Mixing Of Family Stand

On ‎20‎/‎07‎/‎2017 at 2:12 PM, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

It will be a cold day in hell, the day we eradicate swearing from football matches.

I have taken all three of my daughters to St. Mirren games over the years and have never had an issue with them being exposed to bad language. I've never brought them up to think that "bad" things don't exist, more that they recognise what is unacceptable and don't do it themselves (well, not in front of me anyway). In fact it has been quite comical seeing how they react to these situations. I actually remember vividly the first game I took my middle daughter to. It was a first division game at home to Clyde. We won 2-1 (I think Alan Russell scored both our goals). We were in the PDE stand which I'm sure was effectively the family stand at the time. I'm pretty sure we went 1-0 down in that match and a particularly "colourful" tirade was launched from the row right behind us, which included some player of ref being told he would be seen next Tuesday. My daughter (who was probably about 7 I guess) and I turned to each other in unison. I expected horror on her face, but instead I was greeted by a slightly sheepish giggle. I simply said to her "You know that's naughty yeah?". She nodded and we went about her business.

I'm all for the moderation of certain behaviours that have been discussed over the last week, but the day that football is sanitised to a level where people aren't allowed to swear, is the day I'll chuck it.

For me it wasn't the swearing, it was the SCREECHING NOISE LEVEL and it was constant EVERYTHING that happened was a MASSIVE shouty tirade of whatever - ma heid actually hurt - nightmare!

21 hours ago, skodasaint said:

right here goes my auld man has his season tkt where livi fans were he got his smartcard activated for the game went to his seat livi fan on ...thats my seat ma friend ..aw for f**ksake sit somewhere else the auld yin dug his heels in naw move the guy hummed and hawd dad got his seat but got snidey comments all through game . my dad  a placid auld fecker 80years old 73 years watching st mirren  spitting feathers went down to ground wed morning to complain got told sorry nobody in to talk to you will need to come back they just palmed him off 

this is the sort of shite the club need to sort out FAST. Should it not have been can we have your number and someone will call you asap. Customer service is SHITE,  been there - done a official compliant - didn't make any difference sadly. Last year was first year of new board, smisa etc the main aim was staying up and I appreciate that but this year they need to get customer service feckin sorted. I don't like to think of it has business/customer but that's what it is. I enjoyed that wee rant .

1 hour ago, Drew said:

We didn't get walked to a seat in the West Stand, but otherwise, aye. The steward called the supervisor on the radio, and he came over and escorted us across.

We were then stripped, full body searched (including cavities), and interrogated by West Stand Border Control officers. To be fair, that was less of an ordeal than watching the game:ph34r:

Lucky you, it's only at airports now that I get a full body touch up but sadly it's usually by people fatter than me :(

Somebody answered a post of mine last season about the cost of opening the North stand. Can't remember the figure but it certainly wasn't a crazy amount. Maybe if the BOD cut back on some of their matchday [emoji490] [emoji487] [emoji510] [emoji488] [emoji482] [emoji485] in the board room the saving could help to keep the away stand open for away fans

15 hours ago, Miss Saint said:

For me it wasn't the swearing, it was the SCREECHING NOISE LEVEL and it was constant EVERYTHING that happened was a MASSIVE shouty tirade of whatever - ma heid actually hurt - nightmare!

If I wasn't for the swearing part that sounds exactly like the wummin behind me at the cup final. In fairness to her she didnae swear but oh my god she was irritating. Like you say, the constant running commentary. A clueless commentary at that. Joining in with songs too but getting all the words wrong. 

23 minutes ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

If I wasn't for the swearing part that sounds exactly like the wummin behind me at the cup final. In fairness to her she didnae swear but oh my god she was irritating. Like you say, the constant running commentary. A clueless commentary at that. Joining in with songs too but getting all the words wrong. 

Aye but apart from that you enjoyed the banter?:D

1 hour ago, DumboBud said:

Looks like the 'mixed zone' is happening again for the East Kilbride game.  

Not sure I've seen any positive feedback about the Livi experience. 

They are spoiling our matchday experience every time away fans are mixed with us. they cannot guarantee good behaviour, it is only supposition and hope in an attempt to save money.

It doesn't matter how many fans, it is the fact that they are opposing fans.

SLO are supposed to be raising this issue at next meeting on 3rd Aug. I would have thought that no other decisions would be taken until then. If going ahead despite awareness of fans concerns (due to experience not unfounded belief) then this is a development we should all be concerned about,

No doubt the next step will be to tell us we need to move our seats!

Who has the fans interest?

It's a shame that people can't sit together throughout the stadium as they do in rugby.

I've attended many Rugby league & union games in Leeds & though in the main visiting fans use 'their end' , it's common for fans to mix without any issues.

It's a shame it appears to be just an issue in football.

2 minutes ago, whydowebother said:

It's a shame that people can't sit together throughout the stadium as they do in rugby.

I've attended many Rugby league & union games in Leeds & though in the main visiting fans use 'their end' , it's common for fans to mix without any issues.

It's a shame it appears to be just an issue in football.

As a family stand ST holder I don't have a problem with it if it's done correctly, I actually welcome it like the Thistle game a few seasons ago. However, only in games where there was also a dedicated away stand. 

The mixing of the family stand should be for away families only. 

As a family stand ST holder I don't have a problem with it if it's done correctly, I actually welcome it like the Thistle game a few seasons ago. However, only in games where there was also a dedicated away stand. 

I like your idea , as it'll show the younger ones the way forward so when they get to teens and older they'll be used to mixing and in theory should bring this nonsense to an end.

9 minutes ago, davidg said:

This makes sense. 

Well said sir.

That said, for the likes of EK it really should not be a problem.

Sadly, I am working that night, or else I could be at peace with myself as an EK resident Saints ST holder! I don't think I would cause myself any trouble!

1 hour ago, BuddieinEK said:

Well said sir.

That said, for the likes of EK it really should not be a problem.

Sadly, I am working that night, or else I could be at peace with myself as an EK resident Saints ST holder! I don't think I would cause myself any trouble!

Or you could get a kicking from both sets of fans!!! :P

On ‎24‎/‎07‎/‎2017 at 5:03 PM, davidg said:

Indeed!

17 minutes ago, DumboBud said:

I think they only promised it for league games. 

That's my point. 

There was no mention of the family stand, all that was mentioned was that they may need to house away fans in the west for certain Cup ties.