Fav Pubs

chingford

N=Tudor

E=Burgh Bar

S=Creag Dubh

W=Park Bar

C=Bull Inn

Ok, there ARE pubs further N and S and E than those but they're mah favs ... and those were the olden day names when they existed.

And in Scotland

N=Old Inn, Carbost on Skye

E=The Rose, Rose Street

S=Kings Arms, Castle Douglas

W=Clachaig, Glen Coe

C=Rod and Reel, Crianlarich

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

N=Tudor

E=Burgh Bar

S=Creag Dubh

W=Park Bar

C=Bull Inn

Ok, there ARE pubs further N and S and E than those but they're mah favs ... and those were the olden day names when they existed.

And in Scotland

N=Old Inn, Carbost on Skye

E=The Rose, Rose Street

S=Kings Arms, Castle Douglas

W=Clachaig, Glen Coe

C=Rod and Reel, Crianlarich

So when you planning your next bevvy in the Tudor and the Park? :lol:

OK, Smarty-pants.... whit part of "when they existed" did ye no get? :rolleyes:

And OK Bongo, that was a good drink we had in there a fortnight next Tuesday - but all this temporal-slip bevvying is doing my head in - as well as my liver...

The lighthoose is the kinda wee jewel of a pub (if it still existed NOW) that had totally gone out of fashion by the late 60s. Nae buddy lived near it. The Mills were doomed - nae passin workers. It would be crammed these days.

Mainly wi folk waiting for the annual Camra festival, I guess...

Drank in there plenty of times, nothing better than coming off the hill and straight into the pub for a refreshment. Ahhhhhhhh the good old slim days :wink:

And molested sheep s©trewn across the hillsides. :rolleyes:

Edited to say:- Allegedly. I remember The Ambulance Man's distinct lack of humour when it comes to such matters and his misunderstanding of smileys.

Edited by Howard Hughes in BlueSuedeShoes

The Park Bar, from what I understand, was a fúcking mental place. Where else in Paisley would you get someone strolling into the pub, pulling out a gun, shooting a guy in the face at point blank, disappearing into the night and “no ne saw a thing, officer�

Top boozers in the locale:-

N=Stag’s Heid (does that count as north?)

S=Tannies – feckin’ smashin’ wee boozer.

E=Kelburne

W=Bar Point – in particular for the comedy nights they used to have

C=Wee Howff. Or mibbe Malarky’s. Or The Bull. Cannae decide.

National:-

N=Ma Cameron’s – Sheep City

S=Harbour House Hotel – Portpatrick

E=The Last Drop – Edinburgh

W=The Commercial – Campbeltown

C=The Drover’s – Ardlui. Fúck me, that’s a big bear!

The Park Bar, from what I understand, was a fúcking mental place. Where else in Paisley would you get someone strolling into the pub, pulling out a gun, shooting a guy in the face at point blank, disappearing into the night and “no ne saw a thing, officer�

Did it no happen recently in the Burgh Bar...? :unsure:

C=The Drover’s – Ardlui. Fúck me, that’s a big bear!

I almost picked that, too but it's no Ardlui, it's Inverarnan. :)

I dunno. I never saw a thing....

I almost picked that, too but it's no Ardlui, it's Inverarnan. :)

Ardlui train station is just down the road from it. I don't recall getting off at Inverarnan train station to get to the Drover's.

I dunno. I never saw a thing....

Ardlui train station is just down the road from it. I don't recall getting off at Inverarnan train station to get to the Drover's.

Oh.... f**k.... :rolleyes:

There's an Ardlui Station just down the road fae the Ardlui Hotel.

There's NO Inverarnan Station.

The Drover's, as it's now known, is in Inverarnan - miles north of Ardlui.

(I'm surprised that no one on here, has ever mentioned that you're an argumentative git, Howard! :P )

EDIT: Check it oot! 3K!

HERE

Edited by chingford

N=Cottage....cos I used to live in the Beruit lookalike known as Shortroods.

E=gotta be the Kelburne I guess

S=Clachan...mainly cos ye can always rely on some wee shell suit type doing you a deal on mach 3 razors etc.

W=Craigilea bar....family ties

C=Stow Brae.....I'm the resident "Norm" in there.

Scotland.

Ellwyn Bar Grangemouth.....mainly cos I lived across the street from it..and was too lazy to go anywhere else.It shall be getting a wee visit next Season...heh heh heh. :ph34r:

Jeez I drink in some shady boozers. :o

Where else in Paisley would you get someone strolling into the pub, pulling out a gun, shooting a guy in the face at point blank, disappearing into the night and “no ne saw a thing, officer�

The Abercorn in 1977 , saw the perpetrator, who shall remain nameless , last week , and he's still a fruit-cake ! :(