Speculation Thread

jimdickloyal

13 minutes ago, Hendo said:

Not sure he's a defensive midfielder, seems to have scored a lot of goals, especially at Newport, if that's his position.

He played as a winger for Newport. Has moved into the middle in the last 3 or 4 years where he's being described as 'combative'. 

10 hours ago, djchapsticks said:

Allegedly Cammy Smith is free to leave Dundee Utd. 

I await the cries of 'bring him home' from the usual suspects, despite the fact that he is nowhere near good enough for the premier league. 

So what his Mum loves him and you know what you may be right but as a freebie signing could be worth a punt?  

12 minutes ago, Big Yards said:

We should offer Michael Moffat of Ayr a 1 year contract.  Scores for fun in the championship. Another goal today in the league cup 

He's 34 years old and scored 5 in 34 last season in the championship. 

For fun, aye. :lol:

Sometimes I think you actually WANT us to get relegated. 

2 minutes ago, Dan Is The Man said:

YouTube Compilation! Get in! Even if it’s just for the tune! He does certainly look like a sitting midfielder that’s comfortable in the tackle.

After being historically quite spoiled in that regard, we've not had a player who can truly effectively do that sort of dirty work for a long time. 

The prospect of this guy coming in makes a lot more sense. 

1 hour ago, magnus said:

What is the position with Tansey? Is he out of contract or sacked or what? Looks like Tansey feels he has a chance of recovering 100% from this bone disease that has plagued him and he feels he can be a decent player again. Has Tansey fallen out with Gordon Scott or Jim. Another strange circumstance

It's going to be another pay off the contract deals we have become so good at. 

Definitely, if he is coming in though, it's time to move others on. Ethan or Cammy might benefit from a loan elsewhere in the short term.

Ethan and Cammy have both figured heavily in the fixtures so far. Even if we do get bodies in, we still need cover. These guys can play in different positions. I can’t see them going out on loan!

I was almost getting caught up in the "lack of signings" panic that appears to have engulfed so many Buddies.

Until I realised that the opening League match was not today against Hibs, but a WHOLE WEEK away!

Sam Foley does look suitably Gus-ish and Goodie-ish.  And I like that.  The video serves him well.

I look forward this upcoming week's announcements and will chill till then.  :)

4 minutes ago, Isle Of Bute Saint said:

It's going to be another pay off the contract deals we have become so good at. 

Possibly taken care of by Insurance Ian if he is deemed unfit by the Medical people.

Edited by thomsons dropped it
Was typing when Sonny replied

12 minutes ago, Wendy Saintss said:

Ethan and Cammy have both figured heavily in the fixtures so far. Even if we do get bodies in, we still need cover. These guys can play in different positions. I can’t see them going out on loan!

Wasn't aware Cammy had a dislocated shoulder. That would certainly rule him out of any loan move anyway. 

Can't see Ethan getting a lot of game time though once a LB comes in. Just feel he needs to go somewhere and get some game time in his preferred position, playing wide is doing nothing for the poor lad's confidence. 

1 minute ago, djchapsticks said:

Wasn't aware Cammy had a dislocated shoulder. That would certainly rule him out of any loan move anyway. 

Can't see Ethan getting a lot of game time though once a LB comes in. Just feel he needs to go somewhere and get some game time in his preferred position, playing wide is doing nothing for the poor lad's confidence. 

I can see sense in keeping him and him going on loan to a side where he can play in his best position before returning to us. Glad that I don't have to make the call. 

25 minutes ago, Sonny said:

Not necessarily. Could be an insurance job.

The player himself is saying he is fit. If he gets an independent medical saying he is fit we will need to pay up. I'm sick of the whole revolving door anyone from the outside world looking in would say what the hell is going on at that club. 

4 minutes ago, Isle Of Bute Saint said:

The player himself is saying he is fit. If he gets an independent medical saying he is fit we will need to pay up. I'm sick of the whole revolving door anyone from the outside world looking in would say what the hell is going on at that club. 

They would be joining all of us on the inside of that world saying the same.

32 minutes ago, Isle Of Bute Saint said:

The player himself said in April he fears he could be done. 6 weeks later 'I'm fully fit'.... He is deluding himself in declaring he's fit unfortunately. 

We as a club WON'T be declaring him unfit with a degenerative bone disease, that will have to have come from an orthopaedist as a sports physiotherapist is almost certainly not qualified to declare this. This will also be the basis of any insurance payout on wages to the club, a specialist medical opinion. 

Our Sports Physios will not be qualified to diagnose whether he is fit or not so will be going on medical recommendations and not opinion of the club. 

If we do need to pay him out, it will not cost us as the club will have the claim from insurance of wages. 

I don't know what you expect here, at the end of the day, the club has a care of duty to all staff. If we brought Tansey back into any sort of training without medical clearance from a diagnosed chronic bone infection and something happened to set him back or really mess him up, we'd be absolutely liable and at fault. He's out there training on his own and if something goes wrong, on his own head be it as it clearly isn't being done with the blessing of SMFC. 

Edited by djchapsticks

On 7/26/2019 at 3:54 PM, DLBud said:

You can’t actually believe that. He’s just given up his job to move here and you think because we’re behind in the build of our squad he’d walk away from a job he coveted?

No you don’t believe it. Not for a minute which makes you a complete attention seeking fanny, at best, or a shit stirrer.

Why start this garbage otherwise?

You’re a bit like Dickson in that you manage to drag every thread into your own wee crusade against the BOD whether it be SMISA related, giving the OF the away end or the current signing situation.

I could put you on ignore but the reality is that reading your pish reminds me how lucky I am that whatever life throws at me it could always be worse as I’m not consumed by the goings on at a football club.

Aye, but unlike you they'd offer him his job back