Paisley - My Pics Of Old Or Unusual Buildings Or Places Of Interest.

Sonny

5 hours ago, ALBIONSAINT said:

Your line about the Salvation Army hostel , reminded me of the “model” up the west end (Arthur street?) my mother would threaten me with ending up in the model if I didn’t mend my ways. 

Aye.  there was pix and discussion of that model, on here, back in the day.

We went for a wee walk up the town before the game on Saturday as usual, I was saddened to see it deteriorated more.

The Paisley Centre is a ghost town

I wasn’t aware that it was sold

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/local-news/paisley-centre-been-sold-part-23044276.amp

Piazza is still not much use to anyone

Town was a cracking wee place in 70s/80s , such a shame to see it as it is.

Obviously very similar to towns all over UK

On 8/26/2022 at 6:02 PM, ALBIONSAINT said:

Your line about the Salvation Army hostel , reminded me of the “model” up the west end (Arthur street?) my mother would threaten me with ending up in the model if I didn’t mend my ways. 

On 8/26/2022 at 11:14 PM, antrin said:

Aye.  there was pix and discussion of that model, on here, back in the day.

Found it.

Just skip back about 208 (just!) pages of this thread.  Feb 27, 2012.

Pages 7 onto 8…  

Sonny posted a wee pic on p7 and sought comments/further info if any of us knew… about the Model…

a couple of diversions onto other places but eventually Sonny found a pic that showed all those buildings… and gasworks… and allotments, the JNI scout hut and the Model.

18 minutes ago, antrin said:

Found it.

Just skip back about 208 (just!) pages of this thread.  Feb 27, 2012.

Pages 7 onto 8…  

Sonny posted a wee pic on p7 and sought comments/further info if any of us knew… about the Model…

a couple of diversions onto other places but eventually Sonny found a pic that showed all those buildings… and gasworks… and allotments, the JNI scout hut and the Model.

Thank you 👍🏻

Renfrew Airport, a wee bit before my time in using planes to get from A to B.

Renfrew Airport's terminal building was the work of Scottish Modernist architect William Kininmonth, opening its doors (well, a single revolving door in fact) in 1954 with its parabola entrance.
The final departure took place on 2 May 1966 – its destination being the new Glasgow Airport a few hundred metres away.
May be an image of 2 people and outdoors

32 minutes ago, antrin said:

Well… you do!

I’m simply following your earlier spelling nit-picking with Rascal’s post.

(Though it IS more amusing as the correct spelling of KelburnE was clearly printed on the pic that YOU posted! :lol:)

What part of feck off are you having a problem with? :1eye

No one cares, you're a nobody, toddle off...............:byebye

PS try to keep your sad trolling out of this thread, thanks. :booty

5 hours ago, faraway saint said:

What part of feck off are you having a problem with? :1eye

No one cares, you're a nobody, toddle off...............:byebye

PS try to keep your sad trolling out of this thread, thanks. :booty

Hey!

That's projection again.

YOU are the troll.  I keep pointing out your trolling.

I certainly care and possibly a few others do, too.

Stop trolling: I’ll stop pointing it out.

(Phew. A post to the emoticon troll without adding an unnecessary emoticon.  I usually chuck in a few bright, shiny emoticons to catch his limited attention span.  But doing that makes me feel dirty…).

ps. I was a nobody here, long before you slithered in… to become top non-entity.

pps. What kind of sad mind must you have…  worrying about other people’s status on a wee, obscure online forum about a fitba team?   Fuxake!  “Life a get!”  Work that out… if you can…

yours etc

A  Nobody.

:P

ach, well…

5 minutes ago, antrin said:

Hey!

That's projection again.

YOU are the troll.  I keep pointing out your trolling.

I certainly care and possibly a few others do, too.

Stop trolling: I’ll stop pointing it out.

(Phew. A post to the emoticon troll without adding an unnecessary emoticon.  I usually chuck in a few bright, shiny emoticons to catch his limited attention span.  But doing that makes me feel dirty…).

ps. I was a nobody here, long before you slithered in… to become top non-entity.

pps. What kind of sad mind must you have…  worrying about other people’s status on a wee, obscure online forum about a fitba team?   Fuxake!  “Life a get!”  Work that out… if you can…

yours etc

A  Nobody.

:P

ach, well…

4 hours ago, faraway saint said:

A black and white picture of a wet Piazza before it was covered in. What were the shops there ?

FB_IMG_1663652988199.jpg

I remember back in the day getting a suit in a tailor's which must have been just out of this picture on the bottom left. I can't remember the name of it.

And, no, it wasn't for a court appearance, it was for a wedding.

Edited by ianmac

20 minutes ago, ianmac said:

I remember back in the day getting a suit in a tailor's which must have been just out of this picture on the bottom left. I can't remember the name of it.

And, no, it wasn't for a court appearance, it was for a wedding.

Cowans Menswear?

6 minutes ago, beyond our ken said:

Cowans was on the High St, towards the Museum

I don't recall a tailor in the Piazza, but that doesn't mean there wasn't one before 74-5

Yip, was just discussing this and I couldn't place it exactly but was close to Hepworths and Jaffe, where I purchased a very cool, but expensive, made to measurement leather coat.