I'm Listening To....

Bud the Baker

Poisoning pigeons in the park- Tom Lehrer.

We'll murder them all amid laughter and merriment.

Except for the few we take home to experiment.

My pulse will be quickenin'

With each drop of strychnine

We feed to a pigeon.

It just takes a smidgin!

To poison a pigeon in the park.

Poisoning pigeons in the park- Tom Lehrer.

Strangely enough, I was singing that to myself earlier in the day (this afternoon) well before that post was written......

We've gained notoriety,

And caused much anxiety,

In the Audubon Society,

With our games....

They call it impiety,

And lack of propriety,

And quite a variety,

Of unpleasant names.....

But it's not against any religion,

To want to dispose of...

A pigeon......................... :lol:

Lehrer is a fecking genius. Got onto listening to him after hearing the infamous Elements song in science/physics/chemistry class videos back in my school days. Since bought his 'In Concert' album - tremendous stuff. :D

I have little doubt that McB - Closet wannabe Buddy! - was trying to draw our attention to the guy who made the Yankee Audubon society possible - Alexander Wilson!

Who left the bonnie toon as a venturous youth, and went oot abroad, and then 'ticked off' just about every N.A. bird possible... so that Audubon could swannie (wow- the puns!) in a wee bit later and found a 'Society'... :)

Thanks, McB - statue at the corner of the street entering the toon hall Abbey road. Pay homage, buddies. A good guy! :)

A wee bit aboot Alexander Wulsin...

I have little doubt that McB - Closet wannabe Buddy! - was trying to draw our attention to the guy who made the Yankee Audubon society possible - Alexander Wilson!

Who left the bonnie toon as a venturous youth, and went oot abroad, and then 'ticked off' just about every N.A. bird possible... so that Audubon could swannie (wow- the puns!) in a wee bit later and found a 'Society'... :)

Thanks, McB - statue at the corner of the street entering the toon hall Abbey road. Pay homage, buddies. A good guy! :)

A wee bit aboot Alexander Wulsin...

Shite no :o

Must try and find the statue- wee homage needed B)

May have passed it pished after a beer fest night.

Most pleased that some chaps get the Audubon reference.

Lehrer is indeed a feckin' genius.

Currently it's Oedipus Rex

From the Bible to the popular song,

There's one theme that we find right along;

Of all ideals they hail as good,

The most sublime is motherhood.

There was a man though, who it seems,

Once carried this ideal to extremes.

He loved his mother and she loved him,

And yet his story is rather grim.

There once lived a man named Oedipus Rex,

You may have heard about his odd complex.

His name appears in Freud's index

'Cause he loved his mother.

His rivals used to say quite a bit

That as a monarch he was most unfit.

But still in all they had to admit

That he loved his mother.

Yes, he loved his mother like no other,

His daughter was his sister and his son was his brother.

One thing on which you can depend is,

He sure knew who a boy's best friend is.

When he found what he had done,

He tore his eyes out, one by one.

A tragic end to a loyal son

Who loved his mother.

So be sweet and kind to mother,

Now and then have a chat.

Buy her candy or some flowers,

Or a brand new hat.

But maybe you had better let it go at that.

Or you may find yourself with a quite complex complex

And you may end up like Oedipus.

I'd rather marry a duck-billed platypus

Than end up like old Oedipus Rex.

Shite no :o

Must try and find the statue- wee homage needed B)

May have passed it pished after a beer fest night.

Most pleased that some chaps get the Audubon reference.

Lehrer is indeed a feckin' genius.

Currently it's Oedipus Rex

An absolute classic McB. :D

Another one I like from the aforementioned album is the story of the great Russian mathematician Nicolai Ivanovich Lobachevsky................

Who made me the genius I am today,

The mathematician that others all quote?

Who's the professor that made me that way,

The greatest that ever got chalk on his coat?

One man deserves the credit,

One man deserves the blame,

and Nicolai Ivanovich Lobachevsky is his name. Oy!

Nicolai Ivanovich Lobache...

I am never forget the day I first meet the great Lobachevsky.

In one word he told me secret of success in mathematics: Plagiarize!

Plagiarize,

Let no one else's work evade your eyes,

Remember why the good Lord made your eyes,

So don't shade your eyes,

But plagiarize, plagiarize, plagiarize...

Only be sure always to call it please, "research".

And ever since I meet this man my life is not the same,

And Nicolai Ivanovich Lobachevsky is his name. Oy!

I am never forget the day I am given first original paper to write. It

was on Analytic and Algebraic Topology of Locally Euclidean Metrization

of Infinitely Differentiable Riemannian Manifold.

Bozhe moi!

This I know from nothing.

But I think of great Lobachevsky and I get idea - haha!

I have a friend in Minsk,

Who has a friend in Pinsk,

Whose friend in Omsk

Has friend in Tomsk

With friend in Akmolinsk.

His friend in Alexandrovsk

Has friend in Petropavlovsk,

Whose friend somehow

Is solving now

The problem in Dnepropetrovsk.

And when his work is done -

Haha! - begins the fun.

From Dnepropetrovsk

To Petropavlovsk,

By way of Iliysk,

And Novorossiysk,

To Alexandrovsk to Akmolinsk

To Tomsk to Omsk

To Pinsk to Minsk

To me the news will run,

Yes, to me the news will run!

And then I write

By morning, night,

And afternoon,

And pretty soon

My name in Dnepropetrovsk is cursed,

When he finds out I published first!

And who made me a big success

And brought me wealth and fame?

Nicolai Ivanovich Lobachevsky is his name. Oy!

I am never forget the day my first book is published.

Every chapter I stole from somewhere else.

Index I copy from old Vladivostok telephone directory.

This book, this book was sensational!

Pravda - ah, Pravda - Pravda said:

"Zhil byl korol' kogda-to, Pri njom blokha zhila" ("It stinks").

But Izvestia! Izvestia said:

"Ya idu kuda sam tzar' peshkom hodil" ("It stinks").

Metro-Goldwyn-Moskva bought the movie rights for six million rubles,

Changing title to 'The Eternal Triangle',

With Brigitte Bardot playing part of hypotenuse.

And who deserves the credit?

And who deserves the blame?

Nicolai Ivanovich Lobachevsky is his name.

Oy!