Help Needed Please

Can anybody give me year in which the Match below was played ?

It's Airdrie v St Mirren in a league cup tie on the 9th august. I've read through the Programme but i cannae work oot which year it was.

Maybe mid to late 50's. I'm puzzled.

Anybuddie help for free ? :)

post-1795-1212766753_thumb.jpg post-1795-1212766794_thumb.jpg

Ching or NSS might Know that era better than most..... :)

Easy.

1958. :)

1. Bertie joined brother Gibby Ormond at Airdrie in the front line it says on the programme.

2. Bertie was with Airdrie 1958-60, PLayed 10 scored 4

ORMOND Bert IF 58-60 Falkirk Dumbarton 10 4

3. I can't recall Priestley in goals or Ralston at Centre forward for the Buddies but I do remember Tony(?) Gregal and McTurk - a hammer man! And that was afore we won the cup! Thus NOT 1959 so it has to be 1958.

I hope this helps? :)

For free.

Easy.

1. Bertie joined brother Gibby Ormond at Airdrie in the front line it says on the programme.

3. I can't recall Priestley in goals or Ralston at Centre forward for the Buddies but I do remember Tony(?) Gregal and McTurk - a hammer man! And that was afore we won the cup! Thus NOT 1959 so it has to be 1958.

For free.

Many thanks Ching !!! It's a great help :clapping:clapping:clapping

To yir auldness, ah mean yir knowledge :notworthy:notworthy

Can anybody give me year in which the Match below was played ?

It's Airdrie v St Mirren in a league cup tie on the 9th august. I've read through the Programme but i cannae work oot which year it was.

Maybe mid to late 50's. I'm puzzled.

Anybuddie help for free ? :)

post-1795-1212766753_thumb.jpg post-1795-1212766794_thumb.jpg

Ching or NSS might Know that era better than most..... :)

Just a wee bit afore my time...........................only :P

Easy.

For free.

Wonderful and logical, also perpetual calendar shows 9 Aug 1958 to be a saturday.

Calendrical clicky.

It seems that the score was 4-3 to Saints.

I notice that we beat Celtic 6-3 a couple of weeks later.That was the same season we knocked them out of the cup by 4-0.

Fuxake,it takes us twenty years to get ten goals against Celtic these days. :lol:

Maybe we need to play a 2-3-5 formation again :unsure:

I'd love to see that again.

Me too. It would really confuse the opposition if a team lined up like that at the start of a game.

A good coach should be able to make it work :wink:

Is Millen playing again?? :lol:

Aye, he grew up as a center-half :P

• 5 years later...