E=Mc2 3,512 Report post Posted March 2 18 hours ago, faraway saint said: Unfortunately for us oldies is disnae ha' a lift, but I believe they're leaving the pole. 2 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pod 7,588 Report post Posted March 2 7 hours ago, E=Mc2 said: Unfortunately for us oldies is disnae ha' a lift, but I believe they're leaving the pole. Is he one of the builders. 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hamlet 84 Report post Posted March 2 12 hours ago, Scanlon's Left Peg said: Can anybody remember if the drinking fountain had a cup to use. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rabuddies 1,414 Report post Posted March 3 18 hours ago, hamlet said: Can anybody remember if the drinking fountain had a cup to use. It did, it was metal on a chain. No idea if it was regularly replaced but my mum used to threaten me with a skelp if I went anywhere near it. Dirty, dirty. 🚱 4 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hamlet 84 Report post Posted March 3 1 hour ago, rabuddies said: It did, it was metal on a chain. No idea if it was regularly replaced but my mum used to threaten me with a skelp if I went anywhere near it. Dirty, dirty. 🚱 Thanks for confirmation. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ALBIONSAINT 1,802 Report post Posted March 3 An absolute travesty that Ferguslie mill was demolished..... 3 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
faraway saint 31,718 Report post Posted March 7 The last time the High Street was busy? 2 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
windae cleaner 4,145 Report post Posted March 7 On 3/1/2021 at 1:23 PM, BuddieinEK said: The old fire station is looking good. Mind waving to my faither when he worked here 2 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
windae cleaner 4,145 Report post Posted March 7 1 hour ago, faraway saint said: The last time the High Street was busy? Still busy up to 1990s 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Cookie Monster 1,563 Report post Posted March 7 Mind waving to my faither when he worked hereNever knew it was still in use in 1973. First memories of the Canal Street building are from about the mid to late 70's and not realising that it was just built. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
windae cleaner 4,145 Report post Posted March 7 18 minutes ago, Cookie Monster said: Never knew it was still in use in 1973. First memories of the Canal Street building are from about the mid to late 70's and not realising that it was just built. Aye All the Christmas parties i went to in the place apart 1 year they were on strike 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BuddieinEK 9,172 Report post Posted March 7 Aye All the Christmas parties i went to in the place apart 1 year they were on strikeOne of my earliest memories is a Christmas party in there, watching a cartoon.on.an old cinefilm, and being allowed to take a whole handful of sweeties from a jar! Probably around 1970. 2 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
windae cleaner 4,145 Report post Posted March 7 1 minute ago, BuddieinEK said: 1 hour ago, windae cleaner said: Aye All the Christmas parties i went to in the place apart 1 year they were on strike One of my earliest memories is a Christmas party in there, watching a cartoon.on.an old cinefilm, and being allowed to take a whole handful of sweeties from a jar! Probably around 1970. Sorry i was talking about Canal St station But they showed cartoons on the old cinefilm,played games.fed us juice,pieces and sausage rolls Got a present from Santa and then a selection box when leaving Even the year they were on strike they held the party at some hall on George St 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Eric Arthur Blair 6,729 Report post Posted March 9 Another personal one, Sweenie's was owned by my great Uncle Jack Sweenie (my Mum's uncle). This was their shop and showroom in Smithhills St (where the road under the car park is now) and the warehouse was across the road beside the Old Swan. IIRC the showroom moved round the corner to Old Sneddon St. 7 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rabuddies 1,414 Report post Posted March 10 It did indeed. Bought a fair bit of furniture and fittings in the early 70's from the Old Sneddon shop. That was when the public sector bought locally. Sweenie, Jimmy Spence in Broomland Street and Archibald McKellar in Thornliebank did very well for a number for years. 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Buddymarvellous 555 Report post Posted March 10 Those lorries were always called pantechnicon - I think because they had the bit over the cab but I’m no sure 2 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Slarti 925 Report post Posted March 10 Those lorries were always called pantechnicon - I think because they had the bit over the cab but I’m no sureDefinition of 'pantechnicon'1. a large van, esp one used for furniture removals. 2. a warehouse where furniture is stored. 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
HSS 12,167 Report post Posted March 10 1 hour ago, Slarti said: Definition of 'pantechnicon' 1. a large van, esp one used for furniture removals. 2. a warehouse where furniture is stored. More commonly known as Pantecs.I’ve always been amazed by the wee “living area” above the cab. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Tommy 3,755 Report post Posted March 11 19 minutes ago, Scanlon's Left Peg said: At page 110 now. Plenty great posts and photos especially from EAB. My thanks to EAB and all others who have posted old photos on this thread. Keep up the good work 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
faraway saint 31,718 Report post Posted March 11 The Toon Hall........................... 3 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
faraway saint 31,718 Report post Posted March 13 8 minutes ago, Scanlon's Left Peg said: Eric, Pod, The Original 59er and a few others posting magnificent images of Paisley. Keep them coming. Funny when you were Shull the racist you never slavered over this thread. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
faraway saint 31,718 Report post Posted March 13 Shuttle Street, or Memory Loss Lane 2020 and 1970's. 2 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ALBIONSAINT 1,802 Report post Posted March 13 12 hours ago, Scanlon's Left Peg said: Page 150 and loving it. Probably finish this wonderful Thread tomorrow. Then move onto Shull's Saints Photos Topic. Give it the deserved treatment. Your taking this to far now Shull 😆 2 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
antrin 5,092 Report post Posted March 14 Nothing wrong with weird... 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
The Original 59er 1,129 Report post Posted March 15 On 3/13/2021 at 12:24 AM, faraway saint said: Funny when you were Shull the racist you never slavered over this thread. Assuming for one second you were correct, amazing how leopards can change their spots! 😉 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites