What would you do?

Just to freshen the topic up a bit and to try and get some more positive thinking going on I thought I'd pose a question.

Let's say the 10000 hours CIC gets it's funding and the purchase of 52% of the shares goes ahead. What kind of initiatives would you like to see put in place that would benefit both the community and the football club?

To help you get the gist this is a list of initiatives that are being done over at Edinburgh by The Spartans who are already a CIC

I would like to see the creation and subsequent development of a ladies football team linked with SMFC. Womens football is one of the worlds fastest growing sports, mainly thanks to uptake over in the states. Surely their is scope for the CIC, SMFC and the local community to benefit from the rapid growth of womens football?

I would prefer particular focus on 13-16yr old secondary school pupils as this is the age when most girls give up on sport. This would in my opionion create a huge benefit to this particular segment of the community.

This initiative would engage with a section of the community which I feel are under valued and overlooked by the club at the moment. This would hopefully get more people through the turnstyles and reduce the CIC's loan repayments via the SROI scheme.

However I do realise this will take a fair amount of effort, but feel it would be a great start to enouraging uptake of sport amongst a group that traditionally are forgotten about by Scotttis football clubs. If successfull it would be a WIN:WIN:WIN situation.

I would like to see the creation and subsequent development of a ladies football team linked with SMFC. Womens football is one of the worlds fastest growing sports, mainly thanks to uptake over in the states. Surely their is scope for the CIC, SMFC and the local community to benefit from the rapid growth of womens football?

I would prefer particular focus on 13-16yr old secondary school pupils as this is the age when most girls give up on sport. This would in my opionion create a huge benefit to this particular segment of the community.

This initiative would engage with a section of the community which I feel are under valued and overlooked by the club at the moment. This would hopefully get more people through the turnstyles and reduce the CIC's loan repayments via the SROI scheme.

However I do realise this will take a fair amount of effort, but feel it would be a great start to enouraging uptake of sport amongst a group that traditionally are forgotten about by Scotttis football clubs. If successfull it would be a WIN:WIN:WIN situation.

R.A said he something about this in one of his presentaitions i am sure he said glasgow ladies( the best team in the league) were looking to get on board with the cic as they had no premises of their own, and he defo said this was a win win situation because it is a minority sport and the government like to see this being supported.......... i might be talking pish can any one remember anything else about this

ye he did mention something about them training at Ralston...would like though a team linked with the saints to be involved in the womans league. Definately a win win!

The whole 10000Hours thing came about (completely indirectly) through Glasgow Ladies football club.

They approached Richard looking for suggestions on somewhere to train and play, he then saw an advert about Saints being for sale, phoned them to discuss the possibility of the ladies using Ralston and it snowballed from there.

They beat Celtic ladies 5-0 at the weekend :D

Softplay for toddlers/under5's there isn't one in Paisley and all playgroups etc are usually set up mornings only.

Chico - I don't know the area at all but that sounds like a good shout - at least some form of nursery care anyway. It's also a good opportunity to get kids playing football at pre school age since you could get the kids out in the good weather to play some ball related games in the five a-side pitch area at well.

In an ideal world I would like to see the five-a-side pitches behind the away stand enlarged, joined together and covered to make a multi-purpose community sports hall.

They would get so much more use out of that space if it was covered, and the pitches there at the moment are too small.

The additional benefit is that we would have a mini-toryglen that the first team could use during the winter for training.

There is plenty of room to do it.

In an ideal world I would like to see the five-a-side pitches behind the away stand enlarged, joined together and covered to make a multi-purpose community sports hall.

They would get so much more use out of that space if it was covered, and the pitches there at the moment are too small.

The additional benefit is that we would have a mini-toryglen that the first team could use during the winter for training.

i thought we had planning permission for a covered 5 aside arena on the waste ground across from the away end... im sure mr gilmour said as much at one of the Q & A nights

Have we not got even more land than that though. I thought the deal gave us some of the land across the Avenue, where SG's auld dargo shop used to be.

As for the ladies team...would love us to link up with them - they play in the Champions League every season......they would need a wee name change though as wee don't need another wegiescumbagairport when its in Paisley situation with a St Mirren badge on it.

Following on from the soft play request, we could have a wee pet zoo in the fenced off green area - if it specialises in brreding hamsters, there's a lucrative black market in Ralston. :P

I am also not convinced that the car park delivers any great value to the club and that far more could be done with the space. The fat f"k'rs could benefit from a bit of exercise. There is plenty parking available around the stadium, certaining more than there was at Love Street.

As for the ladies team...would love us to link up with them - they play in the Champions League every season......they would need a wee name change though as wee don't need another wegiescumbagairport when its in Paisley situation with a St Mirren badge on it.

Yes it wouvd be great if we could link up with this team, however on the pretence that they change their name to SMFC or suchlike in exchange for the use of the clubs facilities and networks.

what would be even better though wouvd be to start a brand new team from scratch, with as many age groups as possible. Reckon it would be great for the SROI payments.

Does everything have to be based around Greenhill Road?

What about having10 replicas of this place build across Scotland. Owned by 10000 hours, and utalised by juvenille and girls club community members. You could even rent it out to Junior Football clubs (this site costs Carluke Rovers £300 per match)

The community teams keep their individual identity and retain their own committee's and constitutions but the CIC helps with administration and coach education as well as organising fundraising events for each club.

Does everything have to be based around Greenhill Road?

What about having10 replicas of this place build across Scotland. Owned by 10000 hours, and utalised by juvenille and girls club community members. You could even rent it out to Junior Football clubs (this site costs Carluke Rovers £300 per match)

The community teams keep their individual identity and retain their own committee's and constitutions but the CIC helps with administration and coach education as well as organising fundraising events for each club.

Let ther OF bigots supported by corporates like Morrisons provide nationwide facilities. Renfrewshire First as far as I am concerned. Once we've sorted out our own gaff we can look at other areas. Unless of course there's a profit in it for SMFC.

Lanarkshire is a shitehole and gets funded beyond belief - let them look after themselves the jakey / junkey b'st'rts.

Let ther OF bigots supported by corporates like Morrisons provide nationwide facilities. Renfrewshire First as far as I am concerned. Once we've sorted out our own gaff we can look at other areas. Unless of course there's a profit in it for SMFC.

Lanarkshire is a shitehole and gets funded beyond belief - let them look after themselves the jakey / junkey b'st'rts.

:rolleyes: If I was thinking market stall, your stuck at the yard sale.... :P:rolleyes:

I would steal all the initiatives that Spartans have that we are not already doing - they are doing some great work there (teams of all ages including 'senior', girls, womens etc.)

We should also be promoting the facilities for meetings for organisations or clubs like Paisley Photography Club, Rotary Club, Cycling Club etc and even use smaller rooms for things like MP and Counsellor surgeries or for other users who require cheap accommodation. For example I run evening classes and all day workshops in Ayrshire but have often struggled to find accommodation with parking and half decent facilities. I know folk who run Yoga and dance classes who struggle like me to find suitable accommodation.

The car park is a big waste of space most of the time but that may change once things get moving. We could have Car Boot Sales at weekends or Farmers' Markets etc in the meantime.

I also think we should be tying in to Groups who may not use our facilities all the time but who could use it now and then for ceremonies, competitions etc. eg Boys Brigade Companies, Scouts etc.

Or building better relationships with local Junior Football Clubs by offering some coaching or sports science training or physiotherapy services etc.

The options are endless but the stadium has to be in use 14 hrs a day every day and we have also got to have people who can go out into the community to provide a service that ties in people with the club as well as bring people to the Club that wouldn't normally come.

:rolleyes: If I was thinking market stall, your stuck at the yard sale.... :P:rolleyes:

You still havent understood the holy trilogy of Boards. I won't explain it to you as you're lanarkshire scum. :P

Anyway The Barras is bang on the money for you - get yer dodgy mobile phone deals, free pouch of taxfree baccy with every sim card. :P

If there's nothing in it for St Mirren or Renfrewshire why invest time, effort and money? Especially when buckie / junkey fuelled juvenile clubs in lanarkshire are already so looked after by the likes of scumgers / Man United or whatever other pish you have used to slate St Mirren in the past. :P

You still havent understood the holy trilogy of Boards. I won't explain it to you as you're lanarkshire scum. :P

Anyway The Barras is bang on the money for you - get yer dodgy mobile phone deals, free pouch of taxfree baccy with every sim card. :P

If there's nothing in it for St Mirren or Renfrewshire why invest time, effort and money? Especially when buckie / junkey fuelled juvenile clubs in lanarkshire are already so looked after by the likes of scumgers / Man United or whatever other pish you have used to slate St Mirren in the past. :P

I've told you before Sid - Renfrewshire's got no talent. You've got to get out more... :rolleyes:

Want proof? Look at this seasons Scottish Cup Finals.

Under 13's - Fauldhouse Foxes (West Lothian) v Syngenta Juveniles (West Lothian)

Under 14's - Antonine Blacks (Dunbartonshire) v Tynecastle FC (Edinburgh)

Under 15's - Clark Drive Boys Club (Ayrshire) v Edina Hibs (Edinburgh)

Under 16's - Dyce Boys Club (Aberdeen) v Hutchison Vale (Edinburgh)

Under 17's - Goldenhill BC (Clydebank) v Banks 'O Dee Albion (Aberdeen)

Under 19's - Bonnyton (Kilmarnock) v Whitburn (West Lothian)

I wouldn't be too worried about Renfrewshire football as it's clearly a bag of shit. :P

Well that's it guys.....The deal is done. In Scottish law a nudge is as good as a wink and we move on to our future under a majority shareholding of our community interest company , 10000hrs. I have read all the posts on here which have been mainly positive and the negative, apart from a few that have been looking for more detail in the takeover. The hidden agendas and the dark places some people wish to place themselves have made up the few. As it has taken a while to acheive this and our thoughts have mainly been on "will it happen?"it is time to move on and see what we as St Mirren and Paisley can acheive. We are a true enigma of a club. Not long ago the biggest town in the UK,( population 190,000) we have suffered not only by having a majority old firm support in the town but a decline in the standard of football which has seen attendances drop off to fake saint levels. They have 23% of our population and have just as many old firm fans in ratio (and remember 70% of them don't attend any games). Our target must be to get the people in the town who either favour St Mirren but don't go to games or the ones who currently have not been interested in football, to come along and attend games. "One Town One Team" is an exellent logo which the cic can adopt to take us forward. The "tut tut" brigade formed by the people who object to "Tax payers money being used to buy a club" have no idea what this is about and should take up REA's offer to meet or shut up. The community aspect of this deal will not just deliver the minimum requirement of the funding bodies but will now far excede it. The result will be a reduction of the loan aspect of the £2m (£800,000 grant ..£1.2M loan) converting the loan part to a smaller figure. Once the company is launched there should be more target funding which has already been suggested on another thread. The worst case senario has already been explained, the best? debts paid of in 6 months...budget next season up from 1.3m to 2.2m (if we stay up} and a community that has use of the best facility ever offered at a knocked down price of between £800,000 and £1.5m depending on Grant/Loan ratio to ANY cic.

The car park is a big waste of space most of the time but that may change once things get moving. We could have Car Boot Sales at weekends or Farmers' Markets etc in the meantime.

What about a park and ride service for Paisley based OF fans on their respetive matchdays? OF derby days would be interesting..... :ph34r:

More seriously would a 'ride and rail' type service be viable where Paisley based commuters could park their car for a knock down price at Greenhill Rd and get the train into glasgow or Greenock? Again this carbon friendlier initiative could have a positive return on loan repayments via the sroi scheme.

Chico - I don't know the area at all but that sounds like a good shout - at least some form of nursery care anyway.

theres enough nursery care provision in one form or another, its facilities for preschoolers and mums that are looking to fill time. Most playschools are morning only, so having something at SMP, using the bar of the other suites could work if the cic/club got in soft play equipment, if you've seen the prices for monkey business at braehead you'll see what I mean. Most other softplays are in converted industrial sheds like at linwood or down in Greenock.

It's also a good opportunity to get kids playing football at pre school age since you could get the kids out in the good weather to play some ball related games in the five a-side pitch area at well.

mibbe for slightly older kids, but I reckon a point is to get them in young, get their parents liking it there and the spinoff comes on matchdays and by converting some the the weegie settlers that are in Paisley into having some affiliation with St Mirren.

What about a park and ride service for Paisley based OF fans on their respetive matchdays? OF derby days would be interesting..... :ph34r:

More seriously would a 'ride and rail' type service be viable where Paisley based commuters could park their car for a knock down price at Greenhill Rd and get the train into glasgow or Greenock? Again this carbon friendlier initiative could have a positive return on loan repayments via the sroi scheme.

There's plans for a parknride somewhere near St James station, dunno where, but the Council and SPT have plans for a parknride.

id reckon it would be very easy to undercut their prices, particularly due to the ample spaces at the car park at Greenhill Rd. Is their plan for a bus or train link?