Paisley - My Pics Of Old Or Unusual Buildings Or Places Of Interest.

Sonny

Because he mentions "orchy" which I assumed was Orchard street.
On further investigation there's two alternative suggestions, a version of Oakshaw :blink: and a more weird, but possible I suppose, Glen Orchy, which I'd never heard off.
Or maybe it's Orchy Crescent? Just a thought...

[emoji846]

16 minutes ago, Long John Baldy said:

On further investigation there's two alternative suggestions, a version of Oakshaw :blink: and a more weird, but possible I suppose, Glen Orchy, which I'd never heard off.

"Orchy" is a reference to Glen Orchy, a valley southwest of Glasgow where Paolo spent time as a youth.

Someone also states it's a reference to "Orchy Crescent in Foxbar."

22 minutes ago, pod said:

"Orchy" is a reference to Glen Orchy, a valley southwest of Glasgow where Paolo spent time as a youth.

Someone also states it's a reference to "Orchy Crescent in Foxbar."

21 minutes ago, Long John Baldy said:

Aye, I found that but isn't confirmed and, to me, seems unlikely. 

13 minutes ago, Long John Baldy said:

Wow. 

Now, Glenfield, you do get that bit don't you. :1eye

and your point.

50 minutes ago, pod said:

"Orchy" is a reference to Glen Orchy, a valley southwest of Glasgow where Paolo spent time as a youth

Glen Orchy is NOT a “valley”.  It’s a fkn Glen...!

Also it’s NORTH-west of Glasgow.

And it’s awfy nice.

Lovely wee single track road running from just south of Bridge of Orchy to the road heading towards Oban.  Brilliant waterfalls along the river - and the wee road sticks close the river.

Not a short-cut as it is bendy, up-and-doony and too scenic to hurtle blindly along.

ps when I first heard the song, I assumed it was the Orchy crescent of Foxbar, his girlfriend’s place, where he spent time after Glenfield...

she features in other songs...

1 hour ago, Long John Baldy said:

It’s Orchy Crescent which is where Paolos girlfriend lived.

2 hours ago, pod said:

Born and breed in Glenburn, I might just.   Played by the old station, Brown and Polson dam and in the Glen. 

Me too, born in the Tenements in Glenfield Road. Also broke a few windows played at the old Station.

Used to help out at the Pony Trekking at the side of Polsons Dam, owned by my mate Robert Watt's Dad.

Bobby Watt Senior was a Sergeant, old school Copper originally from Greenock, tough as they come.

Had some great times in and around Glenfield Road....

P.S. was there the day the Station was demolished.....Boooooooo

Edited by thomsons dropped it
Memory Loss....

2 hours ago, thomsons dropped it said:

Me too, born in the Tenements in Glenfield Road. Also broke a few windows played at the old Station.

Used to help out at the Pony Trekking at the side of Polsons Dam, owned by my mate Robert Watt's Dad.

Bobby Watt Senior was a Sergeant, old school Copper originally from Greenock, tough as they come.

Had some great times in and around Glenfield Road....

P.S. was there the day the Station was demolished.....Boooooooo

Craigmount Ave, bottom of hills.  The braes were my playground.