antrin 4,805 Report post Posted October 22, 2019 Ah... Earls, We used to buy garden canes in there. obviously not for gardening, but to make a bow and have nippy arrows to impale in each other. Happy days. None of your namby-pamby Elven safety... We didn’t believe in elves, you see. 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Buddymarvellous 495 Report post Posted October 22, 2019 (edited) 1 hour ago, antrin said: Ah... Earls, We used to buy garden canes in there. obviously not for gardening, but to make a bow and have nippy arrows to impale in each other. Happy days. None of your namby-pamby Elven safety... We didn’t believe in elves, you see. We used to get weedkiller (Sodium Chlorate I think) out of Earls - mixed with same amount of sugar it was lucky we didn’t blow our heads off. Edit: Should have said it was a potent firework mixture for Guy Fawks nite Edited October 22, 2019 by Buddymarvellous Am stoopid 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Eric Arthur Blair 6,237 Report post Posted October 23, 2019 From today's PDE, Moncrieff St from New Sneddon St looking up to Love St. The RBS building now stands on the right. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Eric Arthur Blair 6,237 Report post Posted October 23, 2019 . 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Eric Arthur Blair 6,237 Report post Posted October 23, 2019 Abbey St, Thread St is to the right and in the middle is the junction with Cotton St. 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
antrin 4,805 Report post Posted October 23, 2019 Is that where the Attic Folk club once was? up one of those closes just beyond those Buddies.? 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Eric Arthur Blair 6,237 Report post Posted October 24, 2019 Is that where the Attic Folk club once was? up one of those closes just beyond those Buddies.?The shop on the corner later became The Tile Hoose pub (aka The Piccadilly) and apparently the folk club was above that. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pod 7,188 Report post Posted October 24, 2019 https://www.scottishconstructionnow.com/article/in-pictures-first-look-at-paisley-arts-centre-transformation 2 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
antrin 4,805 Report post Posted October 25, 2019 (edited) Barr Place looking towards George Street. Wednesday, 2019 Plus ça change... Edited October 25, 2019 by antrin 2 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
antrin 4,805 Report post Posted October 25, 2019 (edited) . Edited October 25, 2019 by antrin 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
antrin 4,805 Report post Posted October 25, 2019 (edited) Saw this excellent poster of Paisley CORNERS. It shows off a lovely aspect of the toon - as this whole thread does... Apologies for the glare, couldn't get a better angle. Edited October 25, 2019 by antrin 3 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
insaintee 4,927 Report post Posted October 25, 2019 10 hours ago, antrin said: Saw this excellent poster of Paisley CORNERS. It shows off a lovely aspect of the toon - as this whole thread does... Apologies for the glare, couldn't get a better angle. I seen to remember the pre colapse kennedy's corner being very nice, any one got a picture of that? 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Eric Arthur Blair 6,237 Report post Posted October 29, 2019 Corner of Niddry St and Renfrew Rd. The Bungalow Bar (later The Stag's Head and now Japan Street Food, circled) is the only building still standing. 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
windae cleaner 4,004 Report post Posted October 30, 2019 On 10/25/2019 at 9:45 AM, antrin said: Barr Place looking towards George Street. Wednesday, 2019 Plus ça change... What a rare sight I have never seen that street before without cars Usually full 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
antrin 4,805 Report post Posted October 30, 2019 6 hours ago, windae cleaner said: What a rare sight I have never seen that street before without cars Usually full I agree. Was surprised myself of the view available last Wednesday. the Barr Place surface to the left of the pic has badly deteriorated. You can see the setts of Barr Street from which the world-renowned “Taury baws” were excavated... 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Eric Arthur Blair 6,237 Report post Posted November 2, 2019 Took me a while to work out this one... The yellow line is Greenhill Road, the pale blue is Clark St, red is the railway to Gourock and the dark blue is the Dummy Railway, 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
insaintee 4,927 Report post Posted November 2, 2019 14 hours ago, Eric Arthur Blair said: Took me a while to work out this one... The yellow line is Greenhill Road, the pale blue is Clark St, red is the railway to Gourock and the dark blue is the Dummy Railway, Any idea who's football park that is. Judging by the prefabs, I'd say this might still be in the 1940's 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
The Original 59er 1,015 Report post Posted November 5, 2019 (edited) On 9/14/2019 at 2:30 PM, Eric Arthur Blair said: Tremendous clip of tramcars in the 50s, a large part of which focuses on Paisley and renfrew. Great watch...…………………. (if you liked trams that is!). 1. I remember that it was never a good idea to get your bike tyres stuck in the tram lines - you always fell off 2. When you got to your destination the driver / conductor always came through the gf and 1st floor and altered the backs of the seats so that you faced in the direction of travel. 3. What happened when there was thick snow on the ground, did they not run? 4 What happened in the pea-soupers did they just crawl along at 2 mph? Edited November 5, 2019 by The Original 59er 3 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
antrin 4,805 Report post Posted November 13, 2019 Great watch...…………………. (if you liked trams that is!). 1. I remember that it was never a good idea to get your bike tyres stuck in the tram lines - you always fell off 2. When you got to your destination the driver / conductor always came through the gf and 1st floor and altered the backs of the seats so that you faced in the direction of travel. 3. What happened when there was thick snow on the ground, did they not run? 4 What happened in the pea-soupers did they just crawl along at 2 mph?The snaw didnae matter and, cos it was on fixed tracks, fog was also minimally problematic.IIRC.... 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
antrin 4,805 Report post Posted November 13, 2019 The snaw didnae matter and, cos it was on fixed tracks, fog was also minimally problematic.IIRC....I've could be a problem, though. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
antrin 4,805 Report post Posted November 13, 2019 I've could be a problem, though.ICE not I've... 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BuddieinEK 8,644 Report post Posted November 13, 2019 Prefabs in Gockston.I spent the first two years of my life in Marchfield Avenue.I've never seen that first arial shot before.Last shot is me as a wean outside our prefab. 4 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
HSS 11,904 Report post Posted November 14, 2019 2 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BuddieinEK 8,644 Report post Posted November 14, 2019 Walking in there was like Mr Benn going into his shop that made magic happen!Upstairs was an Aladdin's cave! 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
insaintee 4,927 Report post Posted November 16, 2019 On 11/14/2019 at 4:14 PM, HSS said: remember going in there with Granny while she bought herself some handkerchiefs. Tragic when that went 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites