Print
PDF

Happy 5KDay !

Written by B&W Army Webteam.

As you will see from our counter on the homepage, today marks the 5000th day since our beloved neighbours Morton last tasted victory over the darling buds in a competitive match.

Ye you read that correctly. Is it was not only well over a decade ago, it was actually last century that the minnows from the tail of the bank last savoured a win over the Saints in the league or any of the three domestic cup competitions.

April 10th 1999 was the date, and a thumping 5-1 win it was too. Little did they know as they celebrated in the Caledonian Stand that day that going on 14 years on they still haven't repeated the feat !

We're celebrating the landmark today on twitter using the hastag #5KDAY and any tweets made using that today will feature automatically below within about 5 mins of being tweeted. Tell us your favourite win over Morton or if you don't tweet simply use the comments box below to remind our neighbours about our domination !

Hopefully some of the Morton fans will join in too, we do love them really.

Here's to another 5000 days !

KatZhang

Slow day so far. Only 500 words. Lunch eaten and ready to go back into the trenches :P #5kday

by KatZhang

melodysimpson

RT @KatZhang: If you want to join in the 5k-word challange, you can tweet with #5kday and update on your progress/cheer other people on :)

by melodysimpson

KatZhang

If you want to join in the 5k-word challange, you can tweet with #5kday and update on your progress/cheer other people on :)

by KatZhang

Comments  

+2 # Sonny 2012-12-17 10:24
New Years's Day. 3-0 down in the first half in a wet and miserable Greenock and came back to win 5-3! Happy Days :)
Reply | Reply with quote | Quote

+2 # Jim 2012-12-17 11:06
Get the picture up on the Facebook page. I want to share it like feck!!!!!!!

0 # sarah 2012-12-18 13:09
shull div faraway saint tonya jamie are great they do not care if saints win or lose as long as they get a saturday day out.in the bull inn or some other pub.They may not have big ambitions for saints and are prepared to accept any rubbish from the board but dont call them knicker wetters .

+1 # Tony A 2012-12-18 16:28
That's not true, Sarah! I don't go to Pubs in Paisley. I also want St. Mirren to do well. Don't tar me with the same brush as that lunatic Faraway Saint and his "chums" Shull and Insaintee (who is appropriately named). I feel hurt when my team bet humped as well. I can't speak for the rest of them though...

0 # sarah 2012-12-18 17:13
I APOLOGISEt tony a i have taken your valid points regarding those others.But tell me why they give their views and they have no interest.

+1 # Tony A 2012-12-18 18:10
They need somewhere to meet up and talk nonsense. Living many miles apart they have to do this on the internet and they have chosen in here to do so. If we win they'll cheer up (hopefully).

+1 # rogerthealien 2012-12-19 12:04
Think we should be more concerned with how poorly we are doing in the league rather than how long its been since we lost to morton and moreso with the mumbling of the gibbering fool we have as a suppossed spl manager!!! Victory over motherwell is a MUST

-1 # Tonman 2012-12-19 17:40
Ha all ye have is memories.....you should be looking below ye as Dundee are coming to overtake ye. Don't worry, once ye get a decent manager then ye should be ok....oh and forgot ye need to replace half yer team as well. I wis gonna buy a share to help ye oot but yer owner Gilmour couldnae decide whether he wis comin or going. Watch him he wants ye in wi the teddy bears.

0 # Russell Watson 2013-02-03 16:23
Quoting Tonman:
Ha all ye have is memories.....you should be looking below ye as Dundee are coming to overtake ye. Don't worry, once ye get a decent manager then ye should be ok....oh and forgot ye need to replace half yer team as well. I wis gonna buy a share to help ye oot but yer owner Gilmour couldnae decide whether he wis comin or going. Watch him he wants ye in wi the teddy bears.

What a fud.
Dundee will be lucky to get by 30 points & as for Gilmour? True Saints legend who'd never hurt the club. You sound like a paranoid C*ltic fan.

+3 # morton 1 2012-12-19 22:02
thats right your chairman does not spend on the team he will be the death of you.

0 # Russell Watson 2013-02-03 16:25
Quoting morton 1:
thats right your chairman does not spend on the team he will be the death of you.

What absolute bullshit.
If your chairman overspends, you wind up like R*ngers, Gretna, Livi etc etc. Gilmour has done fantastically well. Dougie Rae will be gone soon, then who'd you lot left with? The "Nice" Easdales. You'll be a front for drug money within a year, lol

0 # Big Tam 2012-12-20 17:46
Hey how about asking our Morton pals for an update on their strikers etc. After all it's Christmas so no hard feelings. You seem to be scoring well and can you tell us a wee bit about your players and how your club is running. We might love to hate each other but really we should help out now and again. That was a good result the other night and even tho against Highland boys it is still not easy to score six. Couple of crackers as well....so come on who are these guys and how do you see your future.

Add comment

Security code
Refresh