Ian Harte Agrees to sign but changes mind!!!

not sure why some are making a big deal about this.

If a player agrees to sign for your club...and the club announce that the player has agreed to sign...then said player decides not to sign (after saying he will) when the pen is put in his hand - then it makes the player look stupid ...and the club.

Fixed it for you.

not sure why some are making a big deal about this.

If a player agrees to sign for your club...and the club announce that the player has agreed to sign...then said player decides not to sign (after saying he will) when the pen is put in his hand - then it makes the player look stupid ...not the club.

Get a grip for fk sake ...some of you are like a bunch of greetin faced wee wimmin from the cotton mills.

Oooohhh i'm so embarrased ....don't think I can go into the pub tonite ...will be soooo mortified !

at least we didn't go down the road of strip wearing etc ala Mo Johnston

Because those who are making the biggest fuss about this have their own agenda to pursue!

So just because Sky Sports say it's true means it's not a rumour?

No, but ist's very rare for Sky Sports to come out and say that we have agreed to sign a player, how many times has that happened before? I think the club had no choice but to respond.

The only people the club have a responsibility to tell about things like this are share holders,

Why?

They could have easily held off for a day before making an official announcemen.

And that would have been..............

Ian harte agreed to sign for us yesterday but stabbed us in the back and changed his mind today.

Leaves us in the same position.

Because those who are making the biggest fuss about this have their own agenda to pursue!

Well Said that man, sorry lady

When it was announced, he wasn't as good as Eddie Malone

Now its dead its the clubs fault.

Where did Sky get the story.............his agent

Why did the club go public when they don't normally .............his agent

Why has he pulled out ......................his agent

Why will he sign for someone else, probably today ...............his agent

The club shouldn't have announced it and Gus shouldn't have made the quotes he did. They've been played and we end up looking stupid. They obviously got as excited as we all did. They can learn from that.

Doesn't matter now - what matters is that we're short of at least one left sided player - if McCay and Tonet are to be discarded then to only have Miranda and the injury prone Robb is frankly not good enough. Harte would have been a major coup - but it's a situation we shouldn't have been in days after the transfer window closed. We have been in need of adding to the squad the whole season, or at least since it became clear that Tonet was not the answer.

Eh??? He's no signed!!!

Hows that happened??

Possibly Mr Strachan gave him a ring last night??

That what he wanted to happen and it looks like wee Chesney isn't interested.

We have been took for mugs and hope that lessons have been learned and don't announced anything until they are signed on the dotted line.

Shows what kind of man Harte is going back on his word.

No, but ist's very rare for Sky Sports to come out and say that we have agreed to sign a player, how many times has that happened before? I think the club had no choice but to respond.

We'll need to agree to disagree on this one. The club had every choice to respond, or not.

Why?

Because they are a business, just like any other. The only people they have a "responsibility" to tell are those that have a vested interested in that business. If Tesco are going to put up the price of beans, they don't need to tell their customers before it happens. They may however, choose to tell their shareholders.

And that would have been..............

Ian harte agreed to sign for us yesterday but stabbed us in the back and changed his mind today.

Leaves us in the same position.

Not necessarily. If they said anything (which they didn't have to), they could simply have said they made an approach for the player and it was turned down.

I really don't see the problem with the club saying what they did several hours after it was on Sky Sports.

Fuxake, the player had agreed to sign and made arrangements to start training today.

The guy is a low life, better off finding out what type of character he is now.

Your spot on mate hees POND LIFE , if that's his attitude then we're better off wi oot him !!!

It is obvious whats happened here, the guys been on his way up to sign for us until his agent has been on the phone saying another club is interested, and he is using family reasons as his excuse, f**k him.

This dosen't excuse the club for the annoucement, frankly its embarrassing.

Totally disagree Billy, the club had a responsibilty to issue a statement to the fans in response.

It wasn't a rumour of a player being linked to us which happens all the time, the club rightly do not respond to this sort of thing but when Sky Sports report that a high profile player such as Ian Harte has agreed to sign with the club I think they have no choice but to respond to it.

That statement should have been along the lines of "we have made an offer to the player and await his reply" not announcing that deal had been agreed.

Surely someone at the club should have been canny enough to play it cool until a deal had been inked (especially when you are dealing with the likes of McKay). Someone got carried away and now SMFC has egg all over their face, manipulated by a spiv. A statement saying that no deal had been concluded and several formalities were still pending would have made it look like we were in control of the situation.

With Steven Smith, Kerkar, carl finnigan and others in our recent past we look like a team that dont know how to deal in the market.

Evening Times .....

http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/displa...2487433.0.0.php

According to that Harte phoned from Gretna this morning asking for more money then said he's need to think about it when the answer was no. So much for all the pish yesterday about money not being a issue.

SMFC are not to blame on this. The agent tells the media the signing is happening. The guy agrees a deal over the phone. The agent then lets the press know. The press ask Gus - whats he to say? It used to be a man's word was his bond.

This makes Harte and McKay look ridiculous - not Gus.