Forum Traffic

I use Twitter, but not FB. That is entirely down to my own preference.

The forum is generally pretty decent. It has its ups and downs, and sometimes I visit less often. I can't see me chucking it altogether at any point. I've got to know a lot of good folks through the forum, and the previous era of the OS forum when it was a lively, thriving wee community also.

I thought the Wank Tank© worked very well indeed, and was sad to see it dropped. That said, I now use the ignore function more readily, and, while it isn't a failsafe way of avoiding the slabberings of some of the less appealing forum members, it serves a useful purpose. I've no doubt that some people have me on ignore, and I am absolutely fine with that (I reckon my missus has an in-built ignore function, so I'm no stranger to the concept).

My advice to those who are scunnered with the way the forum is going is to take a wee sabbatical.  Don't chuck it altogether, though, as the forum would be a poorer place for that (well, in most cases it would:)).

I love how Facebook users claim they only use it to keep in touch with those who live a good distance away.Meanwhile they have 600 "friends" living within a 10 mile radius of them...........and they've never met any of them in real life.:lol:

1 hour ago, HSS said:

I love how Facebook users claim they only use it to keep in touch with those who live a good distance away.Meanwhile they have 600 "friends" living within a 10 mile radius of them...........and they've never met any of them in real life.:lol:

That's why I refused your friends request.  :lol: you have half a point about the amount of "friends" right enough. I have a clear out every year. Currently about 70. 

Poor Oaky  doesn't have any, you should try him. :wink:

4 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

That's why I refused your friends request.  :lol: you have half a point about the amount of "friends" right enough. I have a clear out every year. Currently about 70. 

Time I had a clearoot. :rolleyes:

I've never had a Facebook account.

70 friends? :lol: Nobody has 70 friends FFS. You can't service that many to any degree of quality. There's the fake bullshit again.

5 hours ago, BaldyOzBud said:

FFS what a pile of sanctimonious shite  from people who are rarely off this forum about other fora, it's a tool for many people to connect with friends and family or just like minded folks, which is what BAWA is for me.

We are all using social media, because this forum is precisely that, and it is  utter( yes Shull it is a perfectly acceptable word that has nothing to with P&B) hypocrisy to denounce anyone else who choose to use the media of their choice.

Reveal hidden contents

When people on here start posting photos of their perfect family in their perfect house or the latest pics from their amazing perfect social life surrounded by their perfect friends or start putting up snaps of their lunch complete with a "thumbs up" then I will gladly accept that the forum is as useless, fake and damaging as Facebook.

Is there not a study that was completed by someone, somewhere, that the maximum/optimum number of meaningful relationships that a person can have throughout their life is around 80?

Sure I heard something about this quite recently.

I struggle to remember the names of any more than a dozen folk at any given time never mind have meaningful relationships with them:ph34r:

1 hour ago, Slartibartfast said:

I think it depends on how you define a friend.  Some people regard everyone they know and like as a friend, while others regard most of the people they know and like as acquaintances and only put a small number in the friends bracket.

I would come close to agreeing with that.

"Friend" is only a technical term on Facebook for people you would like to keep in touch with, in some form or another.

Quite a few are old friends (and their families) from school, many are acquaintances from various places I've worked, some are people I've me through playing sport and others are family and neighbours.

Yeah, there's plenty, mainly younger people, who have a stupid amount, adding people they met while blootered.

No big deal, it's a choice for people to make.  

3 hours ago, Drew said:

Is there not a study that was completed by someone, somewhere, that the maximum/optimum number of meaningful relationships that a person can have throughout their life is around 80?

Sure I heard something about this quite recently.

I struggle to remember the names of any more than a dozen folk at any given time never mind have meaningful relationships with them:ph34r:

Yep 80 is a nonsense figure. If you met one a day it would take you nearly 3 unbroken months to spend a couple of meaningful hours with them all.

I reckon anywhere between 1 and 4 genuinely close friends is about all you can possibly service. You then add a few members of your family, your kids and some guys you hang out with at football or whatever and you will be around the 10 to 12 mark.

Anyone claiming more friends than that is bullshitting or deluding themselves. Or maybe they dont know the difference between friends and acquaintances.

I would come close to agreeing with that.

"Friend" is only a technical term on Facebook for people you would like to keep in touch with, in some form or another.

Quite a few are old friends (and their families) from school, many are acquaintances from various places I've worked, some are people I've me through playing sport and others are family and neighbours.

Yeah, there's plenty, mainly younger people, who have a stupid amount, adding people they met while blootered.

No big deal, it's a choice for people to make.  

28 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

Yep 80 is a nonsense figure. If you met one a day it would take you nearly 3 unbroken months to spend a couple of meaningful hours with them all.

I reckon anywhere between 1 and 4 genuinely close friends is about all you can possibly service. You then add a few members of your family, your kids and some guys you hang out with at football or whatever and you will be around the 10 to 12 mark.

Anyone claiming more friends than that is bullshitting or deluding themselves. Or maybe they dont know the difference between friends and acquaintances.

Who'd have thunk it. :1eye

19 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

Who'd have thunk it. :1eye

Let's be honest here FS. By your own admission you spend most of the day either on this forum (count the posts) or watching TV.

Now you tell us you are on facebook as well.

And you expect us to believe you have a host of around 70 family and friends that you have close friendships with?

Who are you trying to kid? :lol:

6 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

Let's be honest here FS. By your own admission you spend most of the day either on this forum (count the posts) or watching TV.

Now you tell us you are on facebook as well.

And you expect us to believe you have a host of around 80 family and friends that you have close friendships with?

Who are you trying to kid? :lol:

When did I admit that? :blink: 

I've just over 3 times the posts you have over a similar amount of time, hardly frightening. 

You're missing the point as usual.

I need to go, got a Facebook friend giving me advice on some technical issues.

You can ask Google, your best friend. :lol:

PS He's in Saudi, I'm in Engerland  isn't technology wonderful. 

4 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

I need to go, got a Facebook friend giving me advice on some technical issues.

You can ask Google, your best friend. :lol:

Are you now actually resorting to criticising me because I can figure things out for myself without having someone to help me wipe my own arse? :blink:

Seriously, WTF is wrong with you?

You have no idea what technology issue it is, yet you have the ability to be a complete arse again, quite a skill.  :byebye

RTFM.

Works 99.9% of the time.

Maybe if you weren't spending all day on this forum you'd have time to learn for yourself.

Just now, oaksoft said:

RTFM.

Works 99.9% of the time.

Maybe if you weren't spending all day on this forum you'd have time to learn for yourself.

Like you and Google you mean? :byebye

Aye, can't beat a bit of social media. You and Google don't really count, you do know that voice isn't a real person,  don't you? :lol:

It's hard to make friends on here, when every dude is ignoring ye. :(

:lol: :double :lol:

7 hours ago, faraway saint said:

Like you and Google you mean? :byebye

Aye, can't beat a bit of social media. You and Google don't really count, you do know that voice isn't a real person,  don't you? :lol:

Don't underestimate the value of being able to fathom things out for yourself.

I have had an excellent day solving some very tough problems without having to rely on another human being and I will not allow your abusive tripe to sully an excellent day.

Self sufficiency FS. Look it up. If nowt else, it will keep you off this bloody forum for a bit. There are people who go to others for help and there are people who are magnets for others looking for their help. I know which category I prefer being in. Requires brutally hard work though so I get why it doesn't appeal to you.

I will admit that one bastard problem has kept me up until this ungodly hour but I just solved it 5 minutes ago and am currently enjoying a bit of tea and chocolate.

Now sod off and leave me in peace.

4 hours ago, oaksoft said:

Don't underestimate the value of being able to fathom things out for yourself.

I have had an excellent day solving some very tough problems without having to rely on another human being and I will not allow your abusive tripe to sully an excellent day.

Self sufficiency FS. Look it up. If nowt else, it will keep you off this bloody forum for a bit. There are people who go to others for help and there are people who are magnets for others looking for their help. I know which category I prefer being in. Requires brutally hard work though so I get why it doesn't appeal to you.

I will admit that one bastard problem has kept me up until this ungodly hour but I just solved it 5 minutes ago and am currently enjoying a bit of tea and chocolate.

Now sod off and leave me in peace.

Oh the irony...................on the forum in the wee small hours. :byebye

PS Nobody gives a fcuk about you and your problems, try Viagra, sorted. :lol: