Print
PDF

Free Parkin for Saints

Written by B&W Army Webteam.

Saints manager Danny Lennon sealed his third signing of the summer today with the capture of free agent Sam Parkin on a one year deal.

The 30 year old striker started out his career with Chelsea as a trainee and after several loan spells he signed for Swindon Town in August 2002.

He spent three very successful seasons with Town, scoring an impressive 68 league goals from 122 appearances before moving to Ipswich Town in June 2005.

Sam managed just 17 league appearances in a single season with the Tractor Boys, but still managed to notch 5 goals before signing for Luton Town for £340,000 in 2006.

After three years at Kennilworth Road (34 apperances, 10 goals) Sam was eventually freed and signed for Walsall on a short term deal (7 appearances, 3 goals) before heading north of the border to join St.Johnstone in 2010.

Sam scored the winner against St.Mirren at McDiarmid Park in September 2010 and notched again when the sides met at St.Mirren Park in December of that year.

Parkin was freed in January 2012 and signed a short term deal to play under former buddies gaffer Gus Macpherson at Queen of the South and he managed six goals from 15 starts for the Doonhamers including a brace against Morton.

Welcome to the club Sam.

ps; Apologies for the headline, couldn't resist

Comments  

+2 # oh dear 2012-06-07 13:45
Uninspiring :(
Reply | Reply with quote | Quote

+4 # Jerseysaint 2012-06-07 14:31
Loved the headline :D , not the same for the signing. 31 mmm

disappointing :sigh:

+5 # Craig 2012-06-07 17:36
Booooooooo!!!! awful ambition! we dont need another slow, target man to go with Thompson and Guy!!!!!

+6 # M L STEWART 2012-06-07 17:44
Sam Parkin is a prolific goalscorer.The downside is he is prone to injuryWhat worries me is how a team classed as inferior to us can step in and take our main striker and give us the one they dumped to queen of the south.This is not a one-off as the likes of nobodies like Falkirk.dunfermline .hibs etc have done this to us as well in the past..We are a big team in Scotland but we will have to prove this by acting bigger. Please dont give me the money saving theory the teams in question are not as soluble as we are...

+4 # Old Ben 2012-06-07 19:58
Given his age, I find this signing a bit odd. Hugh Murray was let go even although he is in the same age group. We'd have been better with Simon Larkin.

-11 # fat boy euan 2012-06-07 21:15
we don not need anotheer striker!!!!

+1 # cheerupeveryone 2012-06-07 22:22
I think he'll do well for us if he stays healthy. Our strikers in recent years have done better under our coaching staff. Higdon got better for example - and look at we Nigel, he scored more for us than he did for other teams in previous seasons (at least I think so...not actually checked it out...but only remember him scoring a couple for accies)... so aye, Sam seems to score for whoever he plays for - so hope he'll do the same for us! Might even bag more with our coaching :)

-3 # FrankieMac 2012-06-07 23:13
If Nigel was so good (as you say he was) then why don't we still have him? In fact why have we lost so many and ending up with guys like Parkin ? Does it not ring alarm bells ? He has been freed by many clubs and even QOS let him go. Players over 30 are no good and they get injured easily. Is this what we have to get used to for the future? Total MEDIOCRITY from now on .......NO AMBITION as ambition costs money. Prepare to watch crap from now on in while lesser teams have managed to secure better players. Let the fans pay to watch Mr Average and let them PAY AGAIN to buy the club. In fact why not shaft the fans and let St Mirren die !!!

+3 # matts dad 2012-06-08 08:14
"no ambition as ambition costs money" Frankie Mac
you are correct frankie BUT
we don't have the money and unless you want this club to go the same route as the tax dodgers up the road what do you sugest we do??

for a start we could stand up for ourselves within the SPL
demand a fairer share of the revenue stream be that the TV money or the league position money .
are st mirren tied to particular admission prices ?
does anyone within the spl know anything about basic ecconomics??

matts dad

+6 # ben r buddie 4 life 2012-06-08 11:52
We should have kept Mcshane and not got Parkin, Mcshane is young and in half a season for Hamilton scored over 10 goals. With his age he was only going to get better. Bad piece of business DL SMTID

+2 # Robert M 2012-06-08 15:49
Not too sure on him to be honest. His goal scoring record is about 1 in every 3, which is excellent, but he has horrendous luck with injury. Hope the worst is behind him and he and Thommo can become a lethal partnership.

Good Luck to the big man and I hope he can prove all the doubters wrong :-)

+1 # Dave 2012-06-08 16:02 Reply | Reply with quote | Quote

+1 # T MUIR 2012-06-09 11:24
Wheres old jack got to this is important debate

+3 # WEE BEN 2012-06-09 15:41
i agree how the wee saints can upstage us is ubeliavible.

0 # Jack on Arran 2012-06-09 15:43
Quite honestly I do not know the player and thus for once I cannot comment.
If Danny thinks he will blend into the team (and we do need another strong striker) I will reserve my judgement until Sam Parkin has played a few games for us.
Along with Thompson it is an exciting expectation

+5 # sweir 2012-06-09 21:04
got to give parkin a chance he will defo score more than nigel hes a pen box player we gota lot of crosses into the box last season and apart fae thompsonwe didnt score with service parkin will get more than hassel[censored ] i think we r goin2 play with 3 up front next season with guy playin behind a front2 come on you saints

+1 # Jack on Arran 2012-06-10 08:33
Is it not a bad omen when we read in the papers today (Sunday) that the SPL are publishing their fixture list for next season on 18 June, and that Rangers are to be included in it.
Surely that must mean that they have already made their BIG decision (but refuse to make it public) as if there was still a doubt they would withhold the publishingof the dates until everything has been finally sorted out..
I cannot see the SPL, and the other leagues, amending all their published fixture lists should Rangers be demoted to the 3rd division (AS THEY SHOULD BE)
To make all these amendments would be some huge job and make the SPL and the SFA look stupid.......... and they will never do that.

+5 # Ewen 2012-06-11 23:03
Enough with the negativity!

Welcome to the real Saints, Sam!

+5 # Dave 2012-06-11 23:46
Here is the squad saintmirren.net/.../... WE NEED ANOTHER 2 DEFENDERS MIN AND AT LEAST 1 GK , DO YOU THINK THEY HEARD?

+4 # donna quinn 2012-06-12 19:44
ST MIRREN SHOULD HAVE BALLS SAY NO NO NO TO A NEWCO ST MIRREN FANS SHOULD VOICE THE SAY AS WE PAY THE WAGES I WOULD RATHER WATCH MO%$ON THAN SAY YES TO THEM

+4 # FrankieMac 2012-06-12 21:08
I agree Donna ......Gilmour needs to say NO....or be a hypocrite forever !!!
If he refuses I know many supporters who will not be back and St Mirren better prepare to lose a lot of money.

+3 # Jack on Arran 2012-06-13 12:19
I do hope our chairman (SG) will listen to the supporters of Saint Mirren and vote for the "Rangers New Co" to start their life in the 3rd division.
I do hope he remembers that the Old Firm have little interest in the other clubs in the league and grab as much as they can for themselves.
This a is a great chance to level things up and when they go to the 3rd division just think of the good that their "wonderful support" will do for the teams in the lower divisions !
I also believe that after a few "rangerless" months everything will re-adjust and we will all survive "quite nicely thank you"
How can we persuade SG to do the right thing when his sole nowadays is to sell the club ?

+2 # Jack on Arran 2012-06-13 12:20
SOLE AIM that should read

0 # scoot 2012-06-13 16:14
I hope parkin is a better goal scorer

Add comment

Security code
Refresh