Paisley - My Pics Of Old Or Unusual Buildings Or Places Of Interest.

Sonny

17 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:
22 minutes ago, jaybee said:

is that the Fountain gardens?

Nah... think of a football stadium near a station!

Ah it's where the new ground is; I remember the prefabs, one of my aunts used to live in one of those, don't recall the little park with the walkways, any idea when this was?

11 hours ago, Eric Arthur Blair said:
11 hours ago, Isle Of Bute Saint said:
SaracensHeadInn.thumb.jpg.5ace34f05d762e4544032a73f3d46cfe.jpg

The Tollbooth at the corner of Moss St and High St. Later building work undermined its foundation and the tower had to be propped up by a giant strut. Ultimately the building was unsaveable, demolished and replaced with the current building (the one with the wee clock).

tollbooth.jpg.90fbd9b597f2dd94fd92972882cb5d05.jpg

• 5 weeks later...
On 9/10/2018 at 11:55 AM, The Original 59er said:

Where I had my first under-age pint - a Pint of Light at 1shilling & 8d ...................... Aye these were the days!

1118741353_TheOldSwan.thumb.jpg.3019601df16c98c2fa20e930638ebde9.jpg

My God, you must be older than me ?  When I started it was 1/10d.  Heavy was 2 bob and export was 2 and a tanner. No idea what lager cost 'cos in those days it really was pish!

4 hours ago, Buddie Marvelous said:
On 9/17/2018 at 7:39 PM, rabuddies said:
My God, you must be older than me ?  When I started it was 1/10d.  Heavy was 2 bob and export was 2 and a tanner. No idea what lager cost 'cos in those days it really was pish!

Earliest I can remember was 55p a pint !

Yes; i remember 1/10d in the bar beneath gilmour street station .  a wee while ago noo.  at t'other end of scale I bought a pint last summer at the Hay festival for £7.50, it's only money I suppose.   :unsure: