St Mirren give Barnsley permission to speak to JR

billyg

Saying, exactly, what?

It's not been 3 days, most of what's going on, if there is anything of any note, will be between Barnsley & JR, St Mirren will know very little detail to produce these mythical statements always want. :lol

Calm doon. 

PS Update.....................We don't know feck all, thanks for listening............................signed the club. 

Naw a canny calm doon [emoji12]

1 hour ago, freddy said:

By the same token, I don't understand why Barnsley are apparently so keen on Ross. Up to this point he hasn't achieved anything that the likes of Macpherson, Hendrie didn't achieve. In fact, a manager wins the Scottish Championship every season - do they all get poached by bigger clubs from down south?

Barnsley might well know him fairly well given they scouted Mallan for a while before signing him and Mallan has stayed in touch with him since moving.

20 minutes ago, Magic Monkey said:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/s/st_mirren/8507246.stm

Edit: for ultimate clarity, I don't blame Jack Ross for the bonuses row, or for trying to get a pay rise. If he stays and becomes our highest ever paid manager, I'll still love him. But to suggest he isn't motivated by money is f**king farcical.

No the bonus row was about what the players deserved and Jack Ross was a leader representing the other players. 

He's no more motivated by money than anyone else in his situation. 

Money won't be the sole issue here, neither will football, I think you'll find his family has a big part in it also !

Things which weigh things slightly in our favour : Jack has told guys like Lewis Morgan to wait until the right offer from a bigger / richer club to wait until the right club and offer come along; St Mirren have given him his first crack at full time management and he has said he wants to get us back into the top tier of Scottish football; the board stood by him when the atmosphere and the club improved while results got worse (6 straight league defeats in his first 6 league games); he has been well backed in 2 transfer windows and allowed to hang on to Lewis Morgan and has already been given 1 improved deal in less than 18 months with us.

6 minutes ago, Kemp said:

If he goes, he goes.

Give Fowler the gig and he will see us over the line to the title.

Bunch of drama queens on here! 

Fowler would surely be in line to be due a hefty pay-rise to go south as his assistant. 

More than he would receive as manager for us. 

Allan McManus more likely I would reckon. 

1 hour ago, freddy said:

To the folk saying Ross should turn down the job, get promoted with us, then put himself in the shop window for a bigger club than Barnsley - it didn't work out that way for Macpherson or Hendrie, so why would Ross want to take that risk? A manager with any sense would grab an opportunity like this, as it's only like to come along when he's on a high with his current club. I see little realistic prospect of a better offer coming along after you've been floating about in the bottom half of the Premier League for a year or two.

By the same token, I don't understand why Barnsley are apparently so keen on Ross. Up to this point he hasn't achieved anything that the likes of Macpherson, Hendrie didn't achieve. In fact, a manager wins the Scottish Championship every season - do they all get poached by bigger clubs from down south?

Who was interested in them while still under contract to us.

Second point. They need a manager.

56 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

Here on one issue you can see the turmoil that lies ahead when we move to complete fan ownership. Over the last almost two years the common theme you could pick out of most themes among fans was. 

Our future in our own hands

no sugar daddy

live within our means.... etc.. etc...

now a manager who already engineered a whopping pay rise the last time he was linked with a club looks like he will be offered yer another one within months and somehow clear thinking and  fiscal prudence go out the window. How fickle the football fan..! All this for a manager who hasnt yet! Won anything, but got his last club relegated.

should we just keep offering him more..? Or should we pay the going rate and invest in OUR future..?

How did Jack engineer more money? AFAIK Dimdee made an illegal approach and the club told them where to go. The club offered him an improved contract. If we believe what we have read Barnsley asked to approach Jack.  If you are in a job and highly regarded every attempt is made to retain you. It is called competition and usually improved or matching pay and conditions is undertaken.

14 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

Just a guess, he's probably got quite a few other issues to deal with at the moment. 

Whit?!?!:o

So he will be getting paid to sit on his arse contemplating what direction his life should take?

f**k that! I suggest that two days wages are docked then added to the enhanced deal that has been tabled to keep him at the club!:angry:

Jack has a fantastic knowledge of the Scottish game.  And good connections. He`s tapped into that by picking up a few real gems. 

It`s a big risk for Barnsley. Jack`s knowledge of the lower leagues in England has to be limited. Also, he has no transfer window to shuffle things around (as he did with us).

In saying that, what sets Jack apart from the rest is his man-management skills. He`s sharp and he`s a winner.

I think he will stay. 

Ross hasn't`t won anything yet. A Barnsley relegation on his CV could be harmful. If he goes now it could damage his long term future.

If he plays the waiting game he can probably take his pick of a number of bigger clubs in the summer or beyond.

Jack has to be looking at (or speaking with) McInnes. Sometimes England isn`t the best option. 

There is hope!

Edited by athens-saint

6 minutes ago, pod said:

Who was interested in them while still under contract to us.

Second point. They need a manager.

Hearts were supposed to be quite interested in Hendrie which was the main reason we gave him and Coughlin a five year contract. 

Caley Thistle were rumoured to be after Gus when we were still in the first division.

Just now, Stu said:

Hearts were supposed to be quite interested in Hendrie which was the main reason we gave him and Coughlin a five year contract. 

Caley Thistle were rumoured to be after Gus when we were still in the first division.

... and Aberdeen made an approach for Fergie before Billy McNeil got the job !

2 minutes ago, Stu said:

Were they invited for interviews.

13 minutes ago, athens-saint said:

Jack has a fantastic knowledge of the Scottish game.  And good connections. He`s tapped into that by picking up a few real gems. 

It`s a big risk for Barnsley. Jack`s knowledge of the lower leagues in England has to be limited. Also, he has no transfer window to shuffle things around (as he did with us).

In saying that, what sets Jack apart from the rest is his man-management skills. He`s sharp and he`s a winner.

I think he will stay. 

Ross hasn't`t won anything yet. A Barnsley relegation on his CV could be harmful. If he goes now it could damage his long term future.

If he plays the waiting game he can probably take his pick of a number of bigger clubs in the summer or beyond.

Jack has to be looking at (or speaking with) McInnes. Sometimes England isn`t the best option. 

There is hope!

What Ross has won is respect of achievement, what he has already done is shown that he managed a  team miles adrift and got them safe, then pushed on to trash the rest. Its not about trophies for Barnsley ........................ England is , in short, far larger in every way to the Scottish Game, Salaries, players, crowds, 

However in this case you're spot on.................. They are very very small fish

Turnover dropped from £9.4 million to £4.8 million. 2016

Net liabilities of £5.1 million.

The club really is worth nothing.

Sold players for £475,000. Who does that relate to?