Buddymarvellous 526 Report post Posted January 15 Something at the back of my mind says it was John Lyons the coal merchants house but I’m no sure if I’m making it up. 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yflab 4,532 Report post Posted January 15 9 hours ago, Eric Arthur Blair said: Incidentally, Alice is easily the worst of the 3 Chinese takeaways on Glasgow Rd, Welcome Inn and Ivy are must less diarrhoea inducing. Some people have an intolerance to MSG. I know I have it’s shit. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
salmonbuddie 3,328 Report post Posted January 15 "Lyons House", Glasgow Rd, The building hasn't changed at all, only the shops are different. Present day... In a weird coincidence, I came out of Gleddoch Butchers, put the stuff in the car, decided to have a fag and a wee look in here while hanging about, and this was the first post I saw while standing right next to the very same building.It's an omen, I tells ya. No idea what it's presaging but I know an omen when it slaps me in the face like that... 4 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pod 7,389 Report post Posted January 15 5 hours ago, Buddymarvellous said: Something at the back of my mind says it was John Lyons the coal merchants house but I’m no sure if I’m making it up. RAILSCOT | Paisley East 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Buddymarvellous 526 Report post Posted January 15 Cheers Pod - was doubting maself. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hamlet 77 Report post Posted January 15 1 hour ago, Buddymarvellous said: Cheers Pod - was doubting maself. If memory is correct he ran a couple of private taxies. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Eric Arthur Blair 6,518 Report post Posted January 17 Gilmour St. The entrance to The Long Bar right in the middle. 4 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Eric Arthur Blair 6,518 Report post Posted January 17 5 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Eric Arthur Blair 6,518 Report post Posted January 17 Same location as above 3 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Eric Arthur Blair 6,518 Report post Posted January 17 The Regal chippy was near the junction with Lady Lane 2 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Eric Arthur Blair 6,518 Report post Posted January 17 Hey @antrin, your old school 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
eastlandssaint 2,106 Report post Posted January 17 https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/authors/paisley-daily-express/iconic-main-chivas-building-could-23323463 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bud the Baker 8,807 Report post Posted January 17 (edited) Went to a few parties in the old brownstones in the early 80s. 51 minutes ago, Eric Arthur Blair said: The Regal chippy was near the junction with Lady Lane Edited January 17 by Bud the Baker 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Eric Arthur Blair 6,518 Report post Posted January 17 6 minutes ago, eastlandssaint said: https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/authors/paisley-daily-express/iconic-main-chivas-building-could-23323463 It may be "iconic"but it's actually not that old and isn't listed. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
antrin 5,037 Report post Posted January 17 1 hour ago, Eric Arthur Blair said: Hey @antrin, your old school Ta, EAB. Taken from the allotments below it looks like. we played most of our local fitba on that flat bit of street, there. (just above the “as seen on”) good surface and no through traffic - and the noise annoyed fewer people living nearby. (I’d left the school by the time that pic was taken.) 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ALBIONSAINT 1,713 Report post Posted January 17 1 hour ago, eastlandssaint said: https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/authors/paisley-daily-express/iconic-main-chivas-building-could-23323463 Built in 1964, it looks older! 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pod 7,389 Report post Posted January 18 11 hours ago, Eric Arthur Blair said: 11 hours ago, Eric Arthur Blair said: Same location as above Was there two "Glasgow's" shops in Cotton Street, because one has a Salvation Army Hall beside it, the other, Paisley Liberal Association. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
antrin 5,037 Report post Posted January 18 (edited) The building being demolished is certainly a different one from the other. And the shape of the grassed area with a flower bed is different. The benches in the demolition pic are backed onto a straight wall whereas... ...the two auld Buddies are standing beside a curved wall enclosing a flower bed. eta: I don't recall "Glasgow's" at all.... Edited January 18 by antrin 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yflab 4,532 Report post Posted January 18 Anyone remember Galbraith’s? Seem to remember one in Glasgow Rd opposite the Sherwood chippy as a youngster which I believe is now a funeral directors. Think it used to be a Tool Hire shop for many years. Think it might have ceased trading around the time FineFare took up residence at the old ice rink site in Seedhill. No doubt @Eric Arthur Blair will correct me as I’m probably wrong. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pod 7,389 Report post Posted January 18 (edited) 2 hours ago, Yflab said: Anyone remember Galbraith’s? Seem to remember one in Glasgow Rd opposite the Sherwood chippy as a youngster which I believe is now a funeral directors. Think it used to be a Tool Hire shop for many years. Think it might have ceased trading around the time FineFare took up residence at the old ice rink site in Seedhill. No doubt @Eric Arthur Blair will correct me as I’m probably wrong. All over the town. had one in Braehead Road. Galbraith's Store - Paisley Scotland Galbraith supermarkets - Wikipedia Edited January 18 by pod 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pod 7,389 Report post Posted January 18 The logo of GS Ltd (Galbraith Stores) is cast in concrete above both the entrances to the large warehouses in New Sneddon Street. 3 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Buddymarvellous 526 Report post Posted January 18 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Galbraith_supermarkets 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
smcc 1,273 Report post Posted January 18 3 hours ago, antrin said: The building being demolished is certainly a different one from the other. And the shape of the grassed area with a flower bed is different. The benches in the demolition pic are backed onto a straight wall whereas... ...the two auld Buddies are standing beside a curved wall enclosing a flower bed. eta: I don't recall "Glasgow's" at all.... The angle at which the two photos are taken are different. I suspect that the Sally Ann had moved to their new premise in Broomlands in the intervening years. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Eric Arthur Blair 6,518 Report post Posted January 18 Anyone remember Galbraith’s? Seem to remember one in Glasgow Rd opposite the Sherwood chippy as a youngster which I believe is now a funeral directors. Think it used to be a Tool Hire shop for many years. Think it might have ceased trading around the time FineFare took up residence at the old ice rink site in Seedhill. No doubt [mention=12059]Eric Arthur Blair[/mention] will correct me as I’m probably wrong. The building which now houses the funeral directors was Gillespie's car showroom. When they moved out it split into 2 units, Azad and then Global Video on the right, the one on the left lay empty for years. I can't recall it ever being a Galbraiths. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites