?, Mark Fulton, ? , Jim Stewart, Campbell Money, David Winnie, ? , Jim Rooney, Stevie Clarke
Middle Row – Martin Ferguson, ? , Iain Scanlon, Gary Peebles, Derek Hamilton, Fraser Campbell, Rowan Alexander, Brian Gallagher, Drew Jarvie, ? , Bobby Holmes
Front Row - ?, ? , Billy Abercrombie, Gardner Spiers, Tony Fitzpatrick, Peter Mackie, Ian Cameron, Tommy Wilson, Frank McAvennie and Alex Miller.

I’m tempted to say that the guy between Fulton and Stewart looks very much like Barry McLaughlin but surely that would have been before his time and that the player to the left of Billy Abercrombie may be Alan Logan but I’m not sure.

My best guess at a date would be 84. Miller would have just punted Billy Thomson and was probably just about to push Mark Fulton out of the door too.

Peebles and Rooney the other way about? 1984 will be the year as this was Miller's first full season as boss.

That probably will be Alan Logan as it wasn't long after that he went to Thistle with McDowall coming in exchange.

Edited by scottd, 24 August 2012 - 15:22.

• Stuart Dickson and Callum Gilhooley like this
FC St Mirren 2013

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users