Mixing Of Family Stand

12 hours ago, skodasaint said:

right here goes my auld man has his season tkt where livi fans were he got his smartcard activated for the game went to his seat livi fan on ...thats my seat ma friend ..aw for f**ksake sit somewhere else the auld yin dug his heels in naw move the guy hummed and hawd dad got his seat but got snidey comments all through game . my dad  a placid auld fecker 80years old 73 years watching st mirren  spitting feathers went down to ground wed morning to complain got told sorry nobody in to talk to you will need to come back they just palmed him off 

That is an absolute disgrace!!

12 hours ago, skodasaint said:

right here goes my auld man has his season tkt where livi fans were he got his smartcard activated for the game went to his seat livi fan on ...thats my seat ma friend ..aw for f**ksake sit somewhere else the auld yin dug his heels in naw move the guy hummed and hawd dad got his seat but got snidey comments all through game . my dad  a placid auld fecker 80years old 73 years watching st mirren  spitting feathers went down to ground wed morning to complain got told sorry nobody in to talk to you will need to come back they just palmed him off 

Even more reason to open the away stand instead of trying to save money. This sort of pish is a surefire way of putting people off going, this shouldn't have happened and i would like to think the BOD will learn a quick lesson from this and not repeat it. When i looked over at the family stand i couldn't believe there was no segregation and also why should those with season tickets have to move for away fans? This is not difficult! Open the away stand and pay the extra staff!

Just now, pozbaird said:

Is that to do with the broken smartcard machine?

Yes... that's been broken since May apparently. Not that big a deal yet as long as i get it for the Falkirk game but it is very unprofessional for a club of our size that this wasn't fixed within a matter of days instead of months.

Who at the club makes those kind of decision like the sharing of the stand ?  Are we really employing someone with a total lack of common sense or was the decision taken at board level which would scare me even more ?  Hope big skodasaint dad gets some proper answers from  the actual person that made this decision, and not from the SLO guy.

17 hours ago, pozbaird said:

So, as things stand, the club say to fans, if you hit 1000 STs in the West Stand, it will be 'all Saints' unless there's a cup game where we will need to pap the away fans in there. A couple of weeks later,  a cup game comes along, and a small away support is papped into an unsegregated St Mirren family stand, where the 'no swearing' mantra wasn't respected.

Well played St Mirren BoD, well played.

I think the home cup game segregation exception will be for home draws against teams with big supports rather than small ones. 

The ex con that is assistant manager of Livi let a few tirades go and I think a guy complained.it seemed as if he was the one in bother.

The steward and suited guy were giving him a hard time.

Anyway we have moved to the main stand,who else apart form Shull is in the main stand,I will recognise home with his chauffeurs hat on :P

27 minutes ago, Eaglesham saint said:

The ex con that is assistant manager of Livi let a few tirades go and I think a guy complained.it seemed as if he was the one in bother.

Anyway we have moved to the main stand,who else apart form Shull is in the main stand,I will recognise home with his chauffeurs hat on :P

I was only in the Main Stand for the Dundee match, as my normal Stand was closed. 

And I was only there because Season Tickets were valid. 

56 minutes ago, Eaglesham saint said:

I sit in the Main Stand.I'm at the Gasworks End at the 18 yard line.

1 hour ago, Thorizaar said:

I think the home cup game segregation exception will be for home draws against teams with big supports rather than small ones. 

Better not be any form of segregation in Family Stand as this would involve moving us to accommodate them!

That issue does not apply to North or West Stands

1 hour ago, Eaglesham saint said:

Sorry to see you have joined the sweary mob in the Main Stand ES. Best of luck over there :)

When I asked to get a shift from the South Stand, the steward was very clear that the non-segregation decision was a cost saving exercise. That is piss-poor.

The decision was flawed in so many ways, the club should issue an apology and assurances that it won't happen again.

I'm all for learning from mistakes, but it wouldn't have been difficult to anticipate that this was a clusterf**k of an idea.

few days on now auld yin cooled doon a bit  lol like me he is passionate about st mirren in a nutshell think the best way forward is for away fans no matter what the size support is to be housed in the north stand ,hopefully this issue will get solved 

I was in the family stand and it wasn't pleasant at times. 

I can see the idea of creating a mixed family friendly area, but that only has a chance to work if it is only families that are in there, with the 'hardcore' support housed in an away stand. 

I don't think many of the livi fans really appreciated or cared about what the club is trying to nurture by creating a family friendly area and came along and acted as many of our own fans would do. 

I don't think it was helped by our own teams performance and the understandable heckling of our players from the Livi fans. It must have been difficult for Sammy to know what set of fans the insults were coming from. 

I do think a mixed family stand could possibly work but not where the whole away support is put in it. 

5 minutes ago, DumboBud said:

I do think a mixed family stand could possibly work but not where the whole away support is put in it. 

Good shout, though I'm not sure how that would be managed on a practical basis. In any event, this wasn an attempt to foster a non-segregated, family friendly environment. It was a cost saving exercise, pure and simple.

1 hour ago, Drew said:

When I asked to get a shift from the South Stand, the steward was very clear that the non-segregation decision was a cost saving exercise. That is piss-poor.

The decision was flawed in so many ways, the club should issue an apology and assurances that it won't happen again.

I'm all for learning from mistakes, but it wouldn't have been difficult to anticipate that this was a clusterf**k of an idea.

What? Another blunder barely a few weeks behind the Open Day fiasco? Worrying.Oh, Baz will be along soon with his hilarious St moan and boo lines, watch oot.

I was in the family stand and it wasn't pleasant at times. 
I can see the idea of creating a mixed family friendly area, but that only has a chance to work if it is only families that are in there, with the 'hardcore' support housed in an away stand. 
I don't think many of the livi fans really appreciated or cared about what the club is trying to nurture by creating a family friendly area and came along and acted as many of our own fans would do. 
I don't think it was helped by our own teams performance and the understandable heckling of our players from the Livi fans. It must have been difficult for Sammy to know what set of fans the insults were coming from. 

The Fakes tried that I'm sure.
I gave it a try but it was a nasty and abusive environment.

I loved the Tennants Sixes and fans of numerous teams mixing and sharing banter.

Sadly, years of segregation has created noting but hostility between rival supports and mixed stands simply won't work.

2 hours ago, Drew said:

Did they take you out of the family stand, walk you around the carpark then enter the west stand ?  The reverse happen to me 2 years ago. I was in the west but mate was in the family due to him being told at the ticket office the west was full and no seats left  :lol:     At half time I ask a steward if I could move and fair due they did help me out but only after checking with the police control office :huh:  Got taken out the back of the west, walked round to the family and after gaining entry walked to my new seat next to my mate with the steward watching us for a bit before going away :lol:  Why I just couldn't walk from the bottom of the stand behind the corner flag to the family stand I do not know. Seem if there is a easy or hard way to do something this club will do it the hard way.

6 minutes ago, renfrew said:

Did they take you out of the family stand, walk you around the carpark then enter the west stand ?  The reverse happen to me 2 years ago. I was in the west but mate was in the family due to him being told at the ticket office the west was full and no seats left  :lol:     At half time I ask a steward if I could move and fair due they did help me out but only after checking with the police control office :huh:  Got taken out the back of the west, walked round to the family and after gaining entry walked to my new seat next to my mate with the steward watching us for a bit before going away :lol:  Why I just couldn't walk from the bottom of the stand behind the corner flag to the family stand I do not know. Seem if there is a easy or hard way to do something this club will do it the hard way.

We didn't get walked to a seat in the West Stand, but otherwise, aye. The steward called the supervisor on the radio, and he came over and escorted us across.

We were then stripped, full body searched (including cavities), and interrogated by West Stand Border Control officers. To be fair, that was less of an ordeal than watching the game:ph34r:

1 minute ago, Drew said:

We didn't get walked to a seat in the West Stand, but otherwise, aye. The steward called the supervisor on the radio, and he came over and escorted us across.

We were then stripped, full body searched (including cavities), and interrogated by West Stand Border Control officers. To be fair, that was at my personal request.

Freak. :o