Gavin Reilly

39 minutes ago, Bud the Baker said:

It's a bit of a "mibbes aye, mibbes naw" signing but that's the market we're in.

I'd have preferred Greg Spence who scored 26 goals for Alloa last season and who ended up at Raith so I presume we could've got him but fingers crossed the 2J's have more hits than misses so far.  

Only 16 of those goals were in the league proper though (not including play off) and at least 2 were penalties.

His record was 174 minutes per goal in the league last season compared with Ross Stewart whose record was 151 minutes per goal - with a lesser side. Indeed, Jordan Kirkpatrick's record was 188 minutes per goal and he was playing in midfield and he didn't take the penalties.

:P

32 minutes ago, mcdowell76 said:

Only 16 of those goals were in the league proper though (not including play off) and at least 2 were penalties.

His record was 174 minutes per goal in the league last season compared with Ross Stewart whose record was 151 minutes per goal - with a lesser side. Indeed, Jordan Kirkpatrick's record was 188 minutes per goal and he was playing in midfield and he didn't take the penalties.

:P

Looking back to last season, a reliable penalty taker would have had us safe before the last day - everything else being equal.

Maybe we should play Kirkpatrick as a striker but assuming we're not going to and it was a choice between Reilly & Spence (who I thought looked good on the televised play-off game against Brechin outwith his goals) then I'd still have gone for Spence who has reached double figures in his last 5 seasons including two in the Championship!

Club Season League Scottish Cup League Cup Other Total
Apps Goals Apps Goals Apps Goals Apps Goals Apps Goals
Alloa Athletic 2008–09 18 4 0 0 1 0 0 0 19 4
2009–10 1[33] 0 0 0 1 0 1 1 3 1
Total 19[6] 4 0 0 2 0 1 1 22 5
Celtic 2009–10 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
2010–11 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
2011–12 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Total 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Hamilton Academical (loan) 2011–12 29 5 2 0 0 0 3 1 34 6
Raith Rovers 2012–13 32 11 4 2 3 1 2 1 41 15
2013–14 27 9 4 0 1 1 5 2 37 12
Total 59 20 8 2 4 2 7 3 78 27
Alloa Athletic 2014–15 28 4 1 0 2 2 5 7 36 13
Cowdenbeath 2015–16 36 17 3 1 1 0 3 1 43 19
Alloa Athletic 2016–17 35 16 2 1 6 3 3 3 46 23
Raith Rovers 2017–18 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Career Total 206 66 16 4 15 7 22 16 259 93

PS - His 2016/17 figures don't include the three in the play offs.

1 hour ago, mcdowell76 said:

Well that's got to be a bonus after the string of misses from the spot last season.

3 hours ago, Bud the Baker said:

Looking back to last season, a reliable penalty taker would have had us safe before the last day - everything else being equal.

Maybe we should play Kirkpatrick as a striker but assuming we're not going to and it was a choice between Reilly & Spence (who I thought looked good on the televised play-off game against Brechin outwith his goals) then I'd still have gone for Spence who has reached double figures in his last 5 seasons including two in the Championship!

Club Season League Scottish Cup League Cup Other Total
Apps Goals Apps Goals Apps Goals Apps Goals Apps Goals
Alloa Athletic 2008–09 18 4 0 0 1 0 0 0 19 4
2009–10 1[33] 0 0 0 1 0 1 1 3 1
Total 19[6] 4 0 0 2 0 1 1 22 5
Celtic 2009–10 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
2010–11 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
2011–12 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Total 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Hamilton Academical (loan) 2011–12 29 5 2 0 0 0 3 1 34 6
Raith Rovers 2012–13 32 11 4 2 3 1 2 1 41 15
2013–14 27 9 4 0 1 1 5 2 37 12
Total 59 20 8 2 4 2 7 3 78 27
Alloa Athletic 2014–15 28 4 1 0 2 2 5 7 36 13
Cowdenbeath 2015–16 36 17 3 1 1 0 3 1 43 19
Alloa Athletic 2016–17 35 16 2 1 6 3 3 3 46 23
Raith Rovers 2017–18 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Career Total 206 66 16 4 15 7 22 16 259 93

PS - His 2016/17 figures don't include the three in the play offs.

The fact he scored a couple of penalties doesn't mean he is a reliable penalty taker though. He may have missed 10....

He was also facing lesser quality goalkeepers....

The fact that Kirkpatrick can score from midfield doesn't mean he would be a good striker. Completely different!

Spence's record does look half decent though. However, just looking at league goals and excluding penalties (he scored 4 penalties out of 9 league goals in 13/14 for example), his record isn't that great.

His best seasons have been the past 2 but they have been at a lower level. Last season in particular with a promotion winning side. Despite that great season, he hasn't managed to win a move to the Championship.

We'll need to agree to disagree.

I think if Reilly can bag 12 to 14 league goals for us next season then we'll be not far from a promotion play off spot at least.

Edited by mcdowell76

19 hours ago, faraway saint said:

So, you're saying anyone who doesn't jump up and down with glee at every signing goes into the doom room? :lol:

Away and have a drink. :rolleyes:

Anyone who has been selected to play for us is a celebration, If JR picked u we would toast your health

Now pass the port!!!

19 hours ago, shull said:

I am positive that TC will support the Team 100% at all Matches. 

He is entitled to his opinion on here and should not be placed in the SIN BIN because you or anybody else disagrees with him. 

That is pathetic. 

Lighten Up Shull, as I was in the Sin Bin for passing comments on the old board when we were sitting on 4pts. So your opinion point is pish. 

With Top Cat casting doubt over this signing, I am now confident that this lad will bag 20 goals for us next season. Tickety tock!

Welcome to the best club in the world, Gavin!

BTW, we aren't all bawbags:)

9 minutes ago, Isle Of Bute Saint said:

The boy will be hungry to get started and as I pointed out further back the spirit in the dressing room and the stands will contribute to a good feel factor a great base in which to start at a  new club. 

Here's hoping it's near 100% as possible.

2 minutes ago, paul torfason said:

welcome to our wonderful club,stepped in history and very passionate about our club,as long as you play for our beloved jersey and show us passion on park and show you care you will be looked after here,WELCOME

Almost stepped in sh!te last season.

2 minutes ago, paul torfason said:

welcome to our wonderful club,stepped in history and very passionate about our club,as long as you play for our beloved jersey and show us passion on park and show you care you will be looked after here,WELCOME

Aye, and if he disnae score a hat trick in his first game he'll be roundly called a diddy.

Welcome. :lol:

15 minutes ago, paul torfason said:

Well done Lucy :lol: