St.mirren V Morton 20/11/15

Stevie88

As others have said, the fitness levels in our team are atrocious. What are these guys eating/doing in training to not be able to compete for 90 minutes? Special mention to Sean Kelly who consistently falls out of games after the 70 minutes...

Get these guys in shape and being responsible with their lifestyle choices etc. They need to understand that as professional footballers the least they should be able to do is run about for 90 minutes.

Well, that was sh*te. First half, not too bad. Then comes half time and God alone knows what Murray says to them and it falls apart. Langfield????? parry to the side FFS!!!! Thompson - past it. Mallan - posted missing after his booking. Carswell - best I've seen of him, but still hopeless. Shankland - runs about a lot with no end product, as does McMullan. Reid & Webster - a few decent blocks, but hopelessly flat when it mattered. Agnew - passing woeful. Kelly - good attack, can't defend. Baird - best of a bad lot. Gallagher - worked hard, but no end product. Murray???? Don't get me started. Time to go, I think.

Morton totally deserved their point and in all honesty I won't not have been surprised if they had taken all 3.

Where do we start with St. Mirren however.

Langfield - some decent saves, poor distribution and some real crazy clearances. Might be one of our own but, not convinced at all by him this season.

Reid - Did OK i suppose but, no more than a below average player who offers nothing going forward.

Kelly - Have never liked the guy, will never like the guy, total bombscare, doesn't know how to defend or what to do with the ball. Lacks confidence and is a liability but, gets picked every week ????

Webster - Defended well tonight, maybe lacks pace at times but at least he shows a desire to win the ball and win his battle against the forward, would make him captain now in Goodwin's absence.

Baird - Thought Jack was our best player tonight but we need to watch his confidence doesn't take a battering playing in such a poor team/defence. Step forward Webster to help him at this time.

McMullan - Drifts in and out of games too easily, doesn't want to track back, flatters to deceive at times, wouldn't get a game with Blantyre Celtic never mind Glasgow Celtic.

Carswell - Did OK in parts tonight, still don't know how he managed to play at the SPL level for so long. Poor ball control, poor passing options, poor decisions, very poor player.

Agnew - Again drifts in and out of games, flatters to deceive, lacks fitness, couldnae tackle a fish supper, lucky to stay on pitch after elbowing Morton player. He was 28 years of age before he went full time which I think says a lot. Not good enough for Saints.

Mallan - A few nice touches tonight and a decent free kick towards the end of the first half. Only decent midfield player we have and maybe tries too hard to cover for his midfield team mates lack of ability by trying to cover for them and their lack of skill. Manager also plays him out of position at times.

Gallagher - Another flatter to deceive player who delivers very little, has a strange running style as if he bursting for the toilet whilst on the move.

Shankland - Showed very little tonight, had a couple of chances but, blew them. Got too involved with silly challenges and ended up booked. Poor performance overall.

Subs:

Mclear- If the wee guy was sitting next to me in the Bankhouse I wouldn't know who he was. Yet another midget from the under 20's production line but, hey lets's play the high ball to him... pointless. Too early to say if he's good enough, however a poor decision yet again by the Manager to drop a young boy into a game of this importance.

Thompson - Could someone please take Steven aside and tell him he's DONE AT THIS LEVEL. Contribution zero, hold up play hopeless, lack of ability/fitness embarrassing. Chuck it.

Howieson - On too late to make any impact but again lacks ability and I would have to say lacks heart and desire, again not good enough for Saints.

As for Murray he selects the team, I take it he works on tactics and set plays but nae matter who his number 2 is nothing changes, The team couldn't string 2 passes together, we sit far too deep and invite teams to attack. The midfield is non existent and the forwards have to feed off scraps. There is no structure to the team but it's all the referees fault because we keep getting bad decisions against us according to Ian. Wake up, smell the coffee and take a hike!!!

Overall tonight's performance was an embarrassment and I have seen better organised sides at the Racecourse.

God only knows how much more of this garbage we can all suffer.

For some reason can't reply to posts?? :unsure: So to generalise 12 points don't lie motherfu**ers!! :thumbs2

I should be disappointed as I had bet this as 1-2 tonight.

The fact that we presently share a second grade league with yourgoodselves somehow comforts me, even if it is in the British b. movie category in terms of rank entertainment. There is a perverse amusement around this wreckage.

You seem to enjoy ............so knockyersell out

I'm not sure if Murray set us out to sit back in the 2nd half.

I think the issue is he's just completely unable to turn a collection of good Championship-level footballers into a good Championship side. We ended up under the cosh because the team just isn't working, particularly in the middle of the park.

Every game I have seen this season when we have gone a goal up we sit back and try to defend it. Is it management instructions? I do not know. However the manager is in charge and if it is instructions then the results prove that tactic is not working. So why does he persist? If it's not instructions then he is the guy in charge and should be changing things. Either way he carries the can.

And I do agree it was Carswell's best game for us. For 20 mins in the first half he looked an average Championship level player. However in the second half he turned into someone trying to direct traffic. He pointed at opposition players asking others to close them down while he just indicated who should be closed down . Maybe if he stopped pointing and actually did his job he would not have to point.

Morton totally deserved their point and in all honesty I won't not have been surprised if they had taken all 3.

Where do we start with St. Mirren however.

Langfield - some decent saves, poor distribution and some real crazy clearances. Might be one of our own but, not convinced at all by him this season.

Reid - Did OK i suppose but, no more than a below average player who offers nothing going forward.

Kelly - Have never liked the guy, will never like the guy, total bombscare, doesn't know how to defend or what to do with the ball. Lacks confidence and is a liability but, gets picked every week ????

Webster - Defended well tonight, maybe lacks pace at times but at least he shows a desire to win the ball and win his battle against the forward, would make him captain now in Goodwin's absence.

Baird - Thought Jack was our best player tonight but we need to watch his confidence doesn't take a battering playing in such a poor team/defence. Step forward Webster to help him at this time.

McMullan - Drifts in and out of games too easily, doesn't want to track back, flatters to deceive at times, wouldn't get a game with Blantyre Celtic never mind Glasgow Celtic.

Carswell - Did OK in parts tonight, still don't know how he managed to play at the SPL level for so long. Poor ball control, poor passing options, poor decisions, very poor player.

Agnew - Again drifts in and out of games, flatters to deceive, lacks fitness, couldnae tackle a fish supper, lucky to stay on pitch after elbowing Morton player. He was 28 years of age before he went full time which I think says a lot. Not good enough for Saints.

Mallan - A few nice touches tonight and a decent free kick towards the end of the first half. Only decent midfield player we have and maybe tries too hard to cover for his midfield team mates lack of ability by trying to cover for them and their lack of skill. Manager also plays him out of position at times.

Gallagher - Another flatter to deceive player who delivers very little, has a strange running style as if he bursting for the toilet whilst on the move.

Shankland - Showed very little tonight, had a couple of chances but, blew them. Got too involved with silly challenges and ended up booked. Poor performance overall.

Subs:

Mclear- If the wee guy was sitting next to me in the Bankhouse I wouldn't know who he was. Yet another midget from the under 20's production line but, hey lets's play the high ball to him... pointless. Too early to say if he's good enough, however a poor decision yet again by the Manager to drop a young boy into a game of this importance.

Thompson - Could someone please take Steven aside and tell him he's DONE AT THIS LEVEL. Contribution zero, hold up play hopeless, lack of ability/fitness embarrassing. Chuck it.

Howieson - On too late to make any impact but again lacks ability and I would have to say lacks heart and desire, again not good enough for Saints.

As for Murray he selects the team, I take it he works on tactics and set plays but nae matter who his number 2 is nothing changes, The team couldn't string 2 passes together, we sit far too deep and invite teams to attack. The midfield is non existent and the forwards have to feed off scraps. There is no structure to the team but it's all the referees fault because we keep getting bad decisions against us according to Ian. Wake up, smell the coffee and take a hike!!!

Overall tonight's performance was an embarrassment and I have seen better organised sides at the Racecourse.

God only knows how much more of this garbage we can all suffer.

Spot on.

Well let's be pragmatic, honest, admit the good and bad.........

St Mirren played well in the first half , we had encouraging movement and pace, it was a pleasant surprise. It was also noticeable that with Goodwin and Thomson not on he park there was an energy about us. Morton were surprised.

One nil at half time was acceptable and fair. Morton were also starting to get tetchy and play the prima dona act, petulance was getting obvious.

Second half , to be expected , they came after us, no surprise , but it was petering out and game was looking like ours......

Then , with time running out , three or four mins to go we play the subs and we glad hand each other, unforgivable , Thomson comes on for a couple of mins, a more destructive contribution he couldn't have made ! His lack of fitness and basic inability to 'hold it' for a moment was cruelly exposed, he presents them with a ball and , av it, we implode again. Whether or not the Morton player was offside side, I couldn't really give a f**k , we shot ourselves in the foot.

Based on our recent shite, this was better, but I am not a happy fan tonight, we threw away a platform tonight, we will now struggle on , and on , and on.

Gutted.

Take the blinkers off for gods sake, that was noting short of a disgrace, you wouldn't even call it a performance.

Battered by morton for 80 odd minutes is embarrassing, St.mirren is a complete laughing stock at the minute.

Take the blinkers off for gods sake, that was noting short of a disgrace, you wouldn't even call it a performance.

Battered by morton for 80 odd minutes is embarrassing, St.mirren is a complete laughing stock at the minute.

The performance was pish but I would hardly say we were battered for 80 minutes. We were marginally better than them in the first half. I would have bet my mortgage on Morton playing all night and not scoring actually.....if I didn't know we were going to gift them something!

As others have said, the fitness levels in our team are atrocious. What are these guys eating/doing in training to not be able to compete for 90 minutes? Special mention to Sean Kelly who consistently falls out of games after the 70 minutes...

Get these guys in shape and being responsible with their lifestyle choices etc. They need to understand that as professional footballers the least they should be able to do is run about for 90 minutes.

That would suggest the Kelly is ever in games. He's not. He's a dreadful player and the fact he plays every week says it all about our demise.

The performance was pish but I would hardly say we were battered for 80 minutes. We were marginally better than them in the first half. I would have bet my mortgage on Morton playing all night and not scoring actually.....if I didn't know we were going to gift them something!

Had morton scored 10 minutes earlier they would of won that match, we deserved nothing from it.

Hopeless.