Print
PDF

St.Mirren 0 Celtic 5

Written by Fraser Anderson.

St Mirren slumped to a 5-0 defeat at home to SPL Champions Celtic in Saturday’s televised game. Goals from Hooper, Watt, Ambrose and a double from Victor Wanyama allowed the visitors to ease past their hospitable hosts in Paisley.

The Buddies made one change from the 2-1 defeat in Perth a fortnight ago. Sam Parkin dropped out of the side with David Barron starting his first game of the season at right back, pushing David van Zanten forward into right midfield in a basic 4-4-2 formation.

Saints ironically enough started the brighter of the two teams in the opening few minutes, contrary to some early nervy performances displayed earlier in the season. The ball was being passed around well with a decent tempo, and even when the visitors were in possession they were being closed down instantly by a hungry St Mirren side. St Mirren were first to threaten. Van Zanten in his new midfield role crossed for Lewis Guy to volley harmlessly into the arms of Fraser Forster to pass up an agonisingly good chance to break the deadlock.

However it wasn’t long before Celtic took the lead against the run of play. After 14 minutes Beram Kayal laid the ball off to Lassad on the right had edge of the penalty area. He crossed across the face of goal for Hooper to tap in to give Celtic a 1-0 lead. Things got desperately worse for St Mirren with an uncharacteristic error from keeper Craig Samson just two minutes later. After Lee Mair was booked for upending Tony Watt, the resulting free kick was swung in by Charlie Mulgrew. Samson spilled the ball right into the path of Efe Ambrose who’s side-footed volley into the empty net wasn’t nearly as spectacular as his multiple back-flip celebration. Each of the four runners were allowed a free run of the penalty box, and Sammy’s howler added to the catalogue of errors.

Saints passed up a great opportunity to gain passage back into the game. Great play down the left allowed Lewis Guy to pass the ball into the area for Kenny McLean to side foot a week shot into the hands of Fraser Forster.

Celtic then sealed the game just after the half hour mark thanks to some horrendous marking from the hosts. Steven Thompson cleared Mulgrew’s corner for the ball to cannon off Paul Dummet. The ball broke to an unmarked Victor Wanyama who thumped the ball past the helpless Craig Samson from 12 yards out. Saints displayed some more woeful marking when Joe Ledley headed over completely unchallenged from yet another Mulgrew cross.

It was that man Wanyama compounded an embarrassing first half with a sublime finish from 25 yards after 36 minutes. Muglrew played a reverse ball into the middle of the park for Wanyama. The Kenyan curled a beautiful shot beyond Samson into the left hand corner of the net to further compound the misery of the Saints fans.

From then on it was a case of keeping a clean sheet until half time. However a basic lack of awareness and poor passing added to the woes of the already frustrated home support, and left Danny Lennon with a very substantial team talk to carry out at the break. The manager made a half time substitution by introducing Dougie Imrie for David Barron, the latter of whom had looked slightly off the pace on his return to the side.

The second half required a comeback of Swedish proportions and Saints certainly couldn’t be accused of throwing in the towel early in the second half. Graham Carey’s free kick was met by the head of Steven Thompson, but his header sailed well wide of the goal. This was followed by Lewis Guy’s ball across goal however Thompson couldn’t quite connect, with Saints desperately trying to engineer a way back into an already forgone conclusion.

St Mirren were lucky not to fall further behind when David Van Zanten denied Victor Wanyama a hattrick by clearing his goal-bound effort off the line midway through the second half. However Saints kept plugging away and Steven Thompson was unlucky not to score a consolation after Carey had robbed Matthews on the edge of the box. Carey’s pass across the box was met by Thommo, but his first time shot lacked the power to beat Forster, and the rebound was spurned by Carey. Thompson was at the centre of another chance 15 minutes from time. He met Jim Goodwin’s cross with a curling volley that dipped just over the bar.

The manager elected to give youth a chance by bringing on young John McGinn for Goodwin with the game already decided. Celtic striker Miku posed the home defence problems by somehow managing to shoot when surrounded by Saints defenders, but on this occasion his shot was deflected wide for a corner....before the exact same occurrence just a minute later.

Celtic put the result beyond all doubt (for those who still believed...) after 86 minutes. Emilio Izaguirre’s run and cross was met by the head of the leaping figure of Tony Watt to bullet home number five for the visitors. Victor Wanyama was denied his hattrick for goal number six by the crossbar.

That concluded an absolutely horrible afternoon for the Paisley Saints. The only positive that can be taken from that is that the team didn’t surrender at any point. A mixture of awful defending from Saints and sheer class from a side rich in both money and quality put paid to any chance of claiming a result here. Last season our inability to score was responsible for a bottom-six finish, however this season it looks like a readiness to concede early in games and in great quantity could be our downfall this year. The fans will be looking for a huge reaction in a very winnable game at home to Dundee United next Saturday. As for today’s result, it has already been forgotten.

Comments  

-1 # MLSTEWART 2012-10-21 14:38
No i am afraid my good chap this cannot be swept under the carpet.This manager is not doing the relevant job and hehas had ample time this feam have lost 14 goals in four games so his tap-toe football has flopped.Look at the progress made by st johnstone .inverness and even ross as we are plumetting down the league.So i suggest to the writer of the statement above get real and havet the bottle to admit it was a disgrace.This is typical of your average saints (just forget it ) fan...
Reply | Reply with quote | Quote

0 # Fraser 2012-10-21 15:46
Admit it was a disgrace? Surely anyone reading the above report will agree that it's pretty damning. I believe I called the first half "embarrassing". It's not the tippy tappy football that's costing us. The sole difference between us and the teams you mention is that they have far tighter defences. Most of our goals aren't resulting from being too open, they are coming from ridiculous individual defensive errors. That is what needs to be sorted out.

The manager is doing just fine. This is by far the most entertaining St Mirren side outwith our title winning seasons that I have seen. Many are also forgetting the huge gulf in resources between us and Celtic - a team who's players were playing out their skins to start against Barcelona. If the same mistakes are being made after Christmas I'll be asking questions, but until then we have some very important games that requires the team's full backing.

+5 # dexy 2012-10-21 15:28
Yes no team should lose 5 at home the defence were like schoolboys.

0 # MLSTEWART 2012-10-21 15:55
Message to gilmour .Put the sale.and ibrox to the back-burner Concentrate as i have on getting a decent centre-half as we are way short in this category.You have offloaded.higdon.sutton hasselbank and others to teams no better than us.So for once promote us as the premiere league team we shoulld be and maybe we will avoid humiliations like yesterday..

+4 # matts dad 2012-10-21 16:24
this should not be forgotten by the players or the manager or the coaches.
everything about Saturday was wrong. the game plan, the personnel deployed to carry out the game plan ,to many of them playing out of position.
no point in playing 3 players up front if they are not even getting a sniff of the ball BECAUSE our midfield never turned up. and no thought about playing a long-ball
our defence was a complete shambles with no one prepared to make a tackle no one prepared to take control of the situation.
Matt's dad

+6 # MikeyBhoy 2012-10-21 16:37
Celtic supporter here, but with a nephew and brother-in-law who are both Buddies (and were both at the game yesterday). Have to say I though the Saints played some good one and two touch football and were entertaining to watch. Fair enough the 1st half defending was a bit of a disaster, but I think I'd pay money to watch your team, as opposed to the other SPL opposition I've seen this year, such as Murderwell and ICT.

I think you'll win and draw a lot more games than you'll lose playing that style of football. Trust in Lennon (your one, not ours).

+4 # Jack on Arran 2012-10-21 16:53
In the previous pages I have gaven my thoughts on our performance on Saturday and to reiterate the fact that I walked out at 4- 0 says it all.
I NEVER want to have to do that again!!
I am sorry but I do blame the manager for the attitude of the team. He is so determined to play this "passing game" that he has forgotten to tell the team that football is a contact sport and that we are required to put in some heafty tackles now and then and not just "run along side" the opposition until they are in a scoring position and then " if it is not too much of an inconvenience" put in some half hearted tackle.
I also do not like to listen to our manager praising the opposition as if he were a supporter of them.
Yes Celtic are a better team than us but that is no reason for "gifting" them the game.
As I have said "a million times before" we must toughen up and sometimes a "dig in here" and a "dig in there" can be the answer.

+5 # Jack on Arran 2012-10-21 17:05
To continue:............... what has happened to the "long ball" ?
Do we only play it when we are a couple down and there are only 5 minutes left to play ?
We have two big, strong forwards (Parkin and Thompson) so why do we not use them
They may not be the greatest but they can "cause panic in the the opposition defence" and they also do get us goals.
Silky football is lovely.............. if we have the ability to play it properly............. but when there is limited ability lets go back,at least part of the time, to route 1 and see what happens.
Finally.............. when there is an open goal in front of the forward please do to try to place the ball in the net ........... TRY TO BURST THE NET.
It might help !

0 # MLSTEWART 2012-10-21 19:35
Listen i know all about defensive frailities that is why i have been screaming for months for a decent centre-half.Relating to finance teams like st johnstone .inverness.etc are no more affluent than us but are allowed to take players from our grasp.I have stated examples of this above And on the tippy-tappy football celtic just let them do it took the ball off them and scored as simple as that..

+1 # MLSTEWART 2012-10-21 19:51
Aiso mikey did you stand by your manager when saints hammered you 4-0 i think not.I remember scarves flung on to the pitch.

0 # MikeyBhoy 2012-10-21 22:44
Quoting MLSTEWART:
Aiso mikey did you stand by your manager when saints hammered you 4-0 i think not.I remember scarves flung on to the pitch.

Me personally? Or the support in general?

+4 # typical 2012-10-22 00:19
Remember we're in the SPL ... and plenty of other teams have rubbish defences who make lots of errors too... just watch the fakes vs killie highlights....wow.... can't believe the fakes only got 2 goals...I'm not saying for a second that it's acceptable, just, well, we're not the only team with this problem. No idea if it's a coincidence that our tippytappy cousins have defensive misfortunes or not.

Someone wrote that our midfield wasn't in the game.... our midfield is very rarely in any game... the centre of our midfield seems to be only for backwards passing and any forward movement is up the wings.
Was hoping Thompson would bury one of his chances - could have built some momentum. Not like him to miss so many. We weren't likely to get anything against Celtic, but losing 5 is sore. Dundee Utd look on the up, so next week will be massive. We should judge the team by games like next week more, than say the celtic games.

+4 # Dave 2012-10-22 02:40
Dear, Danny Lennon,

St Mirren play sexy football? WHAT!
paisleydailyexpress.co.uk/.../...
It's been more like prostitution for the past few games. DANNY I'M TELLING YOU BUY A COUPLE OF DEFENDERS in the next transfer window. I said before on here in your first season sign James McPake now look how he is getting on at Hibs, St.Mirren should have signed him. I can even research a few players and offer suggestions . St. Mirren really need to bring in, LB, CB & CM as rotation is the key and we need cover.

+3 # Dave 2012-10-22 02:41
Replace the word BUY with Sign, In previous comment!

+2 # Dougie 2012-10-22 06:53
The performance in the first half was the worst for a long time and we have witnessed some poor ones. The team had no shape no heart no fight no desire no nothing and so much respect for them it was embarrassing . We couldn't pass ( unless to them) couldn't tackle(or rather didn't seem to want to), and couldn't score(had the chances before score got embarrassing . All in all it was shambolic crap and the players involved owe us BIG TIME.
I have erased Saturday from my memory, lets move on and get behind the team and get a much needed lift this Saturday.

+3 # MLSTEWART 2012-10-22 09:43
Well documented dave at last a fan with a logical solution and no phscological nonsense.,This chairman has got to be pressuried(he gets away with murder ) in to signing a couple of resolute defenders In essence if we go to parkhead when we meet them again with the same rearguard . the same result will occur .We dont want wee danny's team to beat us again.

+2 # rogerthealien 2012-10-22 13:24
we are all agreed that it was a disaster on saturdsay and things need to improve dramatically for dundee utd game on saturday which i believe we must WIN as i have said before this league will b the tightest it has been for years and a run of bad results will leave you at the wrong end of the league. Some will disagree with what i am going to say but i believe DANNY for an spl manager is so naive when it comes to tactics and when the 3rd goal went in it should have been batten down the hatches and change tactics and style of play but again he was slow to react and the tippy tapping passing has to go when you dont deliver and you need 2 have a plan b. Many times danny has disappointed me with post match comments but saturday was the worst and you dont praise opposition and sing their praises when you have just been mullered and he should have let the saints players have it in media because they were MINCE. WE MUST WIN ON SATURDAY OR HE SHOULD TAKE THE CONSEQUENCES.ANYONE AGREE?

+5 # Scott 2012-10-22 18:01
Roger I do agree: lennon seems to be not able to see the shambles the defence is in. I accept he has limited personnel...BUT Keeper...Samson has been poor and he has a guy on the bench who has served us well in the past, so you give him a change. The defence..Barron must be given a sustained run and maybe giving a few of the under 20's a game. Goodwin in place of McAusland?

People go on about the tippy tapi football...Against Hamilton it was aka Wimbledon and a big punt up the park, with no passing. Any coach who knows anything will tell you you need a mixed style, where lennon is one way or the other and as I have said before it is SOOOOO easy to play against, whether it be short passing or the long ball.

I also feel he should be giving youth more of a chance.

Last season with a number of games not having the maximum number of sub in my book is criminal.

+4 # Jack on Arran 2012-10-22 18:29
I will tell sxomething else which really annoyed me on Saturday:-
We were taking a hammering and where was our manager ?...............hideing in the dug out sitting on his backside !!
And where was NL when his team were walking through us............ it the technical area encouraging his team to score more goals !!
Does that tell you something about tactics........ we have none if the "pretty passing game" goes wrong.

+2 # dexy 2012-10-22 21:34
What a ststement before the game celtic will beat us nine times out of ten is this our manager.

+4 # Jack on Arran 2012-10-23 08:39
I hope every St Mirren player will be watching the Barca V Celtic game tonight and will be studying how Barca play the passing game............. as it should be played ................ going forward into the opposition half of the field and not as we do........... going backwards into our half of the field.
Enough criticism !
Now lets look forward to 3 points on Saturday.
Come on the Saints ........... we still love you even thougth you are aggravating and break our hearts some times.

+2 # MLSTEWART 2012-10-23 11:42
The thing is it is not our beloved st mirren that breaks our hearts its the people at the core .that causes the heartache.Lets diagnose the following personnel.The chairman......During the so called liquidation panic.was having talks with green and mcoist obviously to safeguard his own interest with absolutely no regard for the support.Daniel lennon his interests are more aligned to celtic than doing the job he is employed to do this has been confirmed withall his recent comments,James Goodwin(our captain) praised Rangers even after all their sins.So in essence it is not the team, i love that breaks our hearts but the people who i have mentioned who are not interested Nevertheless i will always promote st,nirren and hope we win on saturday.

+2 # dexy 2012-10-23 12:13
Aye no wonder we have a complex when we play them.

Add comment

Security code
Refresh