Print
PDF

Morton 0 St.Mirren 1

Written by B&W Army Webteam.

Saints annual pre season win over Morton yesterday saw Paul McGowan grab the winner at Cappielow in front of 3722 fans in the Renfrewshire cup final.

McGowans late drive deflected in off the home keeper to land the local silverware for the 7th consecutive season as the buddies domination of their plucky neighbours continued.

Apologies for lack of twitter updates and indeed a detailed report on the match as I am currently in Turkey sunning my baldy bonce.

Next up for Danny Lennon and co is a trip to Dumbarton on Tues night (1930 ko).

Comments  

-10 # tonmanalways 2012-07-23 13:30
Lucky win fur ye .....get ready fur goin bust and sellin yer forwards that cannae score.
Reply | Reply with quote | Quote

0 # Zico71 2012-07-25 13:27
Tonman 0-1 was the score so Round Ye [censored]baws

-3 # rogerthealien 2012-07-23 13:34
Good win 2 beat the morton and lets hope we can put aside all the mince 2 do with rangers and look forward to a positive season ahead but we have to be realistic with what we hope for as until we know what the financial fallout rangers down to 3rd division will affect us i think we have to be realistic and say roughly where we were last season and until transfer window closes i would still believe that mgowan could be sold to plug the gap financially unless the board of directors what the state of finances are, and until now the have been silent until gilmours mutterings about how we need rangers. Anyone agree?

+8 # Dave 2012-07-25 10:57
Get the bums on seats at every home game, simples!

Instead of giving money to 10,000 (more) hours.

We need to retain and add to our squad and challenge for the top six this season.

+2 # sweir 2012-07-25 12:39
nae bother ton man go climb back in 2 your skip we have always dominated ur filthy team always bin above yous always had a better team /stadium history what has your team ever won. nanty so go home cat man have a wash we wont go bust ever trust me oh and we did score against yous did we not in yer green@ck slums you look in your bucket mon the buddies

-8 # tonmanalways 2012-07-25 23:39
A 1-0 lucky win and 0-0 against Dumbarton and you call that dominating ? Like I said ..yer forwards cannae score. Go back tae yer wee toy stadium at feegie park . Was yer boss no trying tae sell the club for the past two years....well naebody wants yer club. Let me think noo...was yer boss no saying that ye would be in admin in five weeks ??? He should know as he is yer boss man.

+4 # MLSTEWART 2012-07-26 11:23
With his rantings and ravings gilmour has made us an easy targett for miniscule brained charachters to slag us.On the Morton mans slagging of graham carey they would love to have him at crap-a-low.

+6 # Jack on Arran 2012-07-26 12:16
Not a very encouraging start to our season even though they were really "nothing" games.
We have a lot to do especially with no left back......... even Dumbarton managed to exploit that weakness....... so what will happen when the other SPL teams get on top of us.
I should also like to hear from our chairman as to what his plans are for the future of our club .......... he was very vocal when he was in support of Rangers ...... how about him being equally vocal as regards the future of the team, the future of the club and that idiotic bid to take over the club by RA for NO MONEY.
What exactly is he going to do? What sort of budget has Danny actually got to build up the team. ?
Spweak out Mr Gilmour and for once in your life BE POSITIVE !

+5 # Dave 2012-07-27 00:09
P.S. – To the Chairman and the Board - This is the third season I have said this next statement. We NEED to bring in another minimum of 3/4 more players in 12/13 and we should focus primarily on defenders (preferably 2) and a CAM (and also maybe some cover in goals).

Maybe 10,000 hours should change their stance and ditch their goal of buying out the controlling share and collect money from fans to help finance some new players’ wages instead of dividing the fans over who owns what. This would be more sustainable and we would all contribute I’m sure!

+1 # rogerthealien 2012-07-27 14:33
good bit of business getting grant adam who has shown good potential having 2 goalies of a decent quality shows some potential for up and coming season and lets hope theres more 2 follow

-1 # Nairn 2012-07-28 23:52
The Dumbarton game can't really he used as evidence as almost none of the usual first team players were playing (apart from teal mcgregor and Riley). The Morton game was a pretty poor performance although we won but it's a friendly it's supposed to be for the team to just get back to fitness and and get back the match sharpness! Last season we pumped the scum and we still went nine games without a win at one point in the season so u can't really judge on pre season!

-2 # MLSTEWART 2012-07-29 12:58
If you read the newspapers this morning you wouldhave heard an article from our so called st .mirren captain He maintains Rangers like our banks .shouldhave been bailed out and also should never have been relegated to division3 [So what would have happened had it been us.]He maintains Rangers have made scottish football famous [more like infamous with the trouble at old firm games.] all over the world.He says rangers are a special case [surely not another one talking to sally mcoist].In essence we have had [fellow buddies] media.newspapers. brainwashing us with the ibrox theme for years.and now our beloved chairman and this pro-rangers captain.If the relevant rules are not upheld then it is a waste of time playing the game.

-5 # dexy 2012-07-29 13:11
Bring back tony he might not be to bright but he would not sell us to them.

-6 # tonmanalways 2012-07-29 18:31
Ha ha ha.....pat yerselves on the back fur no getting beat by Accrington. It wisnae Liverpool ye played...or Notts Forrest or millions of other decent teams.....no ...it wis ACCRINGTON. Bet ye wish ye still had some of the rejects fae Brechin.

+2 # benr buddie 4 life 2012-07-29 22:25
if you dont like st.mirren then why waste your time on our website and try acting the big hard man, 7 IN A ROW so back to yer cave SMTID

+1 # Jack on Arran 2012-07-30 14:19
Dexy............... this might come as a surprise to you but Tony is part of the 10,000 hours consortium !!!
I am like you MLStewart, ............ I am pretty disgusted when our captain joins the "lets save Rangers" club.
His sole interest should be the welfare of St Mirren.
Everybody is talking of "doom and gloom" TERRIBLE.
This is a new season with new circumstances etc so lets just grab it and perform to the best of our ability which hopefully will be a top 6 place.
Remember we are not in debt and will be receiving the payment from the SPL very soon.I will also be very surprised if there is no Sly/ESPN contract announced in the next week or so.
Saturday is only a few days away so lets all get behind St Mirren and fill the stadium

-2 # John 2012-07-30 21:42
Jack in Arran, i think you are blind to what is going on in Scottish football. In all your hysteria of "kick Rangers to the 3rd division'' you've not thought about what lies ahead. Your "justice" has become obsession to the point its all about persecution rather than what would be best for St Mirren and Scottish football.
If you honestly think Sky are going to sign a big fat cheque to watch Celtic win the title by 40 points you're dreaming! Last season the team who finished second bottom received over 800K, this season it'll be around 80K. Why do you think its just going to be business as usual?!?!? Wake up to the fact that Scottish football is going to take a huge step backwards because of this blind obsession to move Rangers to the 3rd division. I've said it before and i'll say it again, I hate Rangers and want to see them punished but not to the detriment of my beloved St Mirren.

+4 # Jack on Arran 2012-07-31 07:56
No ........... I am not blind to the current situation and I do realise that we will all have to "tighten our belts" but we will be no different from any other club in the Scottish Leagues and may even be in a better position as we are at least starting from a solvent position.
It would appear that we have also not "laid out a fortune" for new players in the closed season (which is a pity as we do need a couple) and I am sure that we do not pay those extortionate wages that some of the other clubs appear to be doing.
If Scottish football takes a "big step backwards" then we will all be taking it together and that will level out the playing field.
I also "love" St Mirren and want to see them prosper and if it is as a result of "everybody taking a step backwards" so be it.
I will still be at the games "shouting my head off"

-2 # John 2012-07-31 09:53
Rangers just brought in a couple of new players and are paying them 5K per week....so as for an even playing field...Rangers are in Division 3 and still spending more on wages then a number of spl teams put together!
All Scottish fooball has done is cut off its nose to spite it face...rangers are happy to be in dividion 3 are are even happier they've f**ked scottish football at the same time.
The playing field isn't getting closer jack, its just getting progressivly poorer...

+5 # Jack on Arran 2012-08-01 12:10
Did you read ( or hearir on the Radio today) that miracullously Skye have signed a new 5 year contract with SPL, the SFL and the SFA !!
It did not take them long to reach that agreement !
Obviously it was already "on the cards and agreedn" when SFA chief Stewart Ryan was telling us all that they were walking away so that everybody would do his dirty work and he could come out of the fiasco "Smelling of Roses"
How can anybody trust this liar when he is only interested in protcting his own skin.
And what about our own chairman............... Don't tell me he did not know what was happening........... he was only out to try and protect his friends at Ibrox......
Yes I do agree it is terrible that Rangers can pay such huge wages in the 3rd division but that is their business.
I just support St mirren in the PREMIER division

+3 # Dave 2012-08-02 01:43
A few weeks ago I mentioned Gary Naysmith was free however our board didn't even have the common sense to get him in, we need a left back and he could have given the younger players a bit of a boost (he is at Aberdeen now) at least they listened and brought in a new keeper though eh!

+2 # MLSTEWART 2012-08-02 14:28
The only reason we secured a keeper was it would have looked stupid with no other on the bench Now that it looks unlikely that six clubs are going awol Mr gilmour[and john ] can we have a left-back//For once you must listen to your support instad of sally mcoist and Rangers In summing up .you are so interested in the sale of saints.the playing aspect has become irrelevant.For our openerWe have three players mising goodwin.thomson mcausland. this should have been anticipated and lack of cover may cost us.

0 # C.mon the saints 2012-08-04 20:48
[censored] off ya smell soap dodging [censored] inbread [censored] yer maws yer granny yer da's yer uncle noo [censored] and stay aff a good site

0 # C.mon the saints 2012-08-04 20:52
Let's all :lol: at Morton hahahahaha smelly scum bags

Add comment

Security code
Refresh