Butchers Steak & Grill in Elderslie

The Elderslie butchers, which is absolutely magic, have expanded their empire further after the success of their coffee shop in Stoddart Square by buying the site on the corner of Glenpatrick Road which was been an Indian for donkeys years.

The guys have completely gutted the place and spent a fortune on converting it to the new Butchers Steak & Grill which opens this week.

If you like a steak it's sure to be worth a visit as the meat from the butchers is top class.

Will report back once I've been in myself!

1 hour ago, cockles1987 said:

Gavin certainly is a top butcher, hopefully he's got a chef to complement the ingredients. emoji106.png

What a turn around the boy has done

He was a talented fitba player being on the books at Motherwell and Morton

Went to Australia with his mate and came back once his vista ran out

His mate ended up staying and Gavin came back a different person and made a struggling shop a success

The shop isn't big enough for the demand especially Xmas time

The Coffee Shop is also a roaring success with Fitzy,Lambert among others used it

The Steak and Grill has up to 400 bookings already and that's without knowing the Menu or prices

We will see if he can make it 3 in a row

42 minutes ago, salmonbuddie said:

The Cabin, if you don't mind.

I used to drink in there occasionally when I stayed in Elderslie back in the 1970s. There was a terrifying wee wummin who worked there who had wiry (pubic-style) hairs growing through the skin of her nose. If she was playing pool you had to wait until the frame was finished before you got served. Customer service in the 1970s.

I think The Cabin had been called Uncle Tom's Cabin previously.

Right folks. Here's how to make a magnificent sirloin steak at home. Impress your better half with restaurant-standard skills, make this for a special dinner, here we go... it's so simple.

1. Buy top-quality sirloin steak the day before you want to eat it from a quality butcher (such as mentioned in this thread).

2. Scrunch up a sheet of kitchen roll and pour olive oil on the roll. Rub over both sides of the steak.

3. Splash two drops of tabasco sauce (no more than two) onto each side of steak and rub in using scrunched up olive oil sheet.

4. Sprinkle some rock salt / sea salt / any type of crunchy salt onto each side of steak.

5. Place steaks on a wire rack - cover with sheets of kitchen roll, place in refrigerator overnight to tenderise.

Now we move onto eating day. Before cooking...

1. Remove from fridge 30 minutes before cooking to reach room temperature.

2. Heat a ridged frying pan to very high heat - do NOT add any oil or anything.

3. When the dry pan is sizzling hot, using tongs, place the steaks in the pan - leave. Do not move, turn or fanny around with.

4. For a well-done steak with no blood - leave the steak for 5 mins. Time it with your phone.

5. After bang-on 5 mins, use the tongs to flip the steak onto the other side.

6. After 5 mins on side two - remove steak and let sit on a wire rack over a plate while you organise the rest of your food...

That could be your roasted potatoes, home-made chips, peppercorn sauce, fried mushroom, fried onion...

Plate up, pour a nice red wine.... you will be a hero. Trust me, this is a killer steak.

B)

Edit - the hot dry pan creates a bit of a smoky atmosphere in yer' kitchen. Close the door and open the windows. Here to help.

Home-made chips to go with your steak... you will be a hero x 2... 

Buy large ordinary spuds. Basic spuds. Peel. Cut into nice big thick chip shapes.

Rinse under cold water. Pat dry with kitchen roll.

Place in a big bowl. Drizzle with olive oil and toss around. Shake some rock salt / sea salt / crunchy salt on chips.

Toss around again.

Arrange chips on wire rack in oven-ready tray.

Heat oven to 200c.

Place chips in heated oven for 45mins. Leave - no turning or fannying around required.

Serve with steak as described above.

Cooking is one of my big interests. Hope you try, and like, these two posts!

14 minutes ago, pozbaird said:

Right folks. Here's how to make a magnificent sirloin steak at home. Impress your better half with restaurant-standard skills, make this for a special dinner, here we go... it's so simple.

1. Buy top-quality sirloin steak the day before you want to eat it from a quality butcher (such as mentioned in this thread).

2. Scrunch up a sheet of kitchen roll and pour olive oil on the roll. Rub over both sides of the steak.

3. Splash two drops of tabasco sauce (no more than two) onto each side of steak and rub in using scrunched up olive oil sheet.

4. Sprinkle some rock salt / sea salt / any type of crunchy salt onto each side of steak.

5. Place steaks on a wire rack - cover with sheets of kitchen roll, place in refrigerator overnight to tenderise.

3. When the dry pan is sizzling hot, using tongs, place the steaks in the pan - leave. Do not move, turn or fanny around with.

4. For a well-done steak with no blood - leave the steak for 5 mins. Time it with your phone.

6. After 5 mins on side two - remove steak and let sit on a wire rack over a plate while you organise the rest of your food...

That could be your roasted potatoes, home-made chips, peppercorn sauce, fried mushroom, fried onion...

Plate up, pour a nice red wine.... you will be a hero. Trust me, this is a killer steak.

B)

Edit - the hot dry pan creates a bit of a smoky atmosphere in yer' kitchen. Close the door and open the windows. Here to help.

Or go along to this new venture and have someone cook it all for you.

Here to help.

B)

Yer a regular Fanny!

B)

Aye, but a fanny who can cook. Want my lasagne recipe? Secret ingredient redcurrant jelly to add a bit of sweetness to the sauce?

[emoji4]

If you cook a steak for that long at that temperature, you're just a fanny. IMO.

Just eat charcoal, it's much cheaper and pre-cooked.

[emoji4]

If you cook a steak for that long at that temperature, you're just a fanny. IMO.

Just eat charcoal, it's much cheaper and pre-cooked.

[emoji4]

2 mins each side, wrap in foil and 'rest' for another 5.
Better still, it's faither's day - get the wife or weans tae cook it!