shull Posted June 20 Report Share Posted June 20 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
beyond our ken Posted June 20 Report Share Posted June 20 On 6/18/2022 at 4:11 PM, ALBIONSAINT said: Barshaw park gala day 2022 Last time i attended that event Showaddywaddy were the headline act 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Callum Gilhooley Posted June 20 Report Share Posted June 20 (edited) On 6/17/2022 at 11:30 AM, eastlandssaint said: AMIDSS-AMEY-GEN-SWI-RP-CH-000003 (planning.org.uk) Doesn’t inspire confidence if they can’t get the name of the Railway station right .🙄 Edited June 20 by Callum Gilhooley 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
antrin Posted June 20 Report Share Posted June 20 2 hours ago, Callum Gilhooley said: Doesn’t inspire confidence if they can’t get the name of the Railway station right .🙄 I totally agree!!! Any fool knows that it should be : Sràid GhilleMhoire Phàislig 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slarti Posted June 20 Report Share Posted June 20 I totally agree!!! Any fool knows that it should be : Sràid GhilleMhoire PhàisligAt least one fool obviously does, seeing as he posted it. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ALBIONSAINT Posted June 21 Report Share Posted June 21 8 hours ago, Slarti said: At least one fool obviously does, seeing as he posted it. Naughty Slarti, we play nice on this thread, it’s the only safe space on the forum. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slarti Posted June 21 Report Share Posted June 21 5 hours ago, ALBIONSAINT said: Naughty Slarti, we play nice on this thread, it’s the only safe space on the forum. Ach, the auld yin will know there's no malice in that post, or this one. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
antrin Posted June 21 Report Share Posted June 21 1 hour ago, Slarti said: Ach, the auld yin will know there's no malice in that post, or this one. 🙉 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted Wednesday at 05:35 AM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 05:35 AM Something mesmerising about the busses coming out of the depot, not much clearance above the upstairs, bet if you were on the front seat it would look even closer? Parked up in the depot........... Above, empty, now, housing most people won't have seen............... 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slarti Posted Wednesday at 07:06 AM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 07:06 AM Something mesmerising about the busses coming out of the depot, not much clearance above the upstairs, bet if you were on the front seat it would look even closer? Parked up in the depot........... Above, empty, now, housing most people won't have seen............... I drove many buses through that pend. 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ALBIONSAINT Posted Wednesday at 07:09 AM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 07:09 AM I remember going to Blackpool on the bus from the Gordon street depot. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WeeBud Posted Wednesday at 08:44 AM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 08:44 AM (edited) 2 hours ago, Slarti said: 3 hours ago, faraway saint said: Something mesmerising about the busses coming out of the depot, not much clearance above the upstairs, bet if you were on the front seat it would look even closer? Parked up in the depot........... Above, empty, now, housing most people won't have seen............... I drove many buses through that pend. 2 hours ago, Slarti said: 3 hours ago, faraway saint said: Something mesmerising about the busses coming out of the depot, not much clearance above the upstairs, bet if you were on the front seat it would look even closer? Parked up in the depot........... Above, empty, now, housing most people won't have seen............... I drove many buses through that pend. When I played amateur football in Paisley one of our trainers, John Steel, worked for Western....any time we were playing a big game away or going on a weekend "end of season" trip John organised us a bus departing from the depot. All the drivers seemed to know we were coming, who we were and wished us good luck on our travels........good memories!! Edited Wednesday at 09:11 AM by WeeBud 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
antrin Posted Wednesday at 09:05 AM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 09:05 AM My uncle worked in there as a mechanic. My only relative that didnae work in any of the mills. As a primary school kid when they asked what you wanted to be when you grew up, I wanted to be a mechanic. Then he drove the busses. I wanted to be a bus driver. Then he drove an ambulance. I wanted to be an ambulance driver. Finally, he joined Goudies and trained to become an undertaker. There were queues of people coming into our class to snigger at an innocent, curly, cute 8 year old declare his future ambition. I did drive busses… and still have his bus badge, somewhere… 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slarti Posted Wednesday at 09:36 AM Report Share Posted Wednesday at 09:36 AM 49 minutes ago, WeeBud said: When I played amateur football in Paisley one of our trainers, John Steel, worked for Western....any time we were playing a big game away or going on a weekend "end of season" trip John organised us a bus departing from the depot. All the drivers seemed to know we were coming, who we were and wished us good luck on our travels........good memories!! John was an inspector when I started there. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted Thursday at 05:25 AM Report Share Posted Thursday at 05:25 AM Looks like a school day trip, check the guy on the scooter, H&S? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pod Posted Thursday at 11:10 AM Report Share Posted Thursday at 11:10 AM On 6/22/2022 at 10:05 AM, antrin said: Finally, he joined Goudies and trained to become an undertaker. Though you were going to say mechanic. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pod Posted Thursday at 11:17 AM Report Share Posted Thursday at 11:17 AM Did they cut the opening to accommodate the bus or build the bus to pass through. 🤔 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hamlet Posted Thursday at 11:57 AM Report Share Posted Thursday at 11:57 AM 6 hours ago, faraway saint said: Looks like a school day trip, check the guy on the scooter, H&S? Possibly a Sunday School trip. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pod Posted Thursday at 01:44 PM Report Share Posted Thursday at 01:44 PM 1 hour ago, hamlet said: Possibly a Sunday School trip. Where the shops open on a Sunday. Glenburn and possible other schemes used to organise annual trips to the coast over the school holidays. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slarti Posted Thursday at 03:25 PM Report Share Posted Thursday at 03:25 PM Where the shops open on a Sunday. Glenburn and possible other schemes used to organise annual trips to the coast over the school holidays.They are Central SMT buses, so unlikely to be Paisley weans, but not impossible. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hamlet Posted Thursday at 04:14 PM Report Share Posted Thursday at 04:14 PM 2 hours ago, pod said: Where the shops open on a Sunday. Glenburn and possible other schemes used to organise annual trips to the coast over the school holidays. Come on pod. Sunday School trips were held on a Saturday. Not a school trip with the streamers. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pod Posted Thursday at 04:20 PM Report Share Posted Thursday at 04:20 PM (edited) 8 minutes ago, hamlet said: Come on pod. Sunday School trips were held on a Saturday. Not a school trip with the streamers. Wouldn't know, only went to school Monday to Friday. Besides, would that not be a Saturday "School Trip" Edited Thursday at 04:24 PM by pod 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuperSaints1877 Posted Thursday at 09:52 PM Report Share Posted Thursday at 09:52 PM I’ve mentioned this before, but any time I cross the viaduct at the Airport the new electronic advertising system with the Paisley pattern gantry is never in operation. Anyone know why? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slarti Posted Thursday at 11:19 PM Report Share Posted Thursday at 11:19 PM I’ve mentioned this before, but any time I cross the viaduct at the Airport the new electronic advertising system with the Paisley pattern gantry is never in operation. Anyone know why? It only displays a secret that you've not to know? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Callum Gilhooley Posted Thursday at 11:25 PM Report Share Posted Thursday at 11:25 PM 5 minutes ago, Slarti said: It only displays a secret that you've not to know? You were told never to disclose that . 😡 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...