Never ending Story

I never got in years gone by why some saints fans would say we were/are better off in the league below. whether thats the championship, League one or the old second division. I always, and still do have that burning faith, maybe inspired by our first season in the old Premier League that we can be 'competitors'.....

and here we are again..! On the cusp probably of our best season since Gus brought us back up, playing great football, gaining admirers, increasing the attendance (albeit at a slower rate than years gone by) and winning much more games than losing or even drawing. And if we carry on over the next fifteen games we will be going back up to a league that a couple of years ago you would think had changed for the good (Sevco, Hearts, Hibs, Dun Utd relegated, and Aberdeen very nearly).

now save for Dun Utd (who look like they might struggle to make the play offs on recent form) that league looks as univiting, and ominous as ever. Remember our last season there under Tommy C's 'Floundering, Farah-Wearing' stewardship, and Gary Teale's 'dead man walking' hospital pass of a promotion 'congratulations you're our new manager, we just need to flog our best player though to pay aff auld Tam'.

what will it hold for us should we make it? That final game of the season last time in the top league at Hamilton when we couldnt muster one shot on goal was brutal, who would have dreamt it could get worse? Someone had a sick sense of humour making sure the 'grim reaper' Ian Murray was there in the stands casting an even deeper shadow of doom (you think this is pish, wait till i'm in charge. Then you'll know real despair).

but even having lived through some torturous seasons when sane people would have rather played Russian Roulette each Saturday morning to decide if they were going to expose them selves to another bout of pain and anguish, or perhaps the bullet would end the suffering.... and even given the 'Star Man' will have changed galaxies, I believe if we can hold on to the majority of this now 'tidied up' squad we can be competitive up there. Next Saturday might give us a wee peak at our potential, and really the winter break gives us a real chance of catching a team in a bit of an afternoon doze. Lets hope the Dons are dopey!

I have no factual, statistical reasoning to back up why i feel we could go up, stay up and have a good season or four, just a feeling that the type of football we can play, that wears down even teams like Dumbarton who treat the half way line like a high voltage electric fence, will, see us ok.

what do you think the big step up could hold for us..?

19 hours ago, Lord Pityme said:

I never got in years gone by why some saints fans would say we were/are better off in the league below. whether thats the championship, League one or the old second division. I always, and still do have that burning faith, maybe inspired by our first season in the old Premier League that we can be 'competitors'.....

and here we are again..! On the cusp probably of our best season since Gus brought us back up, playing great football, gaining admirers, increasing the attendance (albeit at a slower rate than years gone by) and winning much more games than losing or even drawing. And if we carry on over the next fifteen games we will be going back up to a league that a couple of years ago you would think had changed for the good (Sevco, Hearts, Hibs, Dun Utd relegated, and Aberdeen very nearly).

now save for Dun Utd (who look like they might struggle to make the play offs on recent form) that league looks as univiting, and ominous as ever. Remember our last season there under Tommy C's 'Floundering, Farah-Wearing' stewardship, and Gary Teale's 'dead man walking' hospital pass of a promotion 'congratulations you're our new manager, we just need to flog our best player though to pay aff auld Tam'.

what will it hold for us should we make it? That final game of the season last time in the top league at Hamilton when we couldnt muster one shot on goal was brutal, who would have dreamt it could get worse? Someone had a sick sense of humour making sure the 'grim reaper' Ian Murray was there in the stands casting an even deeper shadow of doom (you think this is pish, wait till i'm in charge. Then you'll know real despair).

but even having lived through some torturous seasons when sane people would have rather played Russian Roulette each Saturday morning to decide if they were going to expose them selves to another bout of pain and anguish, or perhaps the bullet would end the suffering.... and even given the 'Star Man' will have changed galaxies, I believe if we can hold on to the majority of this now 'tidied up' squad we can be competitive up there. Next Saturday might give us a wee peak at our potential, and really the winter break gives us a real chance of catching a team in a bit of an afternoon doze. Lets hope the Dons are dopey!

I have no factual, statistical reasoning to back up why i feel we could go up, stay up and have a good season or four, just a feeling that the type of football we can play, that wears down even teams like Dumbarton who treat the half way line like a high voltage electric fence, will, see us ok.

what do you think the big step up could hold for us..?

Never Ending Story         Aye, it is!

Edited by sally02

I'm a lot more confident of a good season in the SP next year (if we get over the line) than I was in 2005/06 season. Looking back on 99/00 as well I think we're in a better position. Yes the 99/00 squad was electric all season but there weren't many SP quality players in that squad as I think we have right now. Financially I also think we're in a better position with the potential to be in a much better position should crowds continue to rise and with the prized assets we currently have at the club/ have with sell-on clauses elsewhere. 

I'm confident if we went up we would soon put rightful teams in that league behind us. (Ross County, St Johnstone and Hamilton for starters) and cement ourselves as a top flight team for many years to come. Hopefully will be an exciting spell at the club and over the next 10-15 years we'll see more success, crowds returning and some positive celebrations.  

Not counting any chickens yet, but the league this year is a better standard than 99 and 05, with the obvious exception of Brechin, we still have 8 teams we have to beat.

The main difference for me, is the club is unified. From development to First team .

The BOD want Premier football, and they don't want it for one season like 00.  We got one player in and still should have stayed up, if Fakes hadn't lied down 

If we do go up, we will need more players. I see signing Mullen for 2.5 years is intent..... and again, very similar to last year,  a confidence to realise the ambitions and plan accordingly..

That is the big difference. This board are willing to speculate. The old board wouldn't take a chance on spending.  Still a long way to go but Scott and co are certainly not hanging about getting things in place. Early signings at the start of the season and not afraid to pay the extra couple of weeks wages to ensure they get their men now.

1 hour ago, stlucifer said:

That is the big difference. This board are willing to speculate. The old board wouldn't take a chance on spending.  Still a long way to go but Scott and co are certainly not hanging about getting things in place. Early signings at the start of the season and not afraid to pay the extra couple of weeks wages to ensure they get their men now.

This board is also trying to bring more money into the club so we can spend more, where the old board just wanted to keep cutting the wage bill.