Top 5 Things You Love About Glasgow

Liverpool Bud

1 History of the city

2 Architecture - the finest in the Empire

3 The sights / sounds and smells of the city as you step off the train at Central after a journey home from "down south"

4 The pubs / clubs / restaurants /theatre /sport and galleries

5 Its not in England

1. The people - always really polite/chatty - most of the men talk shite, but...............

2. The accent - you can't beat a proper Glasgow accent ....................................... so it doesn't matter if it is all shite

3. The City - lots to see and do

4. The football - whether saints win or lose the fans are great, the atmosphere is great, even the Bovril tastes ok - and you get real meat in the pies at Inverness!!!!

5. It's not in England, but it feels like home as soon as you get off the train or out of the car

can't wait to get there in February even if it is just for a couple of days

and I know its a top five but if i can have a number 6 - City of Glasgow Tartan is gorgeous and makes a lovely hanbag :D

1. The people - always really polite/chatty - most of the men talk shite, but...............

2. The accent - you can't beat a proper Glasgow accent ....................................... so it doesn't matter if it is all shite

3. The City - lots to see and do

4. The football - whether saints win or lose the fans are great, the atmosphere is great, even the Bovril tastes ok - and you get real meat in the pies at Inverness!!!!

5. It's not in England, but it feels like home as soon as you get off the train or out of the car

can't wait to get there in February even if it is just for a couple of days

and I know its a top five but if i can have a number 6 - City of Glasgow Tartan is gorgeous and makes a lovely hanbag :D

Are you shitting me mate, it's full of bams and junkies, I think Glasgow's pish.

/quote]

:oops I must have been getting carried away and that one is a reason why i love Scotland as a country - not Glasgow as a city :sorry

So is every city <_< - it doesn't stop them from being great places.

Don't know if its to the same extent, I've never heard the equivalent of some junked up bam in the centre of lets say Chigaco shouting at his 5 year old wean "Fkin shut up , are ye f**kin stupit, fking shut up" as I did on the way into work the other day.

Glasgow's pish

Don't know if its to the same extent, I've never heard the equivalent of some junked up bam in the centre of lets say Chigaco shouting at his 5 year old wean "Fkin shut up , are ye f**kin stupit, fking shut up" as I did on the way into work the other day.

Glasgow's pish

It's not even as good as that. A murder rate worse than New York, filthy, cracked pavements, punters tapping cash non-fúcking-stop, lassies walking about totally orange (is there any place in the WORLD with more fake tan?). The buildings might be nice but ye cannae see them for all the scaffolding.

The Old Firm, for fúck sake! How can any place be good with those tow gargantuanly bigotted parasites?

As for the punters, well try this; a 21-year-old student was killed last year one Saturday night in renfield Street. How did this happen? Well. He smacked his head off a kerbstone. How did he hit the kerbstone? He was pushed over by a random stranger.

Said randon stranger was out with his mate celebrating his 22nd birthday. In order to help them celebrate they got blitzed then walked down Renfield Street randomly punching, kicking and barging anyone in their way because they were "Glaswegian an' hard!".

The student was thumped into by one of these pillocks, fell and knocked himself dead on the pavement.

Yeah, really friendly people.

Glasgow accent? That whiny, nasal thing? Only accent worse than that is a Scouse one. Whoops! <_<

Drop a bomb and tidy the place up.

Glasgow's pish

This is it.

In most big cities you need to head to the darkest depths of the schemes before the ratio of losers and menaces:normal people starts to increase.

For me,that's what separates Glasgow from the other big cities I've been to. Right there,in yer face,in the city centre,you rarely have to look very far for someone you'd rather cross the street to avoid.

You see all the same problems in most cities,but it's so much more persistent and obvious in Glasgow.

In all the time I spent in London in the 90s,I can honestly say I was only blatantly approached by one beggar.

In Glasgow I routinely get stuff like the Neds who I refer to as 'voluntary workers' who loiter and helpfully offer their services to assist you with car park ticket machines and ATMs.

These guys also specialise in tear jerking sob stories about how they've been robbed that day,or something similar.

What they need is something like Giuliani did to New York,where all the crap just wasn't tolerated any more,resulting in the centre of town flourishing and becoming unrecognisable to the jungle it was before.

It actually a pity that this stuff taints some of the decent points made in the first post on this thread.