St Mirren songs

Brilliant Start to the season. The team are getting it together on the park and JR is praising the support on the terracing but I reckon us supporters could up our game a bit and get some new chants going. Let’s make some of the new players feel at home.

It was great to see wee Gavin Reilly getting a mention and some recognition from the terracing on Saturday. Stepping into the old Stevie Mallon chant is a bit of an accolade but could our Lyric masters maybe think up some new songs.

In saying that I fair miss the Craig Storrie playing behind Rory tune. That was a catchy wee song. If we can’t come up with new ones, could we somehow resurrect that?

Anyone any ideas.

3 minutes ago, Soctty said:

A Gavin Reilly song to the tune of Life Of Riley by the Lightning Seeds could work. Time for creative people to get to work...

That could work. Lyrics would need a bit of thought and its a catchy wee tune but something simple like

He'll always find the net

GAVIN REILLY

would probably work

47 minutes ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

What was the one on Saturday to the tune of "I'm into something good"?

Woke up this morning feeling fine, got st mirren, on my mind. Jack Ross has got us playing, the way we should, oh yeah. Something tells me - I'm into something good...

(repeat till deed) 

Thought the fans were great again on Saturday and the whole of the West Stand was getting the bug as the songs drifted right across the stand. Very pleasing to see/hear plenty of auld fuds (like me) joining in.

I saw on P&B that some grumpy (and no doubt humping embittered) Falkirk fan moaning about the drum and saying something like “How anyone thinks a drum belongs at a fitba game is beyond me”. I would say that when said drum is being randomly battered by some tuneless muppet, I’d tend to agree with him. HOWEVER, when you have a magnificent rythmsmith (I just made that word up and I like it a lot!) such as our distinguished percussionist, the sound is quite simply fantastic and adds brilliantly to the atmosphere.

Well done that man. I may even shake you by the hand when I’m back up for the QotS game next month

To the tune of She Loves You by the Beatles

"We love you yeah, yeah"

"We love you yeah yeah"

"With a team like this we know were not mad"

"And you know that can't be bad"

"St Mirren - we love you."

---------------------------------

"We know we lose some games

"We think that's only fair

"But we love you yeah yeah

"We love you yeah yeah

"And you know that can't be bad."

"St Mirren we love you."

--------------------------------------

On 7 August 2017 at 5:47 PM, St.Ricky said:

To the tune of She Loves You by the Beatles

"We love you yeah, YEAH,  yeah"

"We love you yeah YEAH, yeah"

"With a team like this we know were not mad"

"And you know that can't be bad"

"St Mirren - we love you."

---------------------------------

"We know we lose some games

"We think that's only fair

"But we love you yeah YEAH yeah

"We love you yeah YEAH yeah

"And you know that can't be bad."

"St Mirren we love you."

--------------------------------------

Apart from those missing YEAHS, it disnae scan, St Ricky, it disnae fit the tune.

And there's too many dropped syllables and missing lines.

St Mirren fans are such prima donnas, seeking perfection, that I feel sure you'd encounter hissy fits in W7 if you tried to get them singing that...

19 hours ago, East Lothian Saint said:

That could work. Lyrics would need a bit of thought and its a catchy wee tune but something simple like

He'll always find the net

GAVIN REILLY

would probably work

Doesn't need much tweaking from Lightning Seeds original:

'We don't mind, we get the feeling, 

We'll be fine, we still believe that, 

Every week, he's gonnae find the net

Cos he's Gavin Reilly.' 

Edited by djchapsticks

Apart from those missing YEAHS, it disnae scan, St Ricky, it disnae fit the tune.

And there's too many dropped syllables and missing lines.

St Miren fans are such prima donnas, seeking perfection, that I feel sure you'd encounter hissy fits in W7 if you tried to get them singing that...

It was my starter for 10. I know others could improve it. Time to let the experts play with it.

2 hours ago, djchapsticks said:

Cos he's Gavin Reilly.' 

Knew someone could sort it out. Also has a bit of the doo doo doos as well after the chorus, which fitba fans all seem to love...

2 hours ago, djchapsticks said:

Cos he's Gavin Reilly.' 

Good work djchapsticks. Job Done. Hope to hear this getting belted out at the Morton Game

5 hours ago, djchapsticks said:

Cos he's Gavin Reilly.'

This definitely has mileage.

Expect it to be a staple by the time I come up for my next game next month.

Good work that man.