Livingston v St Mirren 17th Feb

This is shaping up to be a very competitive and important game for both sides. Both are "form" sides. Both have strengthened their playing squads. Buchan an has joined them to strengthen their defence and Lee Miller has joined to give them more "bite" in the forward area. Looking forward to it.
They've signed Ryan Hardie who everyone thinks is useless but has a very good scoring record against us.

They also loaned someone from Hamilton the day after we signed Mullan. They have definitely strengthened for the run in.

Did we not beat them fairly comfortably at Almondvale (aka Tony Macaroni Arena [emoji23]) last time round with ten men?

Yes we did. That means very little. I remember us beating Clydebank 8-0 one week and then drawing 0-0 with them the next.

I can remember a couple of humpings from Celtic before a couple of our glorious cup wins against them.

4 hours ago, paulsmfc said:

Did we not beat them fairly comfortably at Almondvale (aka Tony Macaroni Arena emoji23.png) last time round with ten men?

Livingstone are a different team now they have made some good signings in the January window.  Go to YouTube and watch them dismantle Falkirk they look dangerous going forward could easily been 5. We know Falkirk are not great but they have had some not bad results lately. 

Aye but we're on our way...

Another tough game in a long line of tough games.

If Livingston have any ambition of winning the league (Although according to Neil Alexander they have gave that chase up),
I fully expect them to all out attack which suits us imo.

Expecting a few goals in this game can see if being a 3-2 or 3-3.

Last season I went to Kirkcaldy 4 days after a great performance at Celtic Park, after the terrible performance that night v Raith I said on way home we could only afford to lose 1 more game until end of the season or we would finish 9/10th.

We did lose only 1 more game, fast forward 12 months we have only lost 4 all season & realistically could probably lose another 4 in 12 games & still win the league.

13 hours ago, Isle Of Bute Saint said:

Don't expect Dundee United  to beat Aberdeen in fact Aberdeen would be marked down as a banker. But could you imagine if ? No nether could I. 

United supporters are really fearful they wont make play offs. Personally I think they will...

But with one game in Feb in League, they could find themselves in 3rd and Ton, Pars or Queens breathing down their necks................

I actually believe , we beat Livi, and we win every time there, this is over bar the shouting................. I can see Jack getting the troops charged up for this one. Lets be honest, our wee holiday started in the Second Half against Queens :) 

1 hour ago, Ronnie said:

Another tough game in a long line of tough games.

If Livingston have any ambition of winning the league (Although according to Neil Alexander they have gave that chase up),
I fully expect them to all out attack which suits us imo.

Expecting a few goals in this game can see if being a 3-2 or 3-3.

Last season I went to Kirkcaldy 4 days after a great performance at Celtic Park, after the terrible performance that night v Raith I said on way home we could only afford to lose 1 more game until end of the season or we would finish 9/10th.

We did lose only 1 more game, fast forward 12 months we have only lost 4 all season & realistically could probably lose another 4 in 12 games & still win the league.

Let's not talk about losing... we seem to be winning nearly every week and I am fine with that....

Just doing a bit of forecasting, factoring in games in hand, allowing maybe for one call off, and the fact we have six games between now and then and Dun Utd seven to nine games league, as well as at least two cup games....

i believe Saturday 24th March home to Dumbarton will be our most likely (look away now Scott) match to clinch the title.

aye, i know lots of football to be played, but given how we, and our competitors are playing that football, then our consistency points to being able to wrap things up about then.

Dundee Utd will not win all their games before then, indeed they are in for a hellish time to just fulfill their commitments. Livi will go cold again, starting on the 17th, and our football, goals scored, clean sheets and win rate will only get better from here on in.

Sat 24th March.... possible sell out against Dumbarton (except the visiting fan section of course)..?

11 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

Just doing a bit of forecasting, factoring in games in hand, allowing maybe for one call off, and the fact we have six games between now and then and Dun Utd seven to nine games league, as well as at least two cup games....

i believe Saturday 24th March home to Dumbarton will be our most likely (look away now Scott) match to clinch the title.

aye, i know lots of football to be played, but given how we, and our competitors are playing that football, then our consistency points to being able to wrap things up about then.

Dundee Utd will not win all their games before then, indeed they are in for a hellish time to just fulfill their commitments. Livi will go cold again, starting on the 17th, and our football, goals scored, clean sheets and win rate will only get better from here on in.

Sat 24th March.... possible sell out against Dumbarton (except the visiting fan section of course)..?

I hope you are right regarding the 24th, would love to win it at home, this got me thinking though, it would be a crying shame if fans were locked out (and I know the stadium has never been full) as a consequence of there being only a couple of hundred or so away fans in that whole away stand.  I know it's still early days but I wonder if there's anything the club can do to make sure as many home fans are in as possible in the event of us winning it at home??

35 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

That's fine...........as long as Dumbarton don't reach the Diddy Cup Final.

Screenshot_2018-02-06-12-46-39.png

20 minutes ago, RichardBuddie said:

I hope you are right regarding the 24th, would love to win it at home, this got me thinking though, it would be a crying shame if fans were locked out (and I know the stadium has never been full) as a consequence of there being only a couple of hundred or so away fans in that whole away stand.  I know it's still early days but I wonder if there's anything the club can do to make sure as many home fans are in as possible in the event of us winning it at home??

Was the away stand not split once before when we played Hamilton not long after the ground opened ?  Think it was a game we had to avoid losing or we were going down or is old age kicking in ?

17 minutes ago, RichardBuddie said:

Believe me Dumbarton are lucky to get past fifty travelling support. If the scenario i forecast did play out i think they would find a section in the main or family stand for the few dozen Dumbarton fans who might attend and fill the place.

just following up on my forecast, the only thing i can think of as a minor concern for us between now and season end is if Sammy got injured/suspended. He has delivered a few clean sheets this season, and i would only be slightly concerned about that scenario because we have seen so little of Stewart in the first team. If called on he might well come in and play a blinder.

in every other area of the park we have competition for the jersey, quality cover for injury and suspension and a consistency well beyond the rest of the league. Once united play a few of there games i predict the league will be over in all but name whilst we look forward to the fixture that puts it to bed. 

I can  see utd missing out on the runners up spot.

Home table

GP W D L GF GA GD Pts
1 St Mirren 12 10 1 1 26 9 +17 31
2 Dundee Utd 11 8 1 2 20 11 +9 25
3 Dunfermline 12 6 3 3 25 17 +8 21
4 Inverness 11 5 3 3 16 10 +6 18
5 Morton 12 5 2 5 17 14 +3 17
6 Livingston 10 4 4 2 13 10 +3 16
7 Queen of South 10 4 3 3 15 12 +3 15
8 Falkirk 12 3 5 4 16 18 -2 14
9 Dumbarton 11 2 3 6 7 19 -12 9
10 Brechin City 12 0 4 8 8 22 -14

Away table

GP W D L GF GA GD Pts
1 Livingston 12 7 2 3 23 15 +8 23
2 St Mirren 12 7 2 3 19 15 +4 23
3 Queen of South 13 5 3 5 22 21 +1 18
4 Morton 10 4 5 1 15 8 +7 17
5 Dundee Utd 11 4 3 4 10 15 -5 15
6 Dunfermline 11 3 3 5 14 11 +3 12
7 Inverness 12 3 3 6 14 18 -4 12
8 Dumbarton 11 2 5 4 8 11 -3 11
9 Falkirk 11 2 3 6 8 20 -12 9
10 Brechin City 10 0 0 10 9 29 -20

0    Looks all over to me

16 minutes ago, DougJamie said:

Home table

GP W D L GF GA GD Pts
10 Brechin City 12 0 4 8 8 22 -14

Away table

GP W D L GF GA GD Pts
10 Brechin City 10 0 0 10 9 29 -20

0    Looks all over to me

Is that some sort of secret code?

Home table

GP W D L GF GA GD Pts
10 Brechin City 12 0 4 8 8 22 -14 4

Away table

GP W D L GF GA GD Pts
10 Brechin City 10 0 0 10 9 29 -20 0    Looks all over to me
Looks all over the place more like.

54 minutes ago, Gordon Urquhart said:
2 hours ago, DougJamie said:

Home table

GP W D L GF GA GD Pts
10 Brechin City 12 0 4 8 8 22 -14 4

Away table

GP W D L GF GA GD Pts
10 Brechin City 10 0 0 10 9 29 -20 0    Looks all over to me

Looks all over the place more like.

That's because you are looking at Brechin .   We hint...... they are not going to contest play offs :whistle