Injury Updates

4 hours ago, Lord Pityme said:

seems now a life-long St Mirren fan cant wish one of our better players was back on the park doing what he does best, without a whole host of not just ill-informed, but completely 'un-informed' roasters jumping down his neck!

Just a question..... the player we signed months ago, who is still some way off playing again... would it be wrong to wish he got his boots back on and got out there again..? Is that too unthinking, uncaring and unfairly drawing attention to the fact he's carved a bum print out on the physio's table?

Aye that's what Gordon was doing. :lol:

When he said "political correctness gone mad" what he ACTUALLY meant was that he just cared deeply. :lol:

,fully understand this,had very serious back injury,double disc prolapse,had major surgery,lucky to walk again hospital said,3 months in bed after surgery and another 6 months healing,that was 8 year ago,and best thing that ever happened,100% now,after 10 years of going to doctor and basically say bad back and giving me pain killers,so saved up for MRI scan,took images to hospital and they took me to southern general in ambulance next day for immediate surgery,needless to say,quit doctors after a gave him verbal abuse,10 year of fobbing me off

Aye that's what Gordon was doing. :lol:

When he said "political correctness gone mad" what he ACTUALLY meant was that he just cared deeply. :lol:

So you know all about Gary McKenzie..? And Gordon U?

never spoke to G Mc, but I know Gordon U is a good buddy through and through. And i know this because he is a friend, you know a human i actually talk to in the real world, not a poster on a forum who 'I Think' i know what he thinks, or can interpret his post as i see fit.

of course if you know both these people in the real world you will be able to tell us all what is going on with them, and what they are like as people you have met and spent time with.

fell free to deflect to try and take the attention away from your ignorance, dont think it will be very successful though.

1 hour ago, Lord Pityme said:

So you know all about Gary McKenzie..? And Gordon U?

never spoke to G Mc, but I know Gordon U is a good buddy through and through. And i know this because he is a friend, you know a human i actually talk to in the real world, not a poster on a forum who 'I Think' i know what he thinks, or can interpret his post as i see fit.

of course if you know both these people in the real world you will be able to tell us all what is going on with them, and what they are like as people you have met and spent time with.

fell free to deflect to try and take the attention away from your ignorance, dont think it will be very successful though.

Blimey. :lol:

I'm totally lost reading this thread. Without asking for too much detail, is the rumour now that MacKenzie is physically fine but has other issues (and I'm not talking about concussion)?
If so it's no laughing matter.

I doubt if the club would come out and confirm the rumours , but Gary is still attending all the matches , usually with his family .

On 13/10/2017 at 11:11 PM, Sonny said:

Just under 500 Scottish men per annum commit suicide. The above is an indicator of why men cannot talk about personal issues.

On 05/08/2017 at 8:12 PM, FTOF said:

Not going to happen until he's sectioned.

And you condoning the above post by liking it just indicates you're a fecking hypocrite. 

Shameful. 

Mental health chat on here, very sensitive subject. If that is the case with Mac or any of our players I wish them all the support they desire. I think in the modern world with all the 'let's talk about mental health' campaigns it's important to remember it's not always easy/ desirable for some. 

The negative viewpoints on mental health is disappointing but not surprising to me. Unfortunately there are a fair number of people that play up to it and this in-turn makes it harder for genuine sufferers. Used to witness it all the time in work. 'Sickies' for stress, depression and anxiety are becoming as common as for the cold or a tummy bug.   

12 minutes ago, bazil85 said:

Mental health chat on here, very sensitive subject. If that is the case with Mac or any of our players I wish them all the support they desire. I think in the modern world with all the 'let's talk about mental health' campaigns it's important to remember it's not always easy/ desirable for some. 

The negative viewpoints on mental health is disappointing but not surprising to me. Unfortunately there are a fair number of people that play up to it and this in-turn makes it harder for genuine sufferers. Used to witness it all the time in work. 'Sickies' for stress, depression and anxiety are becoming as common as for the cold or a tummy bug.   

If this is true its a real shame..................... I am sure the club will support any player with this condition and so will the fans......

Gary was immense last year in the games that mattered

On ‎13‎/‎10‎/‎2017 at 10:53 PM, djchapsticks said:

Being told 'Get over it' is probably the most harmful thing to tell someone going through any sort of difficulty. It's attitudes like that which prevent people going through any sort of issues from truly opening up about it for fear of being perceived as weak. 

I struggled physically as a result of a completely debilitating back injury I suffered at work that put my life on hold for 18 months before a specialist finally listened, diagnosed that a disc had been herniated in two places and decided surgery was the only option. The mental knock on of 18 months of chronic, unrelenting pain was profound and something I genuinely wouldn't wish on anyone. 

Through all of this, I was given little or no support in my work and told to 'get over it' by bosses and colleagues as I struggled to do an 8 hour shift of heavy manual labour at a time when I had trouble even standing up and couldn't take sick leave due to the fact that I was relatively new to the role. Yet I just plugged on in the mistaken belief that I'd get through it to the other side and it would all subside. 

This had a terrible effect on me physically, though it was only with hindsight that I realised how badly affected I was mentally. The attitude of those around me made me feel like a fraud and I wondered for so long if anything actually was wrong with me or I was just unable to physically hack the job and it was all in my head.  A cocktail of painkillers, muscle relaxants, and restless nights was all I had for the majority of 2015 and half of 2016 until my surgery last May. 

I genuinely feel for anyone whose head isn't in a good place for whatever reason and like others,  I hope it's a load of murmured shite in the case of big Gary. But if there is any truth at all in it, he will hopefully be back when he is ready. 

I think the tone of Gordon's post is a little more supportive and encouraging than the bald text suggests.  To me, it reads like good wishes, which everyone needs at some time or other.

18 minutes ago, beyond our ken said:

I can exclusively reveal that the main issue affecting Gary is illness rather then injury.  It is also infectious.

Like me, he is sick of reading all the pishy speculation about his health.

Ok get over yourself..............its merely cause people care and are interested

35 minutes ago, DougJamie said:

Ok get over yourself..............its merely cause people care and are interested

Get over myself?  Who the hell are you to tell me to do ANYTHING?

I suppose it's my own fault, I assumed forum readers would have both a sense of humour and enough intelligence to apply it.  I won't make the same mistake when posting in the future.

To be serious for a second (I feel kinda sad that I have to point out whether I am joking or not) I think it is actually quite insulting and potentially damaging for ANYONE to be subject to public speculation over their mental health, especially by a bunch of ill-informed numpties on a football forum.  

The reason we are not being told anything is that it is absolutely none of our business and people should respect that.

14 minutes ago, beyond our ken said:

Get over myself?  Who the hell are you to tell me to do ANYTHING?

I suppose it's my own fault, I assumed forum readers would have both a sense of humour and enough intelligence to apply it.  I won't make the same mistake when posting in the future.

To be serious for a second (I feel kinda sad that I have to point out whether I am joking or not) I think it is actually quite insulting and potentially damaging for ANYONE to be subject to public speculation over their mental health, especially by a bunch of ill-informed numpties on a football forum.  

The reason we are not being told anything is that it is absolutely none of our business and people should respect that.

And again your taking this completely out of context. This is a Saints Forum, Gary is a Saints Player, and maybe I don't speak for the "ill informed" as you so delicately put it. But I am allowed to say what I said, which was I hope he gets better and the club will support him

If that's ok with you .............

You can put your CAPS back on if you want

16 minutes ago, beyond our ken said:

Agreed.

The amount of nonsense, whether trying to be supportive or downright speculative, is unnecessary and this is clearly a private matter for the player and club. 

1 minute ago, DougJamie said:

And again your taking this completely out of context. This is a Saints Forum, Gary is a Saints Player, and maybe I don't speak for the "ill informed" as you so delicately put it. But I am allowed to say what I said, which was I hope he gets better and the club will support him

If that's ok with you .............

You can put your CAPS back on if you want

You are uninformed, rather than ill informed.  You are right, you can say what you want, that doesn't mean it isn't pish though.

You chose to have a dig at me for airing my own views and then chose defend your right to your opinon.  You're funny.  Here is a wee smiley drawing so that you fully get the point :rolleyes:

2 minutes ago, beyond our ken said:

You are uninformed, rather than ill informed.  You are right, you can say what you want, that doesn't mean it isn't pish though.

You chose to have a dig at me for airing my own views and then chose defend your right to your opinon.  You're funny.  Here is a wee smiley drawing so that you fully get the point :rolleyes:

Still don't think its a crime to wish a player or anyone my best wishes- Maybe its not fashionable anymore

Anyway in the spirit of your reply. We move on :rolleyes: 

I didnt get the chance to see Harry Davis play last season before he was injured, but that's about 6 months ago now. Does anyone know if theres any prospect of him resuming in a Saints shirt in the near future ? Whatever injury he sustained must have been serious, I hope the wait will be worthwhile.