Transfer News

I see Ross County have brought in a new striker while we slide about on our arse.We are now into the fourth week since Craig left.We simply must get the managerial situation sorted NOW or risk becoming totally isolated.We need about five new players to have any chance.

Agreed we need new players in , centre back and a striker at the top of the list.

Here is the thing though. We have to pay Tommy Craig off Ka'Ching !. Maybe we have to appoint a new manager outwith Ka'Ching , Centre back Ka'Ching , centre forward Ka'Ching.

We don't have a lot of Ka'Ching in our locker.

So appoint Gary Teale money saved.

Drip feed Tommy Craig - might help

Sell one of our assets - Let some assets go.

Which might let us play the market a wee bit.

I see Ross County have brought in a new striker while we slide about on our arse.We are now into the fourth week since Craig left.We simply must get the managerial situation sorted NOW or risk becoming totally isolated.We need about five new players to have any chance.

They've signed someone from the same level as Marwood. But no, you're right, it's a f**king disaster that will be followed by famine and locusts.

Without going all Brookside on you, calm down, calm down.

The striker county have signed is Craig Curran, just released by Nuneaton. He has 38 career goals in 219 appearances, which is around 1 goal every 6 games, generally in the lower leagues or non league in England.

He is shite. If we had signed someone like that, there would be calls on here for witch-hunts to be brought back and GT and SG in line for the dooking.

Edited by Hendo

Is the main point of contention not that Ross County sorted out their managerial issues early in the season and are starting their squad rebuild at the very beginning of the January window meanwhile we have a caretaker manager, over 60 applications for the vacancy and no clarity on where we are at with shortlisting managerial candidates or timescale on when a decision will be made and how much time will be left for any new manager to bring any players in?

Surely the key thing here is that McAusland's spot is safe and we have a club! Stop being knickerwetters, blah yaddy blah.

Seriously though, yes they did wait too long as yes we are in danger of leaving it late. Not really sure what any of us can do about it really. I'm just going to strap myself in and ride out the rest of the season. I'll go watch a few random games elsewhere to keep me sane, Preston or Man City for example.

Ffs

You just woken up there RIp Van Winkle

We've been drifting to this point for at least two seasons now, we have winged it far too long and we are now reaping what we didn't sow a few seasons ago.

Deal with it

Agreed we need new players in , centre back and a striker at the top of the list.Here is the thing though. We have to pay Tommy Craig off Ka'Ching !. Maybe we have to appoint a new manager outwith Ka'Ching , Centre back Ka'Ching , centre forward Ka'Ching.We don't have a lot of Ka'Ching in our locker.So appoint Gary Teale money saved.Drip feed Tommy Craig - might helpSell one of our assets - Let some assets go.Which might let us play the market a wee bit.

Can I get some piri piri with my Ka 'Ching please, it'll at least give some bite. The current bland condiments do nowt for me

Frankly, we deserve everything coming to us. It has been on the cards for a few seasons and we have lurched from bad to worse. The BOD are guilty of mismanaging the last appointment and put themselves and the club in its worse position since promotion. If money is not available then the main questions are a) do we bring in an experienced manager who may get something out of our squad to escape the drop or play offs and B) if the limits of our squad is reached and cannot be improved out with funding for replacements, do we bring in a younger/potential manager who will require a rebuilding exercise to get back up the SPL?

We do not have sufficient firepower in our team to score regularly to go on an unbeaten run nor good enough or experienced defenders to keep a clean sheet. No funding makes our demotion appear more likely. I am not a pessamist but just realistic and that our team is the poorest in a number of years.

Frankly, we deserve everything coming to us. It has been on the cards for a few seasons and we have lurched from bad to worse. The BOD are guilty of mismanaging the last appointment and put themselves and the club in its worse position since promotion. If money is not available then the main questions are a) do we bring in an experienced manager who may get something out of our squad to escape the drop or play offs and cool.png if the limits of our squad is reached and cannot be improved out with funding for replacements, do we bring in a younger/potential manager who will require a rebuilding exercise to get back up the SPL?

We do not have sufficient firepower in our team to score regularly to go on an unbeaten run nor good enough or experienced defenders to keep a clean sheet. No funding makes our demotion appear more likely. I am not a pessamist but just realistic and that our team is the poorest in a number of years.

I can't disagree with anything here.

Much as I'd love us to survive another season in the top league, I fear that we've used up our 9 lives and have all but resigned myself to the distinct likelihood that we'll be playing in the Championship next season. Its not a great prospect, but not the end of the world either. We've had a fair crack of the whip and haven't really kicked on as we should, so can't expect to stay up as some form of natural justice being served.

I don't think we are doomed to relegation. We just beat Dundee and were good with ten men against Motherwell. Dundee then got humped rotten, as did Motherwell. 5-0 at Accies FFS.

A couple of good results here and there allied to a continued Dundee freefall and who knows?

Priority one - stay ahead of County. I think we have enough about us to achieve that, and I wouldn't think Motherwell, Dundee or Partick currently feel that their top flight status is safe and secured, with County and ourselves a shoe-in for the bottom two spots.

This overly defeatist 'already down' talk troubles me. FFS if we cannot show a bit of faith and hope ourselves, then we surely will be doomed. I joke about looking forward to gubbing Sevco in the playoffs, we might end up in the bottom two places, but we ain't there yet.

Motherwell, Partick and Dundee all safe? As safe as Hibs were last season? Top of the bottom 6, too good, too big to go down?

I don't think we are doomed to relegation. We just beat Dundee and were good with ten men against Motherwell. Dundee then got humped rotten, as did Motherwell. 5-0 at Accies FFS.

A couple of good results here and there allied to a continued Dundee freefall and who knows?

Priority one - stay ahead of County. I think we have enough about us to achieve that, and I wouldn't think Motherwell, Dundee or Partick currently feel that their top flight status is safe and secured, with County and ourselves a shoe-in for the bottom two spots.

This overly defeatist 'already down' talk troubles me. FFS if we cannot show a bit of faith and hope ourselves, then we surely will be doomed. I joke about looking forward to gubbing Sevco in the playoffs, we might end up in the bottom two places, but we ain't there yet.

Motherwell, Partick and Dundee all safe? As safe as Hibs were last season? Top of the bottom 6, too good, too big to go down?

The basis for the view we are going to struggle has been evident all season. We have no strikers and I firmly believe Thommo is finished or won't be fit enough to provide the goals required to win enough games. Our defence is shocking and cannot prevent other teams scoring which means we have to score at least 2 goals to get a win.

Plastics, Murderwell and Dimdee all have strikers who can score and that will be the difference in staying up (I know obvious). The BOD finally had the balls to sack Craig, now they need to go one step further and allow the manager to strengthen in 2 key areas, CH and striker. If not then it is hard to see how our squad with its limited qualities can overhaul the above mentioned teams.

Edited by nedflanders123

The basis for the view we are going to struggle has been evident all season. We have no strikers and I firmly believe Thommo is finished or won't be fit enough to provide the goals required to win enough games. Our defence is shocking and cannot prevent other teams scoring which means we have to score at least 2 goals to get a win.

Plastics, Murderwell and Dimdee all have strikers who can score and that will be the difference in staying up (I know obvious). The BOD finally had the balls to sack Craig, now they need to go one step further and allow the manager to strengthen in 2 key areas, CH and striker. If not then it is hard to see how our squad with its limited qualities can overhaul the above mentioned teams.

If We get Tommo back we have that striker. Last season he had scored about 8 goals by at this point, given that we have normally lost by only one goal that would have brought a minimum of 8 extra points so if he gets back then expecting another 20 points is not out of the question more of we add in some assists. 31 points is probably just enough to scrape in to 10th given how pish County Dundee and Motherwell are this season

The thing about last year's bottom 6 was that it was pretty close between all the teams when you discounted Hearts' points deduction. This year Ross County, ourselves and Motherwell have stood out as being really poor but now Motherwell look like they could pull away and join the Partick, Killie and Dundee grouping of less awful teams than us. Without a clean sheet or much of a goal threat it is hard to see us stringing enough wins together to close a 6 or 10 point gap when we draw with Ross County at home and lose to Motherwell and Killie when none of those 3 played well against us at home. 1 point from 30 at home.

We need a striker, if say Gilmour said he was going to say he would sign Ched Evans and his goals were going to keep us up as he is a proven international striker what would peoples reaction be?

Not likely to happen as he may be going to Malta though.

No thanks I think would be the overall reaction.

It would be damaging to any club to have this guy in the books. We like many other clubs have women/girls/children as fans.For them to hear what 'all the fuss' is about and have it explained to them is not something I feel they should have to endure.

This guy claims he is innocent , but as it stands was guilty of a crime against a woman. Crimes of this nature are despicable.

I appreciate the 'served his time' line as mentioned further down , but no thanks.

Not an issue for us anyway , but should we be faced with such a situation I'm sure the majority would prefer we did not give a contract in these circumstances.

Edited by whydowebother

The club's tolerance of those breaking the law was tested last year.

You saw fans' reactions on here to losing the undoubted skills of Gowser.

Evans' crime is of a worse nature. There would be no tolerance, no forgiveness.

Would a punt on him be worth any hassle? Meh.

I would say it is more a case of being prepared and realistic, as opposed to defeatist. We have had two decent performances (perhaps that definition doesn't do the Dens victory justice) in recent weeks, but even then, one of them ended in defeat, and that is all that really matters in the final analysis. In the same time frame Motherwell have managed two victories while County to pulled off a creditable draw against Celtic.

As things stand, I can see us finishing the season exactly where we are just now. Isma and Dorman aside, we seldom do much in the way of fruitful business in the January window, and I don't think this is one will be any different.

I have not written us off, but don't feel there are many grounds to be confident.

I would say it is more a case of being prepared and realistic, as opposed to defeatist. We have had two decent performances (perhaps that definition doesn't do the Dens victory justice) in recent weeks, but even then, one of them ended in defeat, and that is all that really matters in the final analysis. In the same time frame Motherwell have managed two victories while County to pulled off a creditable draw against Celtic.

As things stand, I can see us finishing the season exactly where we are just now. Isma and Dorman aside, we seldom do much in the way of fruitful business in the January window, and I don't think this is one will be any different.

I have not written us off, but don't feel there are many grounds to be confident.

Not writing us off at Christmas is all I'm asking. I'm reading a few posts suggesting we are already doomed, and we are now reaping what we have sown, our time to dodge the relegation bullet is now over, etc.

All I'm saying is that if we, and more importantly the manager and players, start genuinely believing that, then we will go down for sure.

I think there are a few twists and turns along the way yet. I haven't given up - but we do need Dundee, Motherwell, and/or Partick, to be somewhat pish too. I just have a sneaky feeling that all is not well on the good ship Hartley.