Winter Anarchy

Bud the Baker

I was gonna use the title Health and Safety gone Mad or something Game of Thronesy but you can't trump ex-heedie Geoff  Barton..................

Snowball rules needed to stop 'winter anarchy' in playgrounds

Strict rules are needed to stop playground snowball fights descending into "winter anarchy", a former head teacher has said.

Geoff Barton, a head for 15 years and now general secretary of the Association of School and College Leaders (ASCL), said snowballs were a "part of childhood".

But he said they "can be dangerous" and rules needed to be in place so children knew what was acceptable.

His comments come after Ges Smith, head teacher of Jo Richardson Community School in Dagenham, appeared on Good Morning Britain to explain why he banned pupils from touching snow on health and safety grounds.

Mr Barton, who ran King Edward VI school in East Anglia, said staff needed to monitor the action "so we could have a civilised day of children hurling snow at each other rather than winter anarchy".

See the source image

28 minutes ago, rabuddies said:
34 minutes ago, pod said:
Beautiful and sunny here, as it always is. B) 

Mind you there's lot of wee ned things covered in blood lying all over the pavements.

Do they support the auld firm. 

I was gonna use the title Health and Safety gone Mad or something Game of Thronesy but you can't trump ex-heedie Geoff  Barton..................

Snowball rules needed to stop 'winter anarchy' in playgrounds

Strict rules are needed to stop playground snowball fights descending into "winter anarchy", a former head teacher has said.

Geoff Barton, a head for 15 years and now general secretary of the Association of School and College Leaders (ASCL), said snowballs were a "part of childhood".

But he said they "can be dangerous" and rules needed to be in place so children knew what was acceptable.

His comments come after Ges Smith, head teacher of Jo Richardson Community School in Dagenham, appeared on Good Morning Britain to explain why he banned pupils from touching snow on health and safety grounds.

Mr Barton, who ran King Edward VI school in East Anglia, said staff needed to monitor the action "so we could have a civilised day of children hurling snow at each other rather than winter anarchy".

helen1.png

You could've called it the Beast from the East but I guess folk would've thought you were talking about David Goodwillie.