Sunny Foxbar Saint

Favourite quote from Derek on this site ? Easy.....

A while back, Shull was in full cry, calling for part-time football in a 600+ word post. SFS responded with a suitable direct....... "Are you aff yer heid ?" :lol:

SFS disagreed with aw my posts :lol:

He was a wise man... :)

LOL! Here's a wee vid edit I took at the game, Colin, Neil, Peter, Maureen and Chick, I've added it to the Derek Menzies 'Collection' (lol!) on YouTube...:

Cheers

John.

p.s. had a great night guys, enjoyed the beers and chinwag, marvellous!

aye it was a good night john your vid is excellent btw, well done again

NSS has been good enough to sort out a card on behalf of everyone on the site and has sent it on to Maureen today.

Cheers bud !

Nice one!! :wink:

You know, whether you knew Derek / SFS or not - it makes you think: It couldve been any one of us on our way to Love St / NewSMP

of a Saturday, we have done it so often.

SMTID mate

You know, whether you knew Derek / SFS or not - it makes you think: It couldve been any one of us on our way to Love St / NewSMP

of a Saturday, we have done it so often.

Think a bit more, PP. Not only could it have been any one of us, but in the fullness of time it will be every one of us. That's the real reason why we raise a glass when a fellow human being passes on. We honour the departed, but also, primarily (for the dead are beyond such considerations) drink gratefully to our continuing lives. Those who are gone are beyond all pain, but we can still weigh the joy of life against the pain, which includes that especially intense pain inflicted by departed friends and lovers. Here's to being human.

Never knew SFS but my thoughts go out to his family

Utmost Thanks to The B&W Army ! Maureen ( Derek's Mrs ) Would like to Say Thank's Yet Again ! For all the Kind Thoughts From the members of this Forum ?

Many Thank's To " David G " For His Inspiration , And Dedication ! 10 out of 10 For The Black & White Army , And all You Supporters of St Mirren Fc.

Maureen, Has @ No 9 shirt with the name of MEHMET on It - She is just waiting To put it on Her Man ? Thank's a lot " Billy ! You " R " Thi man !! Aw Ra Best - Ya Fcking Goal Machine cool.gif Awrabest Pal ! pp.

post-6979-12636920435519_thumb.jpg

the tile bar owners, garry raymond and eddie that is, and the tile bar bus, are going halfers on a double brick in memory of derek,we will discuss the wording on the next trip,great gesture from the pub and of course the bus members, keep the faith

Cheers Lad's ! Maureen will be real chuffed !! Could not make it in for a drink with you Boys yesterday ? Catcha shortly ? sad.gif

the tile bar owners, garry raymond and eddie that is, and the tile bar bus, are going halfers on a double brick in memory of derek,we will discuss the wording on the next trip,great gesture from the pub and of course the bus members, keep the faith

Nice one, my granpa/ma and faither (all long since departed) were Tile regulars and will be having a pint up 'the stairs' wae Derek the now hopefully. For those of us mortals still shuffling along that don't frequent The Tile as often as those departed and Buddie regulars, mibbe worth a wee mass tribute and putting a few quid across the bar in toast and tribute to what I still believe to be one of Paisley's better and finest wee boozers...

Think a bit more, PP. Not only could it have been any one of us, but in the fullness of time it will be every one of us. That's the real reason why we raise a glass when a fellow human being passes on. We honour the departed, but also, primarily (for the dead are beyond such considerations) drink gratefully to our continuing lives. Those who are gone are beyond all pain, but we can still weigh the joy of life against the pain, which includes that especially intense pain inflicted by departed friends and lovers. Here's to being human.

I feel you missed my point?

Yes, the inevitable comes to all of us (at some point,) however, I was suggesting that it couldve been anyone of "US" on our way to Love St / NSMP of a Saturday, on a journey we do as routine.

(In some ways - a fitting way perhaps!)

Spoke to Maureen a wee while ago, funeral is 12 o'clock Monday 25th, Woodside.

Other arrangements to follow...

A celebration of Derek Fraser Menzies ( SFS ) Life will take place on Monday 25th January 2010. at 12 noon @ Woodside Crematorium Paisley.

Not, How Did he Die, But How Did He Live ?

Not what did he gain, but what did he give ?

These are the units to measure the worth

Of a man as a man, regardless of birth.

Not, what was his church, nor what was his creed ?

But had he befriended those really in need ?

Was he ever ready, with word of good cheer,

to bring back a smile, to banish a tear ?

Not what did the sketch in the newspaper say,

But how many were sorry when he passed away.

Maureen and Dereks Family would like you to come along in Club colours if you wish, To pay your respects to Derek and send him off in the style he was accustomed too.

A celebration of Derek Fraser Menzies ( SFS ) Life will take place on Monday 25th January 2010. at 12 noon @ Woodside Crematorium Paisley.

Maureen and Dereks Family would like you to come along in Club colours if you wish, To pay your respects to Derek and send him off in the style he was accustomed too.

Lovely poem and very ,very apt

Woodside will be packed to the rafters the way Derek would have wanted

His St Mirren buddies together one last time on this earth with him

God bless you Derek.

Very touching FS.

Can't be there but will take a moment to remember and pay respect next Monday.

sad.gif

I read of a man who stood to speak

At the funeral of a friend.

He referred to the dates on his tombstone

From the beginning to the end.

He noted that first came the date of his birth

And spoke of the following date with tears,

But he said what mattered most of all

Was the dash between those years.

For that dash represents all the time

That he spent alive on earth

And now only those who loved him