Stranraer v St. Mirren 15/07/17

Would people on here rather have 300+ ' rowdy youths' pay to go and support the saints at all the away games to show a good backing, or would they rather these youths didn't turn up and let everyone else enjoy the game/train in peace?
I'm not praising or condemning any actions but surely the support is better to have? They're enjoying the days out as much as anyone else, as long as no one is getting hurt it can't be that bad?
I know a happy medium would be ideal, but there's a new generation of supporters which we probably want to keep?

What if someone on the train has ask them to tone it down and got abuse back ? Would you stick your neck out and ask dozens of drunks to behave ? Why can't people behave when around families with young children instead of being arseholes ?

13 minutes ago, DWBud said:

Would people on here rather have 300+ ' rowdy youths' pay to go and support the saints at all the away games to show a good backing, or would they rather these youths didn't turn up and let everyone else enjoy the game/train in peace?
I'm not praising or condemning any actions but surely the support is better to have? They're enjoying the days out as much as anyone else, as long as no one is getting hurt it can't be that bad?
I know a happy medium would be ideal, but there's a new generation of supporters which we probably want to keep?

Are you really saying that the type of behaviour described by people who were there is acceptable?

You seem to be accepting that supporters can do what they like as they are supporting the club?

When you say "as long as no one is getting hurt" that means Joe Public, including women and children, who happen to be on a train, are expected to put up with this sort of behaviour?

Can't you see that supporters can go to a game without being foul mouthed and coming across as threatening?

Aye, ok, accept we accept this behaviour or maybe the club should make it clear it's not acceptable to behave like morons.

FFS.

PS You are very much "praising" it with almost every word you posted.

Astonished that the question be asked.

I'd rather be 300 fans less, than 'supported' in the wrong manner ( which includes to and from matches )

What if someone on the train has ask them to tone it down and got abuse back ? Would you stick your neck out and ask dozens of drunks to behave ? Why can't people behave when around families with young children instead of being arseholes ?

I was only asking a question which you haven't answered? I was just curious, like I said I'm not praising any actions.
I don't agree with abusing anyone, particularly your own fans.

I was only asking a question which you haven't answered? I was just curious, like I said I'm not praising any actions.

Fair enough. My view is we would be better without them, since if they can't behave on public transport I would doubt they would now how to behave anywhere else.

1 minute ago, DWBud said:

Should that not read - I don't agree with abusing anyone and leave out particularly your own fans. From what I seen these young lads are drinking more than they can handle that's the problem. I'm sure sober they are very nice young lads. 

Are you really saying that the type of behaviour described by people who were there is acceptable?
You seem to be accepting that supporters can do what they like as they are supporting the club?
When you say "as long as no one is getting hurt" that means Joe Public, including women and children, who happen to be on a train, are expected to put up with this sort of behaviour?
Can't you see that supporters can go to a game without being foul mouthed and coming across as threatening?
Aye, ok, accept we accept this behaviour or maybe the club should make it clear it's not acceptable to behave like morons.
FFS.
PS You are very much "praising" it with almost every word you posted.

Like I said I'm not praising anything at all, i was only asking a question which I was curious about?
There's a bit of a divide from youth to older generation and I'm curious if when you were that age would you have the same opinion you have today?
I'm certainly not accepting that supporters can do whatever they want, that's absurd obviously.
I wasn't intending on ruffling any feathers on here, apologise if I have - like I said I was just curious if you would rather have the young ones for what they are or not have them at all?

19 minutes ago, DWBud said:

Like I said I'm not praising anything at all, i was only asking a question which I was curious about?
There's a bit of a divide from youth to older generation and I'm curious if when you were that age would you have the same opinion you have today?
I'm certainly not accepting that supporters can do whatever they want, that's absurd obviously.
I wasn't intending on ruffling any feathers on here, apologise if I have - like I said I was just curious if you would rather have the young ones for what they are or not have them at all?

Ok, your original post came across very much that this element could continue to behave as they did as they were supporting the team.

I'm sorry, that's unacceptable.

As for my age, I can, hand on heart, say I was brought up to respect innocent bystanders so I would still be of the same opinion.

Should that not read - I don't agree with abusing anyone and leave out particularly your own fans. From what I seen these young lads are drinking more than they can handle that's the problem. I'm sure sober they are very nice young lads. 

Yeah it probably should have, I definitely don't agree with abuse full stop!
They are drinking loads and I think they're caught in a hype - St Mirren. Like you said they're not bad lads and the don't mean any harm.
I think the best outcome is for these lads to stick to busses on away days, where they are all confined together which would eliminate the risk of anyone else being offended?

I'd be happy going for a pish and not seeing some of them shovelling shite up their nose. Thoughts DW?

Definitely mate, no one but the shoveler should see that. Stick them all on a bus together and let them do whatever they want to their bodies.

Ok, your original post came across very much that this element could continue to behave as they did as they were supporting the team.

I'm sorry, that's unacceptable.

As for my age, I can, hand on heart, say I was brought up to respect others so I would still be of the same opinion.

Definitely wasn't what I intended, I don't agree with bad behaviour and if they're doing drugs etc in front of young kids then that's a different matter.

I had wondered if some people (older gen) were maybe being slightly stricter towards them, but upon hearing some of their antics I (younger gen- i guess?) don't agree with that either.

I know the majority get on busses from the bankhouse etc which is predominantly young lads, but I wonder if it would be worthwhile to advertise for a younger-shovelling stuff up your nose-generation away travelling support bus? Or something along those lines, which would maybe suit everyone?

I think a lot of the grumps on here have forgot about some of their Saints Away days when they were young .

That said , there's no need to be abusive , use foul language or take drugs . 

A few beers and a sing song en route to away games , was pretty much how I spent most Saturdays during the eighties

I wanna be in that number

Yeah it probably should have, I definitely don't agree with abuse full stop!
They are drinking loads and I think they're caught in a hype - St Mirren. Like you said they're not bad lads and the don't mean any harm.
I think the best outcome is for these lads to stick to busses on away days, where they are all confined together which would eliminate the risk of anyone else being offended?

Good point which I fully agree with.

A young lassie with a wean in pram attempted to board the train at Girvan, took one look as it pulled in and opted not too. A small group of lassies dolled up for a night out were subjected to a mass tirade of cat calls and wolf whistles as the train pulled in at Maybole, they spent the journey to Ayr huddled in the door well of the carriage end, trying to keep out the way.

Some other lads offered abuse towards the female ticket inspector on the way down when they failed to understand why a massive flag tied over the train window might present a safety hazard.

As said, a bit of boisterousness on the way to an away game, might be acceptable, might be all fun and games to some, there's a time and a place though.

To answer DWBud's question, would we rather have these fans behaving like that or not have them at all, I'd rather they learnt how to behave properly. The behaviour described is totally unacceptable and reflects badly on the club. I'm wondering if there's a role for the SLO, if we have one, to meet with the young gents and explain standards of behaviour expected when following the Saints, or indeed, when in public?

4 minutes ago, Hendo said:

To answer DWBud's question, would we rather have these fans behaving like that or not have them at all, I'd rather they learnt how to behave properly. The behaviour described is totally unacceptable and reflects badly on the club. I'm wondering if there's a role for the SLO, if we have one, to meet with the young gents and explain standards of behaviour expected when following the Saints, or indeed, when in public?

Aye, there isn't really any justification for that type of behaviour, and I agree that it reflects badly on the club.

I'm not doubting the commitment of these lads in terms of their support for the club, but they need to realise that support extends to being decent ambassadors for the club. No-one is looking for angelic behaviour, but harassment of young women and the likes just isn't on - in any circumstances. I've got two young adult daughters, and wouldn't be happy for them to find themselves in that position.

This away day to Stranraer was being billed in some places as having the potential to be "messy" as if that is a great thing, and that legitimises this OTT behaviour to some degree. Perhaps a wee bit more thought needs to go into how folk are encouraged to get behind the club and the team.

They will behave if they attend Matches alcohol and drug free. 

Some ain't prepared to do that. 

I would guess there are a few fans, in their adult life who have never attended a Match alcohol free. 

Those on that Train should have not got anywhere near Stair Park and run out of Town under escort. 

I suspect some tabloid journalist will be reading this thread , and we will in the next couple of days have an article highlighting and exaggerating all the negatives , there will be a couple of quotes directly taken from this forum , and a few quotes made up from imaginary passengers . I hope I,m wrong .

That said , I hope some of those who misbehaved have seen some of these comments and can perhaps modify their behaviour when they follow the Saints on public transport .

1 minute ago, MenstrieSaint said:

I suspect some tabloid journalist will be reading this thread , and we will in the next couple of days have an article highlighting and exaggerating all the negatives , there will be a couple of quotes directly taken from this forum , and a few quotes made up from imaginary passengers . I hope I,m wrong .

That said , I hope some of those who misbehaved have seen some of these comments and can perhaps modify their behaviour when they follow the Saints on public transport .

If any tabloid journalist did pick this up maybe, as has been suggested, it might encourage the club to strike up sort of dialogue with sections of the support and make it clear dragging the club through the gutter isn't really what is expected from a supporter.

1 hour ago, Hendo said:

I believe we have two SLOs. Good shout Hendo. The SLO can find them in the Bankhouse.

While enthusiasm should be encouraged so must responsibility. It is simply unacceptable to shout, swear or intimidate people going about their normal business. It is an embarrassment to St Mirren. End of.

And yes I was young and went to away games on public transport mainly, but I had been brought up to respect others. Singing on a supporters bus is ok but not in a non-football situation like a scheduled train.

I believe we have two SLOs. Good shout Hendo. The SLO can find them in the Bankhouse.
While enthusiasm should be encouraged so must responsibility. It is simply unacceptable to shout, swear or intimidate people going about their normal business. It is an embarrassment to St Mirren. End of.
And yes I was young and went to away games on public transport mainly, but I had been brought up to respect others. Singing on a supporters bus is ok but not in a non-football situation like a scheduled train.

Why the bankhouse.

4 minutes ago, santaponsasaint said:

Why the bankhouse.

Because if the SLO/Club is trying to find out who to chat about the situation with at least some of them drink in there, that's why. 

Edited by Sonny