A Plea For Help From A Distant Saint

Guest Shrimpergarry

My mate Richard Bradbury is a fanatical St Mirren Supporter and became an adopted shrimper (Southend United) when he moved to Essex.

He flew out to Zambia the day after attending our league 2 play off final in Cardiff (what a send off!). He has not been back to the UK since, which means he completely missed seeing both his English and Scottish teams become champions of their respective leagues last year! (How gutted was he!).

He does this because he's quite literally a man on a mission to make the

world a better place, and he is doing it by working for The Salvation Army

in one of the poorest areas of the world.

A few weeks back I, along with 8 other of his mates, received this e-mail:

"'Two weeks ago our ambulance broke down, resulting in the death of one

newly born baby and severe complications in another delivery case. On Friday

we were given the news that the Chikankata Hospital Ambulance is in need of

an ambulance itself as it is very ill! Basically we need a new ambulance

desperately.'

Inspired by a Danny Wallace book that I had sent him, he has challenged me

and the other eight to find 200 people each to donate a tenner towards the

new ambulance. You can read more about it here:

http://www.charliechikankata.blogspot.com/ (scroll down to the post on 5th

August)

I'd love to show Richard what a generous bunch the saints/shrimpers community are -

can we find 200 fans to donate a tenner each? He's back in the UK for a

break at Christmas and will be attending Southend's game with Birmingham - and the Saints game with Rangers it would be great to present him with a large cheque for £2000 on the pitch at one of those!

The challenge is on - tell all your mates to "gisatenner" - they can donate

online with a credit card below:

http://www.justgiving.com/gisatenner

Cheers

Shrimpergarry

My mate Richard Bradbury is a fanatical St Mirren Supporter and became an adopted shrimper (Southend United) when he moved to Essex.

He flew out to Zambia the day after attending our league 2 play off final in Cardiff (what a send off!). He has not been back to the UK since, which means he completely missed seeing both his English and Scottish teams become champions of their respective leagues last year! (How gutted was he!).

desperately.'

August)

I'd love to show Richard what a generous bunch the saints/shrimpers community are -

break at Christmas and will be attending Southend's game with Birmingham - and the Saints game with Rangers it would be great to present him with a large cheque for £2000 on the pitch at one of those!

Cheers

Shrimpergarry

Aye,nae bother mate.

Now where did I put my credit card :rolleyes:

desperately.'

August)

Cheers

Shrimpergarry

:shockaroony:shockaroony:shockaroony:double

desperately.'

August)

Cheers

Shrimpergarry

Good try mate,very good try :clapping:clapping:clapping

You'd have made a fortune if I hadn't got in there early with my warning :rolleyes:

PS.Has anyone been daft enough to send you money?

desperately.'

August)

Cheers

Shrimpergarry

PM me about it bud

So I can tell you to get tae f*ck :wink:

Here's the text from the reply to my e-mail last night asking the salvation army if it was genuine fundraising.

Dear Alan,

Thank you for your email.

I have checked with our head of fundraising and marketing that justgiving.com is a legitimate fundraising channel. Donations through the system - although privately managed - are ringfenced so monies cannot be 'withheld' by anyone abusing the system. The justgiving.com site enables fundraisers (rather than the charities themselves) to act as an online sponsor form.

However, we have no control over what fundraisers may or may not do on external websites. We'd encourage potential donors who are unsure of the legitimacy of any given site to give directly to The Salvation Army at www.salvationarmy.org.uk.

I hope that clarifies the position. Thanks again for getting in touch with us.

Best wishes,

David Giles

Webmaster, The Salvation Army UK & Ireland

Here's the text from the reply to my e-mail last night asking the salvation army if it was genuine fundraising.

Dear Alan,

Thank you for your email.

I have checked with our head of fundraising and marketing that justgiving.com is a legitimate fundraising channel. Donations through the system - although privately managed - are ringfenced so monies cannot be 'withheld' by anyone abusing the system. The justgiving.com site enables fundraisers (rather than the charities themselves) to act as an online sponsor form.

However, we have no control over what fundraisers may or may not do on external websites. We'd encourage potential donors who are unsure of the legitimacy of any given site to give directly to The Salvation Army at www.salvationarmy.org.uk.

I hope that clarifies the position. Thanks again for getting in touch with us.

Best wishes,

David Giles

Webmaster, The Salvation Army UK & Ireland

So you're Shrimpergarry :P

No. I would have used a bit of multimedia.

I'm not a member of the Salvation Army either and I support only one football club.

I was on the Accord Hospice site (incidently, they need to raise £5000 per day to operate) earlier this week and noticed that donations were made through justgiving.com and I read a little on that site because I hadn't encountered it before.

When this request appeared I matched up the charity registration number on that site with the number given on the Salvation Army site. It seemed legit to me but I did a quick search to see if it was a scam and couldn't find anything. Easiest way to check was to e-mail the salvation army directly.