Cover Versions

Reidy1987

Hmmmm...... those must be just about the only five you could think of (though I reckon Kenny Lynch is a bit dodgy, frankly). As a rule, cover versions are at best utterly pointless and at worst completely dire or just irritating - even offensive. I need only mention "Stuck in the Middle With You" as covered by ..... Louise. 'Nuff said. :green

In the same vein, why oh why are Hollywood remaking The Ladykillers? There is a film which as it stands is an absolutely prefect mix of black comedy, brilliant acting and on location filming.

NOOOOOO !!!! They can't ! Surely ? If there was ever a more pointless exercise than re-making that film, I've never heard of it.

Saw the remake of the Time Machine last year, and frankly compared to George Pal's original, it's utterly pish. They really are running out of ideas in Tinseltown. Having said that - the second X-Men film, which I caught last weekend, was quite splendid.

I can just see you doing that Reidy and, strangely, it suits you :nerd

And it isnae a "movie". It's a fillum. You've either been hinging around with 'Murrikans too long or that baseball cap's restricting the blood flow to your brain... B)

Er....aren't we forgetting:

1. C'mon Everybody - Sid Vicious

2. Road Runner - Sex Pistols

3. My Way - Sid Vicious

4. Something Else - Sid Vicious

5. Stepping Stone - Sid Vicious

Fuk it - the entire Sid Sings album entirely justifies cover versions :D

Here's some more great covers:

1. Siouxsie And The Banshees - Helter Skelter

2. Jackson Browne - Cocaine

3. The Cowboy Junkies - I'm So Lonesome I Could Die

4. Dead Kennedys - Take This Job and Shove It, Rawhide, Viva Las Vegas

5. The Clash - Police & Theives, Police on my Back, I Fought the Law

6. The Slits - I Heard it Through the Grapevine

7. Cardigans - Mr Crowley

8. Devo - Satisfaction

9. Hendrix - All Along the Watchtower, Wild Thing, Hey Joe

10. Elvis Costello - I Can't Stand Up for Falling Down

11. The Clash (Again) -

12. Snake River Conspiracy - How Soon is Now

13. The Clash - I fought the Law

14. Quiet Riot - Come On Feel the Noise

15. Billy Connolly - D.I.V.O.R.C.E.

16. The Ramones - Palisade Park

17. Patsy Cline - Crazy

18. Lou Reed - September Song

19. Deep Purple - River Deep Mountain High

20. Thin Lizzy - Whiskey in the Jar

Nothing wrong with a good cover version :D

Who did Cocaine before Jackson Browne, Sid - I thought it was an original JB composition.

And Sid Vicious was utterly sh|te, by the way. :P

It was originally done by the Rev. Gary Davies - that's off the top of my head, but sounds right. :D

The Rev. Gary Davies ? I don't think so Sid. He was strictly gospel - hardly likely he'd record a song about being on the road and taking Colombian marching powder with a couple of groupies.

Isn't he the bloke that used to be a fab groovy deejay on Radio One? :blink:

My apologies, Sidney. Apparently the song was written by Rev. Gary Davis (dunno if he recorded it mind), but with additional lyrics by Jackson Browne and Glenn Frey.

Link here

Update : Rev. Gary Davis recorded the song as Cocaine Blues

Gary Davis Page

Edited by Bill Lees

The Rev. Gary Davies ? I don't think so Sid. He was strictly gospel - hardly likely he'd record a song about being on the road and taking Colombian marching powder with a couple of groupies.

It was the rev gary davis, I only meant I might be wrong with the spelling of Davis. :)

Guest Midnight Moses

6. The Slits - I Heard it Through the Grapevine

Nothing wrong with a good cover version  :D

That one's quality, don't remember it from first time round but heard it on some radio show very recently. Toatally agreed with the DJ, it sounded bang up to date.

I've been in a wee bit of a country style mood recently and these covers have been floating my boat:

Lost Highway - Jason & The Scorchers

Born to Lose - Ray Charles

Hurt - Johnny Cash (yes the nine inch nails song)

A load of AC/DC classics - Hayseed Dixie (I think? in a blue grass style, on one cd)

Guest big poppa pump

Offspring: Smash it up

Mighty Mighty Bosstones: Rudi Can't Fail

Cockney Rejects: Motorhead

Exploited: Troops of Tomorrow

Banshees: Dear Prudence.

There's a great Ramones covers album, the highlights being:

Havana affair- Red Hot Chilli Peppers

Do You Remember Rock n Roll Radio- Kiss

Outsider- Green Day

I Wanna Be Sedated- Offspring

U2 do a s***e re-working of Beat on the brat and there is a rather bizarre version of Return of Jackie and Judy by Tom Waits.

There's loads of good cover albums, tori amos's strange little girls has really dark versions of bonnie and clyde 97 (eminem) enjoy the silence (depeche mode) and a great version of i don't like mondays (boomtown rats)

Also there is i'm your fan - songs of leonard cohen which has stuff by the pixies, rem and james among others.

The best person to cover though is bob dylan, great songs, crap singer m- can't go wrong, the byrds based a career on it, even sheryl crow's version of tennesee is better than the original! :o